We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Central YHA
Ranked #17 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was an okay stay - mostly clean (other than my sheets when I checked in, but this was sorted very quickly), good showers. Quiet and comfortable, and the staff are very helpful. I shared a 4-bed female room both times I stayed, and didn't have any noise problems. Very close to the railway station which was good for trips to other areas, and to get to the SkyBus for the airport. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri3tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 424 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very clean, quiet and great location.Staff were very helpful in showing us what we can do around the area and explaining attractions. Will definitely stay here again!! Lots of helpful information at reception

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Really clean room, shared a 4 dorm with 3 other girls. Was right next to the bathroom, so was noisy with people coming in and out. Not such a noisey hostel. Small kitchen, but really big sky roof area to sit and have a think. Locker area on roof, which was expensive. But free storage down stairs on first floor if just for 24 hours. WiFi cheap at $15 for 7 days. I enjoyed my time in the YHA in Melbourne, staff were really helpful and friendly, would pretty much break an arm or leg to answer your questions.

Room Tip: Away from the bathroom and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garbolives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The main characteristic of this beautiful hostel is the nice and friendly stuff.
If you have a question or problem, doesn't matter they will do their best for you!
Furthermore it's a clean and tidy hostel which is bigger than it looks like, when you see it the first time in the city of Melbourne.
So if you like to stay near the city centre in a nice Hostel, the central YHA, is maybe a good choice for you... I enjoyed my stay. Check it out.
Cheers, Julian

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Location: South East corner of CBD, close to Flinders and Southern Cross station
Hotel: Nothing exceptional, standard fare
Room: Narrow with 2 bunk beds (4 in all), storage below bed, bit inconvenient
Positives: Location, tram stop outside building, stations not too far
Negatives: Broken shower in bathroom, small fan, limited light in the room

Of the 3 YHA's that I stayed at during my trip, may be the Melbourne one was least impressive, at least from inside, 2nd best on location (after Sydney). At the corner of Spencer and Flinders Streets, connectivity wasn't an issue. The Skybus from Tullamarine halts at Southern Cross, barely 10 mins walk down hill to the hostel. The free CBD tram stops right outside. Flinders station 3 blocks away.

The reception staff was helpful, check in was quick. The room was a bit dark, there were lights on individual beds for reading, but would've preferred something brighter. The shower in the common bathroom was broken, very difficult to bathe.

Didn't have much time to use the recreational offerings, one small cafe under the building. There were more places to eat along Spencer Street.

May just explore other budget options before rushing to YHA Melbourne Central.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Quite UN impressed with the service. Had a girls dorm of 4- My friend and i arrived around 7pm on a saturday- to walk into the room with to the two already occupants asleep with lights off and the sheets from the other beds wrapped around their beds for privacy. The floor was covered with their belongings, therefore left no room for our stuff to be placed, so we had to leave our stuff in the bathroom ( which was later packed up and taken to reception). As we are not rude enough to turn lights on to sleeping people, we had to get ready outside up in the smoking area where we froze our butts off! We got ready asap to leave the place, and returned to the room around 5:30 am- Not everyone can get up a top bunk, so my friend was forced to sleep on the floor- there was no room to even place the mattress on the floor, so needless to say, her stay was very poor! Not saying to others not to stay there, just saying we will never again sleeping on the hard freezing floor for $44!!

Room Tip: Get there first and get the bottom beds, and if people are not going to respect other, dont either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Melbourne Central YHA, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hi Jo M, thank you for your review. YHA takes all of the reviews seriously and we appreciate your feedback.
If you do find that you have an issue with your room, you can always see us at reception as our reception desk is open 24 hours every day and we are always here to help you enjoy your stay.
Unless we get notified of any inconveniences in the rooms, we won’t know about it and can’t rectify the situation.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again at another YHA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in a 4 person room for 3 nights. The first night I was in a room that was pretty dark/dingy, and more importantly very very loud. I complained to the staff and they were extremely helpful and switched me to a different room that faced the non-noisy side and after that things were fine. Common areas very clean, and the bathroom is super clean too. Basically a nice hostel with good staff, just ask for quieter room if you have the option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalojamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 153 in Melbourne
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 153 in Melbourne
815 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 153 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#33 of 153 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Address: 562 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $32 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the centre of the action and explore vibrant Melbourne with Melbourne Central YHA. Located in the heart of the city our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions and help you make the most of your trip. Now with a terrific ground floor communal area opened in late 2014, our YHA offers modern facilities as well as an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends. On the ground floor and decked out in Melbourne's urban cool style, you'll find our 24 hour reception, tour desk, lounge, brand new self catering kitchen, TV room and Free Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available for purchase). Upstairs, choose from a range of rooms including 3, 4 and 6 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional ensuite and exclusive rooftop private rooms. All rooms have lift access and heated with included bed linen and each bed has individual reading lights. There's always plenty to do in Australia's sport and events capital! Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to all the iconic Melbourne sites like the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Book a room at Melbourne Central YHA and experience Melbourne for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing