We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location, great value.. slightly noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
Ranked #13 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, great location, great value.. slightly noisy”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at the standard room on level 6, had partial views of the city.

It was great value as it included breakfast, free wifi, late checkout and the location was very convenient, next to a lot of cafes/bars for a good price compared to some other hotels that are more expensive and not as good.

The room was nice and clean, the staff helpful, overall it was a good deal.

The only complaint I have is that the rooms are not sound proof so when people came and went I could hear everything outside my door! Then in the morning at 6am the garbage trucks or whatever they were you could hear from the balcony.. quite disruptive but that was only on a Wednesday I think. But other than that I was still feeling that it was great value place.

Also, it was around the corner from Miss Chu's which was the best lemongrass beef vermicilli that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback; I am pleased you feel you received value for money during your stay with us. Unfortunately, given our central CBD location there can at times be some street noise; we are aware of this issue and always do our best to allocate apartments on the highest level possible to try to minimise disruption to our guests. We are always looking for ways in which to improve guest satisfaction and will make a note of your comments for future discussion. I am glad to hear you found the wonderful Miss Chu's - it is a very popular place for lunch amongst our team and the lemongrass beef is a fantastic choice. Thank-you again for your review, I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us when you are next in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    445
    144
    48
    36
See reviews for
101
460
93
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Should be renamed 'House of the Slamming Doors'. All room entry doors are fitted with a cheap fire safety door closer that SLAMS the door shut whenever you open or close it with an almighty bang. This means that whenever the first person in your corridor gets up, that's when you're getting up too. Whenever the last person to arrive back at night comes in, that's when you're getting woken up.

The cheap motif continues throughout the interior. The rooms are tiny, and the bathroom looks like it was fitted as an afterthought. The cheapo towel rails are fitted so close to the wall you can barely jam your towel in there, the sliding aluminum door provides no insulation to the rest of the room, the TV remove is cheap and nasty and barely works, etc etc.

On the plus side, the rooms are newish and clean, the location is good, wi-fi is free and the breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemason57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for notifying us of areas in which we can improve our product; I will review these comments with our engineering department to discuss how we can reduce the noise from the opening/closing of apartment doors and also review the towel rack positioning. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the provision of complimentary Wi-Fi during your stay, and that you found our newly refurbished apartments clean and well located. Again, thank-you for your feedback we would be happy to welcome you back as our guest should you chose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday through Wed. The room had was very clean and modern, and we had a balcony overlooking the city. It's in a good location as it is close to a lot of things in the CBD, a nice little stroll all the way down to the Gardens. The only downfall was that the door to the hallway is very thin so you could hear the housekeeping cleaning the other units. The good thing is that they don't start until 9. The breakfast was decent, eggs, bacon, beans some fruit and toast, but after 3 days of the same thing you need a little change.

I would stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milospa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property; I am glad you found your apartment clean & modern and well located. With regards to breakfast, we are currently making changes in this area and will soon be offering guests the choice of buffet or a-la-carte with a new menu to be introduced in March 2013. We believe this will provide our guests with some variety when staying for longer periods of time. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day stay in Melbourne. On the recommendation of a friend, we stayed at Fraser place in the CBD. Taxi from the airport was $65 including tip. Fraser place is situated in a small lane off La Trobe St at the Northern end of the CBD. The free City Circle tram goes past regularly for transport around if you know where you are going but is a long ride if you decide to take the whole trip. We arrived on Australia Day weekend and unfortunately for us the domestic staff had Sunday and Monday off, in fact, they seemed to be hard to locate over much of our stay. I would say our room was serviced less than half the days we were there.
If you read the details of the property through WOTIF, you will notice that they advise you to ask if you want a room with a balcony. I was unfortunate enough to book an Executive King apartment through the government travel booking service and was not advised of this so we were provided with a room that had no balcony but sliding doors that did not open but had wooden 'bars' outside. Presumably to prevent people falling to their death.
Be advised of this if intending to book here.
Also on the weekend we were first here, little was open in the way of restaurants or coffee houses - disappointing because what do people go to Melbourne for?
Fraser Place is only a 10 minute walk to Lygon St but too bad if it's Winter.
Also it is close to Queen Vic market and the Old Melbourne Jail so you can tick them off your list if staying there.
Rate includes WiFi and there is an in-room safe.
They do have disabled access.
Breakfast was OK - coffee awful and that means a lot to me as a coffee drinker. I often chose to pay for breakfast elsewhere as I couldn't face the coffee.
Personally, I will be returning to South Yarra or St Kilda on my next visit in November.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Make sure those cleaners clean your room - maybe I'm paranoid but I'm cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glajma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne with the wider TripAdvisor community. I am concerned to read your comments regarding the lack of housekeeping during your stay and will certainly investigate this matter with our operations and housekeeping departments. I can confirm however that as stated on our website, and all online booking sites, that our housekeeping service is offered Monday to Saturday only, we do not service on Sunday or Public Holidays which would explain why on three occasions during your stay your room was not serviced.

It is a shame you found the city a little quieter than usual during the weekend of your arrival, Australia Day long weekend, and how this may have been inconvenient to you. As you mention however, we are very well situated to many nearby culinary precincts including China Town, Lygon Street & Vic Market.

With regards to breakfast, we are currently making changes in this area and will soon be offering guests the choice of buffet or a-la-carte with a new menu to be introduced in March 2013. We believe this will provide our guests with the opportunity to enjoy a simple breakfast or something a little more substantial. I am also happy to confirm we purchased and installed a brand new coffee machine last week, the feedback we are receiving about the quality of the product is very positive.

I do hope with the improvements we have implemented you will reconsider staying with us again during your visit to Melbourne in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta Selatan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I just stayed there for 8 nights, better not to pay for breakfast deal. They have nice coffee around corner called Trunk Diner and Laksa Resto at the same block. Good space of room and the more important thing, free wifi & they serve ashtray in the balcony, perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irwansyah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank-you for your comments; I am pleased you were able to enjoy some of the many nearby restaurants, bars and cafes. It is also good to know that our complimentary Wi-Fi was of convenience to you. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had two rooms for a family of 5 in January 2013. The rooms were much smaller than I expected, since they are called apartments and the picture on the website implied a separate living area. However the rooms are really just a hotel room with a kitchenette. Only one of our rooms had the washer/dryer. There was some confusion at check-in about the room configuration, with the reception fellow suggesting that 3 people in one bed would be ok?????? ANYWAY, it actually was fine, as my request for a rollaway was fulfilled once we reached the room. The bathroom is small, but the shower head is wonderfully strong. The beds are ok, and there is a pillow menu available. Overall the room was kept clean (no service on a Sunday), although little things like forgetting to leave a toilet roll or leaving a cleaning bottle behind did happen. There is no concierge, but reception staff are very helpful.

Breakfast was included in our rate and it is nothing special, just scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns, baked beans. Every day. Although sometimes they served cheerios (the little sausage things) instead of bacon. Cereal and toast is also available. But the fruit was not consistent - sometimes rock hard pears or stone fruit, sometimes sliced orange.

The best thing about Fraser Place is the location. It is very close to Chinatown, and the free City Circle tram can be caught on LaTrobe Street. Great places to eat are nearby and it's very easy to walk to some great sights such as The Old Melbourne Gaol, the State Library and the Melbourne Museum. Melbourne Central railway station is a block and a half away.

The other good thing is that our room rate included free wifi which was very reliable and quite fast. The teenagers used the gym and although it was small, they said it was good.

So overall, while we were a little disappointed to begin with, after a week we were quite happy with the Fraser Place and would probably stay again.

Room Tip: It is only a small hotel, so all rooms are basically the same. Some are smaller than others, so chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suessical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad that despite some early doubt we were able to demonstrate and provide you with services and products which met your needs. I thank-you for identifying areas in which we are able to improve, and have certainly noted your comments regarding more attention to detail by the housekeeping department and the need for more variety at breakfast - both of these issues will be discussed in our next operations meeting. I am pleased you found our location and the provision of free Wi-Fi helpful and convenient. I do hope we are able to welcome you back as our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights on a recent trip to attend the tennis and have no complaints. The room was spacious and had everything, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was much better than expected and the hotel is in a very handy place for walking to a lot of the attractions. We had only a 20 minute walk to the tennis centre, a 10 minute walk to Lygon Street and if you wanted to, the tram was almost at the door step. The only issue we had was the oversized desk in the room which blocked access to one door of the hanging wardrobe, which was a little inconvenient, can't really see why just a big desk is needed. Otherwise, will recommend to other travellers and definitely stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Elsa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property and for sharing your recent experience of Fraser Place Melbourne with the wider TripAdvisor community. I am glad that our team were able to make your stay with us a memorable one, and that our location proved very convenient for the purpose of your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and your accommodation spacious. We are aware of the problematic desk and hope it was not too much of an inconvenience; we are investigating how this issue may be resolved. Thank-you again for your feedback, we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Property: Fraser Place Melbourne
Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing