We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Central YHA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Central YHA
Ranked #29 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Gouda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Would stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good value for money. My friend and I stayed in an eight bed dorm. The room had eight lockers for whoever wanted to keep their valuables safe that way, and there was more space in the room than in some other YHA hostels. Kitchen and bathrooms were kept clean, and cleaning and reception staff were friendly. We got Mikey cards including some credit (for public transport) for free from reception, because other travellers had just left them behind.
Big bonus for this hostel is it's central location in the CBD area at a 10 minutes walk from the Southern Cross transport station (where the airport bus stops at). Rooftop terrace was also very nice considering the temperatures we had (35+ Celsius), less comfortable was that the dorm room only had one not-so-big window, and no air conditioning. Very hot at night.
Would stay there again, preferably not during a heat wave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapestaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    143
    74
    19
    10
See reviews for
12
41
192
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had two awful experiences in Melbourne (cheap dirty hostels) and decided the little bit of extra money was well worth it. I paid 36 bucks to sleep in a 2-share dorm, which is actually not a bad price at all.

Reception was so friendly, let me check into my room earlier than normal, and all four people I dealt with over my three nights were happy to answer any and every question - just what you want in reception staff.

The facilities (kitchen and bathroom) were exceptionally clean. There was a cleaning schedule where you could see that someone had been through and thoroughly cleaned everything. I didn't even mind walking around in bare feet.

My room was also super clean and comfortable, although there is no air conditioning, I was lucky and stayed when the summer nights were cooling down so it was comfortable to sleep! I don't know if it was just two-share rooms or all the rooms, but I was provided with a clean towel as well free of charge! It was a good change from my shammy travel towel!

I do warn other backpackers that this may not be the place for you to stay - it is NOT a party hostel, and that is my kind of place as I enjoy seeing the city and not my pillow during the day light hours. It's very quiet, apart from the CBD noise (what do you expect being right downtown, 10 minute walk to Federation Square and City Circle Trams right outside your door... I mean to say this is an ideal location!).

If I ever make my way back to Melbourne, I will totally stay here again :) but book early friends, because it's a popular place to stay! I sadly was unable to stay two extra nights after my first three were over!

Room Tip: I would guess that rooms that face the other buildings would be better. Mine was on the front so I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
214 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed now at this property on about 5 occasions and keep coming back.
I usually book a 3 bed dorm exclusive for myself and my 2 sons when we attend the Grand Prix or Melbourne Cup weekends.
Reception staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms and toilet/showers very clean.
There are lockers now on the 5th floor to leave your gear for a small fee.
Great outdoor area on the roof and good kitchens.
Can be a bit noisy, especially early morning when the rubbish trucks arrive.
There is also a cafe next door which serves a great breaky and plenty of pubs nearby to service the backpacker market. Trams leave outside door.
King Street and its clubs are 5 minute walk away as is the casino and Southern cross station.
Cant go wrong

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the right hand side of the property (as you look at it from the street) next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well located, just a few blocks from southern cross station (airbus, train), walking distance from southbank, federation square, main streets in city, flinders station. At federation square can catch the turist bus a hop on and off different places in the city like queen victoria market or botanical gardens.
The hostel is clean and safe, good toilets and showers, linen is provided and there is lockers in the room.
The big problem: no air conditioned..hot, hot, hot..imposible to sleep. Just a fan in the room poorly located.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here with two friends in a triple. I haven't stayed in a hostel such as this one in the past 20 years so I was not sure what to expect. Our room was very clean and comfortable and it was a better option than the Econolodge City Square that I had stayed in solo by myself the night before. The hotel is centrally located to the bus station where you can pick up the Skybus to the airport (least expensive way to get to and from the airport to the city center). There is a reasonably priced wifi option and paid locker storage in a room on the roof top. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The staff were so sweet and helpful.
The rooms and bathrooms were in great condition. Kitchen nice and clean.
I loved staying there, it was a bit expensive for me so I could only stay there for two nights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kogekonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

After staying the Sydney harbour yha, this one is a bit older and quite noisy from the street and also inside the hostel. Simple rooms, clean bathroom but fantastic location to explore the vibrant lanes of the cbd.

Paying such an amount for a private room and bathroom, I would expect a little bit more even though it is a hostel. I prefer the yha Sydney harbour as the ideal budget accommodation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ohbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Melbourne Central YHA, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for your review ohbarlow. YHA takes all of the reviews seriously and we appreciate your feedback.
Melbourne Central YHA is a heritage building - so it is quite old and when it was renovated we were unable to make any drastic changes to the structure, but we are glad to hear you were happy with the location of the hostel.
Sydney Harbour is a great hostel and also a lot newer in a modern building only opening in 2009, it is also located away from the traffic, being quieter than Melbourne Central.
We appreciate your feedback on all of our properties and we hope to see you again at another YHA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#43 of 117 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 117 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#7 of 117 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#25 of 117 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Property: Melbourne Central YHA
Address: 562 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the centre of the action and explore vibrant Melbourne with Melbourne Central YHA. Located in the heart of the city our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions and help you make the most of your trip. Now with a terrific ground floor communal area opened in late 2014, our YHA offers modern facilities as well as an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends. On the ground floor and decked out in Melbourne's urban cool style, you'll find our 24 hour reception, tour desk, lounge, brand new self catering kitchen, TV room and Free Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available for purchase). Upstairs, choose from a range of rooms including 3, 4 and 6 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional ensuite and exclusive rooftop private rooms. All rooms have lift access and heated with included bed linen and each bed has individual reading lights. There's always plenty to do in Australia's sport and events capital! Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to all the iconic Melbourne sites like the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Book a room at Melbourne Central YHA and experience Melbourne for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing