We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, Loved it, Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
Ranked #15 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it, Loved it, Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Just completed a 2 night stay, it was great we just didn't have enough time there. Room wasn't ready on arrival. This I expected as it was following the AFL Grand final and we were early, got to Cube around 11.30, they were happy to store luggage, so we went shopping and when we got back the room was ready. The rooms are really studio apartments, we loved ours, it had frosted bi-fold doors to seperate the bed from the kitchen area, loads of space and cupboards, the bathroom was good and spacious. The hanging space for the bedroom was strangely small, in the bathroom the cupboard space was huge but it was all shelving space and nowhere to store a suitcase but there was ample room in the living area if you don't mind your luggage on show.
The room was perfect on arrival and after cleaning during the stay, we left our luggage in storage on arrival and after we got into the room, we were so busy looking at all the room had when we finally remembered to get our luggage, we got to the lift to find the check in agent had brought it up to us, outstanding service that we wern't looking for.
Our room didn't have a balcony, just the unusual but clever picket fence that helps obscure a non view but allows great light into the room, a very clever design trick.
The only oddity was, the room had everything, an iron but no board, this didn't worry us as we didnt need it, but if we did I'm sure one would have arrived quickley.
Reception staff were always friendly and polite and very service focussed, this place is in one of the nicest parts of the CBD, there is building work on the corner of Latrobe & Exhibition st but there is a buffer of completed buildings between the property, Exhibition Lane is spotlessly clean and well lit at night, overall it's a very charming place to stay with all mod cons. The only downside was the pillows were not great, but we survived. We brought back a lot of brochures for our staff at work, it's a big thumbs up, look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airline_GuySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    427
    135
    46
    33
See reviews for
96
429
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed here during a weekend trip to Melbourne, was delighted with the whole experience. Tucked away in an alley but I never felt unsafe, my friend and I stayed in a twin room with balcony. The staff were very friendly, taking care of our bags and putting them in our room while we went out because we had arrived pre-check in.

The room was spacious although fairly small, like a studio apartment. Had all the general kitchen amenities, cutlery and crockery. TV had digital and some Foxtel channels which was a pleasant surprise. Bathroom very clean and beds made every day while we were out. Didn't eat at the cafe but did grab takeaway a couple of times, helpful efficient staff.

The location is great, just off La Trobe means a short walk into the heart of the CBD, or walking in the opposite direction takes you to Carlton. Only negative is you have luggage you'll need to book a shuttle to get to the train station for SkyBus, as the walk would be testing.

All in all, great affordable stay. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank villarosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stylish decor, very comfortable well setup apartments. Nice bathroom, aircon, free safe, good tv. Friendly and helpful staff - held on to a package I had ordered from Sydney, until we arrived. Great location at the north east end of the cbd, close to free tram line, Victoria markets, Greek and Chinatown restaurants. Train station just a block west. Old gaol to the north. Fantastic place!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottweil, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

What a pleasant surprise the Cube was. Great tucked away accommodation, very comfortable rooms, fantastic staff and easy walking distance to the important bits. We couldn't have been happier and will gladly stay again next time we come home to Melbourne for a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tokeshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

I would like to thank staff at the Cube Appartments, our 6 day stay was fantastic room was clean and the view was great. Transport around the city was easy free tram nearly at the door.
The Cube is great value for money. I would stay again when I come to Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights last week on business. They are small but perfectly formed. There was great comfy double bed, a shower room with hairdryer and products. The fact there wasn't a bath isn't a problem for me, I dont like them. There was a tv with good selection of channels, and a small kitchen and all appliances you could need.
I dont understand the previous reviewer when they said basic, its a self catering apartment what do you expect? There is a washer/dryer and and iron and board. Everything a single person could need when working away from home.
The location is down a small side street, but 15 metres from La Trobe and the city circle tram.
The staff were always friendly when i walked past and pointed me in the direction I needed to go, perfect.
I could not fault this apartment for the price, if you want luxury stay in a hotel, if you want big pay more money. This one does exactly what it says on the tin. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is that the aircon was so noisy I had to switch it off and hence I got a bit chilly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

My teenage daughter & I stayed 9 nights at The Cube early August 2010. Reasonable, no frills accommodation.

Location is good - far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets but within walking distance of Bourke St Mall. City Cirle Tram line runs almost to the doorstep.

Very noisy neighbours the first night resulted in a request to move the following morning. Desk staff were very accommodating and moved our luggage to a new room while we were out during the day.

Advertised as a self-contained apartment, but with only the bare basics - 2 plates/cups/glasses/cutlery etc. Microwave & double hot plate, but no microwave dishes. Dishwasher, but no diswashing powder, no rack for draining dishes and we were without a tea towel for several days despire reminding housekeeping several times.

Unimpressed by the cafe - cold eggs benedict :|. We opted instead most morning to walk the short distance to QV for breakfast.

A few basic extras, plus a mat at the entrance for wet Melbourne days would go a long way to lifting this accommodation from ordinary to above average.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#40 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Property: Fraser Place Melbourne
Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing