We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for - clean, modern, spacious, good location! Was nice to have the room serviced daily, all included in the nightly rate. The air con is quite loud, however we were pretty tired so didn't affect us. The $10 buffet breakfast was good value as well. We would stay here again if we returned to Melbourne.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 706, which seemed a lot nicer/more spacious than family who were staying in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheree_Stewart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank-you for your feedback; your compliments on our clean, modern, spacious rooms and excellent location are warmly appreciated. I am pleased to hear that your stay at Fraser Place Melbourne proved favourable due to these attributes, and the excellent value we offer. Also, I am glad you enjoyed our on-site breakfast café. Again, thank-you for providing your feedback, and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Place Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nicely located in a lane between off La Trobe street. Easy walk to the CBD, Victoria Markets and over to Brunswick Street. Free hotel shuttle bus will drop off at the address from airport busstop.
Expansive and pleasant city outlook from our 12th floor room with balcony. Really comfortable king bed with pillow menu. Not great soundproofing in terms of noise in corridor and morning rubbish collection in the street below. Check out Miss Chu vietnamese cafe nearby. Managed to get a great deal for 5 nights on Wotif.com. Bit painful arriving on an early flight from NZ then having to hang around town before getting into the room at 2pm. An earlier checkin would be more convenient but seems standard in Melbourne.

Room Tip: I saw some fairly frightening traveller photos after I'd booked of boarded-up windows etc. I ema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank-you for providing your feedback; your compliments on our excellent central location and comfortable rooms have been warmly received. Your feedback regarding the soundproofing of walls is greatly appreciated, enabling us to continually improve and grow in our service and product. Again, I am pleased your stay at Fraser Place Melbourne provided exceptional service, and look forward to welcoming you in the future. Thank-you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Fraser Suites were very good value for money. Whilst the rooms are not huge, the layout is very good. There is a small kitchenette with all the essentials such a microwave, dishwasher, kettle, tea and coffee etc.

The free internet provided was a little hit and miss in that it was rather slow. The gym is nice and compact with towels provided. All the equipment was in good working order.

The location is on the periphery of the CBD, but it was only a 5-10 minute walk into the CBD and the great restaurants in the lanes.

Room Tip: For those not familiar with Melbourne the restaurants down Little Flinders are excellent. Start at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingsbury067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank-you for providing your feedback; I am glad your accommodation with Fraser Place Melbourne demonstrated a quality service, attributed to our great value and well facilitated rooms. I am please you found out location convenient. Again, your feedback is kindly appreciated, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Place Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Back to melbourne after a long spell of absence. Found fraser through the internet, and have to say was very please with the overall experience.
Location is quite central thus very easy access both to the cbd as well as train station for access to the suburbs.
Location is also safe for late night stroll through town and back.

Spacious room, spacious bathroom, friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irwan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank-you for your feedback; I am pleased that your experience at Fraser Place Melbourne proved favourable, and our location desirable and convenient. Your compliments on our friendly service and spacious, comfortable rooms have been warmly received. Again, thank-you for taking the time to review our property, and I look forward to welcoming you in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

These apartments tick a lot of boxes. Being in the CBD, clean, quiet & modern. Quiet with a roomy bathroom compared to some places we have stayed in before. Maybe because it is an 'apartment' & not a hotel there info seemed to be a bit vague,If as another reviewer said the breakfast was 'free' we were unaware. There didn't seem to be opening times of the cafe. And be aware they don't service the apartments on Sundays. Not a big deal unless your towels are in a damp heap on the floor. They were replaced when requested, but only the 2 towels (maybe I should not have presumed the rest would be) it would have helped to have known this beforehand, but this was only a minor hiccup in our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to provide your feedback: I am glad your experience at Fraser Place Melbourne was a positive one, and that our rooms and location proved favourable during your travels. Thank-you for providing your honest feedback on our room servicing. This has allowed us to evaluate the communication between our staff and guests on check-in, ensuring all relevant information is relayed. Again, your feedback is warmly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Place Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was clean and compact with the stated facilities.

The staff was nice and kind enough to waive a paid movie that my parents who were not aware that they were watching a paid channel, and when I called them to explain, they were kind enough to help me waive the movie charges.

This also happened when we checked out, and they told us that we have made several calls, and when we explained we did not use the phone to make external calls, the staff also helped us waive it. These were much appreciated.

However, maybe it is a service apartment and not a hotel, there were certain services which we were kind of disappointed.

1) The sole of my boot fell apart and when I returned at night, I asked if they had superglue for me to glue it back, and was flatly rejected. This was completely different when I had the same problem on another day, and I went into a nearby hotel near Flinders Street - with the intention of asking them the nearest place where I could buy superglue, but the staff of that hotel (when I was not even a guest) was very kind to say that I do not need to buy, and offered me superglue and rubber bands to hold the sole of my boots together. The staff of the hotel even offered to mend my boots for me! This - is impeccable service. I am very impressed.

2) I had informed them that I was expecting a package, which was a surprise gift for my friend, and had asked them to help me put it in my room when it arrived in the day, so that when we returned at night, my friend would be surprised with the package. This had been communicated via email prior my trip, and during my trip, I also corresponded with them. However, it was quite disappointing that when we returned at night, the package was nowhere to be seen. I made a call to the reception, and they said yes, they have the package with them now. Only when I requested for them to bring it up to me, do they do so.

Although I admit that the above two things were really no major issues, it does affect the stay experience at Fraser Place.

All in all, a very reasonably nice and value for money stay. I would still recommend it. Just that if you have any issues or problems, which you hope that the staff will or may go all the way out to help you, you might be in for disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babyishgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank-you for your feedback; I am pleased that your overall impression of Fraser Place Melbourne was favourable, and our rooms proved clean, comfortable and of good value. Your comments regarding our Front Office team are greatly appreciated, and enable us to continually improve and grow in the exceptional customer service we strive for, endeavouring to meet all guest requests. Again, thank-you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just stayed in this studio apartment, perfect for 2 people. You really wouldnt want more than that. It's in a convenient location in Melbourne CBD, in a laneway just of off Russell street. The room was great for a weekend getaway, clean and contained what we needed for our short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenRevesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_Packham, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to provide your feedback; I am pleased that your found our location convenient and our rooms clean and comfortable. I am glad our accommodation enabled you a memorable weekend getaway. Again, thank-you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#41 of 161 in Melbourne
3,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $89 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing