We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time great, 2nd time hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
Ranked #13 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“1st time great, 2nd time hell”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed in this place in march 2013, was very happy and impressed with room, I decided to book a holiday in appox june 2013 and thought I would do a stop over in Melbourne for for a few days, so I booked frasers hotel for march 2014 and asked if I could have same room, we arrived and were giver a room on first floor (room 109), we arrived on Monday 17th, that next morning was garbo collection, the noise of bins, trucks , cars up and down the laneway was a nightmare, room had a couple of issues, if you stay don't take rooms near garbo collection, I wont be staying there again I will try somewhere different

Room Tip: not near laneway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with Fraser Place Melbourne.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your first stay with us but am disappointed your second stay was not up to the same standards as your first.
In relation to your comments regarding garbage collection and street noise, unfortunately this is something we have little control over.
We have however, updated your profile and should you wish to return I will ensure you are allocated a room away from street noise so you are able to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    440
    141
    48
    36
See reviews for
98
451
90
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The location is good, with walking distances to China Town and bus stations, though easily get lost in the first day as it is in a tiny lane. Room is clear and tidy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 明超余
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with Fraser Place Melbourne.
I am very happy to hear you were impressed with our central location, being so close to public transport, China Town and various restaurants/bars.
Your comments regarding our clean rooms are much appreciated.
Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require accommodation in Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
189 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

During my Melbourne stay I booked this hotel. It is nothing fancy, but it was a nice room at a very decent price. Only thing I would not recommend is to have the breakfast there. For $15 you do not get very much. Better go somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay at Fraser Place Melbourne.
I am glad to hear you were happy with our spacious rooms and that you were impressed with the competitive rates we offer.
Should you require any accommodation in Melbourne in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a great holiday thanks to the wonderful,helpful, polite staff. The hotel is very central with the free tram at the front door. The room was well appointed and scrupulously clean. The linen was snow white and changed almost each day. The cleaning done every day to the highest standard. A really great place to stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor in a twin room with my adult daughter. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raylee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and taking the time to share your experience at Fraser Place Melbourne.
I am very happy to hear our staff were providing you with a top quality service and helped ensure your holiday was enjoyable. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms are very much appreciated and I will ensure your feedback is passed on to our staff.
Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require any accommodation in Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We considered Fraser's on two counts, price and location and it met our needs on both. Only regret was not trying out is amenities as we were on the go most of our time there. It's location in a quiet lane off La Trobe Street gives you the feel of not being in a big city. Not easy to locate if you are there a first time but taxis and airport buses would have no trouble.

We stayed there a total of 3 nights in a studio room. Check in good, perhaps the staff should smile a bit more and not be too officious. Compared to Asia, the room is fairly small but very functional. It's got a kitchenette thrown in if you felt like cooking with the required utensils. Unit was clean, bath and shower great. Sleep quality also good. Internet was patchy at times though.

Getting around was a breeze. A lot of attractions were within walking distance and taking the tram was easy, it runs from La Trobe. You'd be spoilt for choice making up your mind as to what to eat. Many many eateries to satisfy every craving you might have.

In short, it did not disappoint us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mumish93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Fraser Place Melbourne.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, close to public transport, numerous bars/restaurants and various attractions.

Your comments regarding our clean, self-contained rooms are appreciated and I am glad you found the room quiet and comfortable.

I hope to welcome you back to Fraser Place Melbourne during any future travels to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed here for two nights - wished i had booked longer as later on when i wanted to revisit it on my second week in Melbourne, it was sold out!! The rooms are really spacious with great beds and showers. Daily room service so they keep the place nice and clean - all the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Offered good value for money compared to other place and was just a good base to stay at. Well worth a trip

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay at Fraser Place Melbourne.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with our comfortable and spacious rooms.

Your kind feedback on the service our staff provided is greatly appreciated and I will ensure your comments are passed on to our staff.

Should you require accommodation in Melbourne in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Near two wonderful jazz venues. Comfortable rooms, nice shower, good rates, and superb location. Nice kitchen amenities in the apartment if you want to cook. No parking but no worries, the tram is close.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind feedback on your stay at Fraser Place Melbourne.

Your comments on our comfortable, self-contained rooms are greatly appreciated.

I am glad to hear you found our central location very convenient, being close to public transport and various bars/restaurants. The nearby jazz venues you have mentioned are great and I am happy you enjoyed being so close to these wonderful venues.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require accommodation in Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,832 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Property: Fraser Place Melbourne
Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing