We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a family on an extended stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
Ranked #15 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for a family on an extended stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

These apartments are well placed with everything that a family might need while on an extended stay. Don't expect service as this an apartment type place. Room cleanliness was pretty bad curtains and decorative pillows on the bed were stained and not just a few stains really bad and this was the only disappointment. Avoid the scrambled eggs at breakfast ( weird smell) again didn't expect high quality food so no major disappointment toast and coffee was my staple every morning. Great location walking distance to all the action and Chinatown. Elevators take forever and is normally packed with staff and their work gear so plan ahead if you have some place to be at a specific time. Overall convenient and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ameryki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with Fraser Place Melbourne.

I would like to apologise for the room not being up to the exceptionally clean standards we strive for and will pass your comments on to our staff.

I am pleased your stay was comfortable and you were happy with our convenient location, close to great shopping, China Town and public transport.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and should you require accommodation in Melbourne again, please do not hesitate to contact us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    427
    135
    46
    33
See reviews for
96
429
87
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Fraser Place is in a great location, close to Chinatown and a lot of the sights. Although the room is very small it was extremely well-equipped with everything you could possibly need if self-catering. It was very clean and comfortable.

The only negative is the noisy airconditioner which may be because it is old.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fraser Place Melbourne.

I am glad you were impressed with our great location being close to shopping, public transport and a wide variety of restaurants.

I appreciate your kind feedback regarding our rooms and am happy that you found them well equipped for self-catering, clean and comfortable.

Should you require accommodation in Melbourne in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us to arrange this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent location, walking distance to tram, shopping malls and restaurants. Impressive 24 hours reception; I had to call the reception after hour to get a replacement bath mat and within few minutes, the duty officer brought it to my room. Room, cooking utensils and cutleries are exceptionally clean .

Front office staffs and Duty Manager, Ubay have made our holiday trip an enjoyable experience.

I will definitely choose Fraser Place Melbourne for my next Melbourne trip and recommend to anyone.Keep up the excellent service!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarinah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to share your experience with Fraser Place. We are very happy to hear your stay was enjoyable.

Your praise towards our staff is greatly appreciated and I will pass your comments on to all of our staff.

I am delighted that you were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and found our location very convenient, being within walking distance to cafes/restaurants, shopping malls and public transport.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require accommodation on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. Great location, clean contemporary room with updated decor and kitchenette, and nice staff and really affordable. We stayed 4 nights. We took a trip to Philip Island and the hotel was great enough to store our luggage. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked via Orbitz.com and got a really great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weddinginmexico2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with Fraser Place Melbourne.

We very much appreciate your kind comments on our well facilitated, clean apartments and our great location, surrounded by an array of cafes/restaurants, great shopping and public transport.
Your positive feedback regarding our friendly staff is greatly appreciated.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fraser Place Melbourne again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I only needed a hotel room but was given a mini-apartment, it was very spacious and comfortable. The room was also quiet. The location is convenient and the staff were very helpful. Wish I could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us.

I was very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable and that you were pleased with our spacious self-contained rooms. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the service our staff provided.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fraser Place Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here with a few friends and we found it very nice. The kitchenette and washer/dryer came in very handy! The storage was astounding and we took advantage of it! Bed & pillows were comfy. We did not take advantage of the breakfast - and there is a delicious food court very close-by. I loved the little alley it was on - and will stay here again the next time I am in Melbourne.

Room Tip: We did not have a view - if this is important to you better ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knitpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us.

I am happy to hear our kitchenette and washer/dryer proved convenient during your stay and that you were pleased with our central location, surrounded by various cafes/restaurants, great shopping and public transport.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any accommodation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My partner and i stayed at Fraser Place for 3 nights in early Feb 2014. We were extremely pleased with the whole experience, the room was wonderful and clean and modern. The service was friendly, the breakfast was hearty and tasty. We loved the rooftop Sky Terrace for a great place to relax with a drink. Highly reccomend this hotel, we will certainly stay here again next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank syme75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Fraser Place Melbourne.

I am very glad you enjoyed our rooftop Sky Terrace and were impressed with our modern, self-contained rooms. Your positive comments regarding our friendly service and breakfast is greatly appreciated.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require accommodation on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#40 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Property: Fraser Place Melbourne
Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing