We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
Ranked #38 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our studio deluxe was roomy, well appointed with kitchenette, king size bed & quiet. It is central (one doesn't have to go far to find something they like), close to eateries, public transport round the corner. The staff are friendly & pleasant. This hotel is great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback; It is great to know you feel your receive value for money whilst staying with us at Fraser Place Melbourne. I am pleased you found our apartments well equipped and spacious, making for a comfortable stay; and that our team were able to demonstrate exceptional customer service. As you point out, we are situated in a fantastic location close to many of Melbourne's renowned culinary precincts, bars, restaurants and theatres. I hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    377
    115
    37
    27
See reviews for
85
375
77
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed whilst at the tennis/Australian Open.
Location isn't really close to Rod Laver...about 20 minutes walk, but I found it a pretty nice walk to here and Bourke St Mall...no more than 10 minutes away.
As Melbourne is laid out so well, it's really easy to get everywhere and everything is pretty close and easy to get to really.
The room itself was fairly comfortable and spacious, noise factor was low, even with a room that was directly opposite the lift. The included breakfast wasn't a Hilton type spread but much better than I had expected.
My gripes were the (free) internet access was not just only for 1 connection at a time, but 1 item...with a laptop, mobile and tablet this was a major pain; extremely limiting. I found the kitchenette to be quite dirty to the point where I made sure I washed everything before use. It was very obvious that it hadn't been checked between guests, and there was a buildup of dust around knobs etc. The tv was a bit crappy and played up a bit.
The staff were really lovely and seemed genuinely friendly. The neighbourhood felt safe and although the hotel entrance is in a laneway, it was well lit at night.
Overall I was happy for the price vs. expectation ratio and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amusethesuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank-you for your honest feedback; I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay and would most likely stay with us again. It is great that you found our location convenient; as you say Melbourne is so well designed that the majority of its' attractions are within walking distance of Fraser Place Melbourne and if not the free City Circle tram is at our doorstep, making it easy to get around. I am pleased you felt your room was comfortable and quite, and that breakfast surpassed your expectations. I have noted your comments regarding the cleanliness of the kitchenette and will address this with our housekeeping department; similarly I will discuss the TV quality with our engineer to see how we can improve this. I do understand your frustration with regards to the restricted Wi-Fi access; at present we provide this as a complimentary service and in light of your comments will look into feasible ways which we can provide additional log-ins. Again, thank-you for your feedback; I do hope we can welcome you back as our guest next time you visit Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The entrance to this hotel is down an alley, which makes it quiet. Secure hotel with elevator key.
Room had kitchenette. Very comfy bed and noce bathroom. Staff was helpful with directions, etc. Centrally located to shopping, theatre, etc. There is a cafe, which is convenient. Free wifi in rooms, and there were 2 Macs in the entry available for use.

Room Tip: If you want to use your balcony as for one that doesn't face the opposite building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captaingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank-you for your review; I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that the conveniences provided by Fraser Place Melbourne were helpful to you. I am glad you found our team friendly and the provision of free Wi-Fi useful. I hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
468 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

In the NE corner of the CBD and an EZ walk to trams, Museum, IMAX, Parliament House, Old Gaol, trams and busses. Tucked away in a laneway, so no appreciable road noise. 4 apartments per floor, so no long noisy hallways. Rooms well insulated, have kitionettess & balconies. Beds super-comfy kingsize. We were on 12th floor and had total peace & quiet for 6 days. Breakfast was included and, although basic, had scrambled, bacon, beans and sometimes sausages, as well. Lift was fast and quiet. Only 2 gripes: freezer wouldn't freeze and there was only one chair.

Room Tip: Better views from upper floors...but mostly of nearby buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varietal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank-you for your comments; it appears you were able to visit many of the Melbourne’s attractions during your stay and made the most of our convenient location and proximity to the free City Circle tram to explore the city of Melbourne. I am pleased you had a peaceful, undisturbed stay with us and that you found our apartments well equipped and comfortable. As you mention, we currently serve a simple buffet breakfast however as of March 2013 we will be introducing a limited, a-la-carte menu as an additional offering to guests whom may like something different during their stay, especially when staying for a longer period of time. With regards to your gripes, I am happy to advise that we are working with our technical services team in Singapore to source and purchase additional seating for the apartments to improve guest comfort. Unfortunately, the mini-bar fridges in the apartments are not designed to make ice. Again, thank-you for your feedback; I hope to be able to welcome you back to Fraser Place Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived at Fraser Place following on overnight flight from Hong Kong. Recommend the shuttle from the airport. Coaches wait outside the terminal and leave every 10 mins or so directly into the city where you change onto a small transit bus straight to your hotel. Very efficient service.
First impressions, not brilliant as hotel is situated down a small side street.
However, once inside reception staff were very helpful and our room was all we could have wanted. Kitchen with microwave, large fridge, crockery and cutlery all provided. More than adequate for our 2 day stay. Breakfast was included and a good selection of hot and cold food was offered. Excellent. Woolworths supermarket a couple of blocks away provided for our needs. Free tram service 5 mins from hotel which takes you to the centre in 5 mins.
Very pleased with our choice of hotel, would use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback; I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the features of our apartments, as well as our location convenient. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again when next visiting Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I booked Fraser Place as I was looking for accommodation that offer a little more than the basic hotel room. The rooms are well presented with good facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Cleaning of the room during my stay was very average. Towels that were left on the bathroom floor to be changed were put back on the towel rails instead of being replaced with clean ones. The sheets on the bed were not changed for the duration of my stay.

I booked this hotel as it had a kitchenette. I used this daily and again house keeping did not make any attempts to clean the area. I would have been happy to clean this myself but there were no products or cleaning equipment in the room to use to clean.

Breakfast was included in my room rate but after the first day I decided to make my own. There was a small selection of cereals and toast, the hot food was inedable.

As noted from other reviews the air conditioning is very noisy, too noisy to be left on overnight.

Overall for the price I did not find this hotel to great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumm00032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback; I sincerely welcome your comments and am pleased you have provided us with an opportunity to improve in the areas of housekeeping and breakfast. I am concerned by your comments regarding the servicing of your apartment and will raise these with our Housekeeping Manager to identify how and why our service standards were not upheld; and ways in which we can ensure such oversights are not repeated. With regards to breakfast, I am happy to advise that as of the 4th March 2013 we will be introducing a limited, a-la-carte breakfast menu; this initiative is in direct response to similar feedback received previously from our guests. We hope this additional offering will improve guest satisfaction. I am pleased that there were aspects of your stay which you enjoyed; namely the presentation and facilities of our newly refurbished apartments, and the level of customer service demonstrated by our staff. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you as our guest again when next visiting Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for three days over a very hot summer weekend. The room we had was fully equipped with a kitchenette, bathroom, sitting area and a bedroom with a really comfortable king size bed. We were able to make our own meals and there was a splendid supermarket just down the road on Little Lonsdale Street near the Library. The reception was polite and efficient: the hotel was busy and our room on the 13th floor looking south west had a superb view over the city. The location was good but a bit out of the way for a good tram service but on the whole a faultless experience.

Room Tip: Room 1307 on the top floor - quiet and super view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback; I am pleased you have shared your faultless stay with the TripAdvisor community and am happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience as our guest. As you mention the fully equipped kitchenette is very convenient, particularly when the supermarket and the Queen Victoria Market are only a short distance from Fraser Place Melbourne and that you enjoyed the view of the city from your Premier Studio. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#65 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#85 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#49 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Property: Fraser Place Melbourne
Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing