We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and Modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean and Modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked at a studio apartment for 3 nights after reading through the comments on all the city hotels & apartments in the vicinity of the Melbourne CBD. What prompted me to book this place was the recent refurbishments that were done, as well as its distance from the hub of the city. I wanted a clean and decent room that was near enough to everything, yet far enough to be insulated from the city noise and revelry.

Firstly, the positives. Fraser Place met our expectations of a modernised, self-contained apartment. It had everything we could possibly need in the room. Other than a table lamp which didn't work, we had no issues with everything else. Most of our days and nights were spent gallivanting around Melbourne anyway, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

What we found disappointing was the lack of customer service. The two people behind the reception desk looked and behaved like they would rather be somewhere else. No smiles from them, and not even a greeting. I feebly tried to generate some small talk to break the ice but was ignored. Later, after checking in (which was quite quick), we asked for directions to Chinatown and were simply told to walked down the alley. No specific directions to cross any roads or look for certain landmarks to know we're heading in the right direction.

Depending on which room you get and its position in the building, you could end up with a "view" like ours - looking down at a back lane and somebody's roof and across to a brick wall of a neighbouring building. It didn't bother us that much though since this is something the staff can't do much about, and we were out most of the time anyway.

Overall, it was a pleasant enough experience and if unfriendly and unhelpful staff don't bother you that much, and you prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle of city life but near enough to be in it within minutes, then Fraser Place is a good spot. To be fair, on the day we checked out, new staff were on duty and they gave us the courtesy and assistance that any guest should expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cougar_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am pleased to hear that our newly refurbished apartments met your expectations. I can assure you that the comments you have provided regarding the customer service you experienced is of great concern, I thank-you for providing us with the opportunity to address these matters and identify how we can improve in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    393
    121
    40
    29
See reviews for
88
393
80
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location, very clean and well equipped rooms, free wi-fi and helpful staff. There is a very small gym but the treadmills work just fine. Great value as well. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad to learn you had a great experience whilst staying with us and that the service and facilities provided met your needs and expectations. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked separate two rooms for two nights. The bathroom in room 208 had a bad odour and the air conditioning was very noisy. Rang reception was informed some one would come and inspect, waited and no one ever came. The other room 205 which was dark and dingy, no view blocked by a picket fence, asked for another room but was told they could not accomodate. Probably a good thing as the only lift broke down on the second day so luckily we were only on the second floor. Will not be going back or recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hozzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I have provided your comments regarding the bathroom and air-conditioning unit in Apartment 208 to our engineering team whom will identify and conduct maintenance to ensure the problems you have identified can be prevented in the future. I am thankful you have provided us the opportunity to discuss the service problems you have described in your review with our team so we can improve the delivery of customer service to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed in exec studio. Location of hotel is on border of CBD so it is a walk to restaurants down near the river although trams are close. Unfortunately the staff are not very friendly or helpful. Room service was hit and miss. Some days no service other days the maid arrived at 4.30 pm as we were just coming back from a tiring day out. At times cleaning staff took the lift for their own use to Exclusion of patrons. Opening our window / door we were faced with a picket fence blocking any view. Rooms were a decent size and well appointed. Don't think we would return as have stayed in other apartments at similar price more central and better staffed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I appreciate that you have taken the time to review our property and share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne. I am genuinely surprised to learn of the customer service you received throughout your stay, and can assure you that your comments will be discussed with the team to identify how we can ensure the experience you have described from reoccurring. Unfortunately, with regards to the use of the lift by the housekeeping team, the building was designed without a service lift and therefore both guests and housekeepers at times are required to share which we understand is not ideal in terms of guest experience. I am glad that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay, being the size and facilities of our newly refurbished apartments. Thank-you again for your comments and for providing us with the opportunity to improve certain areas of our operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arrived in the morning and, must admit, didn't get off to a great start. The male receptionist understood efficiency but not customer relations. He thought I was checking out, not in, (though I'd just walked IN the door with my bags) and was terse with me throughout the arrival interraction. However, from thereon it was all great. I'm sick of getting a room with a window facing a wall so had 'upgraded' to ensure a view. Room 908 (or was it 809?) had splendid views, a small balcony, and sun during the late afternoon - evening. Was worth the extra $30 p.n. The rooms were immaculately clean, fresh, tastefully decorated, free wifi - a bit odd with the frosted glass bathroom walls but in fact I didn't feel exposed! Very quiet accommodation - didn't hear any other noises from rooms nor doors shutting/lifts moving (even though our room was right opposite the lift) and no traffic noise (apart from the hum of Melbourne itself). Breakfast $15 p.p. not exciting but what you'd expect, eggs, sausages, fruit bread, bread etc. and good value. Liked the location, pretty central. Hop on/off free tram that circuits the city at top of the street - very handy. And skybus shuttle transfer will drop you off and pick you up at the door. See! Has everything! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property; I am glad that despite initial impressions we were able to demonstrate to you the Fraser Difference through other aspects of your stay. I can assure you we will be discussing your comments with the front office team to identify how we can improve the check-in experience you have described for future arrivals. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our newly refurbished apartments and feel you receive value for money; especially with regards to breakfast as this is an area we have been trying to improve. I am glad to hear you would chose to stay with us again, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Fraser Place during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days. The room is clean and having all basic facilities. We enjoyed the stay very much. It is located in the centre of the town and walking to the interest places are convenient. Front desk staff are helpful. We will definitely come back for this. Cheers!

Room Tip: No parking is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our apartments clean & well equipped and our team helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While Exploration Lane is narrow, these serviced apartments are perfect for staying Melbourne. It was a great location: very convenient to the free tram and to attractions north of the city like the Royal Exhibition Hall and Melbourne Museum, yet away from the hustle and bustle.

Check-in was smooth, if apathetic with no problems. The room was larger than expected, clean, new-looking and very modern. Though we only stayed one night, it had everything you could possibly need for an extended stay included a gas hob, refrigerator and a washer/dryer combo in the room. For foreign travelers there was even a power outlet with a built-in multi-plug. A first I've seen! The bed was firm and the shower was fantastic. City noise outside at night woke us at one point so we had to keep the window closed. I found the television mounted in an odd location (watch you don't bump it), but I guess there was no where else to reasonably put it. Checkout was quick, easy and they held our bags until our flights later with no difficulties.

Based on this stay, my partner who travels to Melbourne often on business decided to start making this his regular accommodation. I had to agree and look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "6", for example "506" or "606" have the largest bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; your comments regarding our newly refurbished apartments are great to hear and reiterate that we have been able to create comfortable, well equipped accommodation for those travelling for business or leisure purposes. I am very pleased that our team was able to provide you with seamless check-in and check-out; and that our location was of convenience. I look forward to welcoming your partner back to stay with us during his next business trip to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#28 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Property: Fraser Place Melbourne
Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing