We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for Money Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
Ranked #24 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Value for Money Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I like this hotel very much for it simple and nice decor.
good room, clean bed, bathroom. with a kitchen, fridge, washer, dryer, microwave, TV.
Kitchen comes in useful especially for long stay.Overall I like staying at this place. plus the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: If you wish to have balcony with a view do let them know in advance. bear in mind that room with nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uniqueisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne; your feedback about our newly refurbished apartment’s reinstates the Frasers Hospitality philosophy; to provide comfortable & well-equipped accommodation, or preferably a home away from home, for long stay guests. I am glad you feel you received value for money and hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    384
    118
    39
    28
See reviews for
87
384
79
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location, good value, modern & very clean. Service was of very high standard, nothing was too much trouble for them. I arrived very early in the morning and they went out of their way to allow me to have my room early. Linen was clean and of high quality, in fact everything was very clean and that always helps when you are staying away from home

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomariej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that our convenient location, newly refurbished apartments & customer service made your experience with us a positive one. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again during future visits to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Fraser Place Melbourne for a shopping weekend and we highly enjoyed the experience. Front desk staff were inviting and friendly - thank you. Although it would have been nice to have been asked "have you been to Melbourne before, do you need a map to find your way" without having to ask directions myself each time. But that's an easy fix by management. Reception and greeting areas have a lovely warm boutique feel and have modern and clean furnishings. The hotel is within walking distance to everything, no need for a car.

Rooms were very clean (including the carpet) and comfortable not to mention a great large size even for the basic suite. The kitchen seemed to be equipped with everything that a traveller could need. No there's not a great view but you'll be pushed to find a view at any Melbourne city accommodation without paying a royal fortune. I notice other reviewers mentioned the frosted bathroom door. Although when I first saw it I thought oh this could be awkward, need not fear you can not see in or out of it or any shaddows at all.

If I had to nit pick, the shower sealant was covered in mould & not very appealing, and one of the lamps had a dead bulb. Again, easy fixes by management. For a very affordable price I was very very happy with my choice in accommodation and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be back to visit us in the future. Your constructive comments have been noted, and as you say the areas in which we need to improve are easily fixed. I am happy to advise that just yesterday the housekeeping team began work on the showers & our maintenance team are directing their energies into the routine/preventative maintenance required to ensure light bulbs and the likes are all in working order. Again, I thank-you for taking the time to review Fraser Place Melbourne and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our second visit to what was peviously called "The Cube" and we found it improved in comfort and less noisy, possibly from improved sound insulation. Our studio apartment was reasonably spacious and the CBD location is very convenient for Chinatown restaurants. The semi-transparent glass wall of the bathroom/toilet compartment is a bit off-putting.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne, I am glad you found our newly refurbished apartments quieter and more comfortable than during your previous visit. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked at a studio apartment for 3 nights after reading through the comments on all the city hotels & apartments in the vicinity of the Melbourne CBD. What prompted me to book this place was the recent refurbishments that were done, as well as its distance from the hub of the city. I wanted a clean and decent room that was near enough to everything, yet far enough to be insulated from the city noise and revelry.

Firstly, the positives. Fraser Place met our expectations of a modernised, self-contained apartment. It had everything we could possibly need in the room. Other than a table lamp which didn't work, we had no issues with everything else. Most of our days and nights were spent gallivanting around Melbourne anyway, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

What we found disappointing was the lack of customer service. The two people behind the reception desk looked and behaved like they would rather be somewhere else. No smiles from them, and not even a greeting. I feebly tried to generate some small talk to break the ice but was ignored. Later, after checking in (which was quite quick), we asked for directions to Chinatown and were simply told to walked down the alley. No specific directions to cross any roads or look for certain landmarks to know we're heading in the right direction.

Depending on which room you get and its position in the building, you could end up with a "view" like ours - looking down at a back lane and somebody's roof and across to a brick wall of a neighbouring building. It didn't bother us that much though since this is something the staff can't do much about, and we were out most of the time anyway.

Overall, it was a pleasant enough experience and if unfriendly and unhelpful staff don't bother you that much, and you prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle of city life but near enough to be in it within minutes, then Fraser Place is a good spot. To be fair, on the day we checked out, new staff were on duty and they gave us the courtesy and assistance that any guest should expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cougar_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am pleased to hear that our newly refurbished apartments met your expectations. I can assure you that the comments you have provided regarding the customer service you experienced is of great concern, I thank-you for providing us with the opportunity to address these matters and identify how we can improve in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location, very clean and well equipped rooms, free wi-fi and helpful staff. There is a very small gym but the treadmills work just fine. Great value as well. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad to learn you had a great experience whilst staying with us and that the service and facilities provided met your needs and expectations. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked separate two rooms for two nights. The bathroom in room 208 had a bad odour and the air conditioning was very noisy. Rang reception was informed some one would come and inspect, waited and no one ever came. The other room 205 which was dark and dingy, no view blocked by a picket fence, asked for another room but was told they could not accomodate. Probably a good thing as the only lift broke down on the second day so luckily we were only on the second floor. Will not be going back or recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hozzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I have provided your comments regarding the bathroom and air-conditioning unit in Apartment 208 to our engineering team whom will identify and conduct maintenance to ensure the problems you have identified can be prevented in the future. I am thankful you have provided us the opportunity to discuss the service problems you have described in your review with our team so we can improve the delivery of customer service to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#79 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#46 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#62 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Property: Fraser Place Melbourne
Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing