We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to interstate train station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Central YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melbourne Central YHA
Ranked #21 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to interstate train station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Very clean with friendly staff, adequately sized dorms and big bathrooms. Though there are 2 kitchens there are no other indoor common areas and the cooking spaces get very crowded with people who are only watching tv and not eating. It's a short walk to Southern Cross train station and about 10 minutes to the busy centre.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    156
    78
    22
    11
See reviews for
14
45
211
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and just like the locality walking distance to the CBD and the cute atmosphere of that side of Melbourne. Its easy access and a good rate to coming into town spend the night and syat aver and dont spend heapos on accommodation when you are hardly in at any rate. Good clean rooms and bathrooms, friendly staff and a good large get together area lounge with a large screen TV to enjoy sport and or movies. Recommend it!

Room Tip: Check out the roof top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The cleanest hostel I've stayed in so far. The beds were so nice and the rooms smell so fresh! It was like a 5-star hostel if I must say! I didn't find the other guests friendly but that is not the hostel's fault. The staff were great and always helpful. They gave me some good tips on where to go and what to see in the city. Melbourne is a wonderful city and my favorite in Australia! This hostel is where everyone should go if they're looking for comfort and good sleep!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Extremely clean hostel, comfy beds, clean bathrooms and showers. Standard brekky, cereal and toast with some fruit juice- nothing spesh but still great value for money. Good location, fairly central to everything. Great Staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaStella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a great hostel!
It is really clean. The staff are awesome and it is so close to everything.
The people staying there are really cool too and I made friends with a bunch of people that I am currently road tripping with.
Next time I'm in Melbourne I am definately staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_all_the_way1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hostel is located in the center of Melbourne and is generally very nice and clean. The double rooms are good, not quiet (the aircondition outside is noisy, but the 2 double rooms we had on our trip both faced the courtyard), but o.k. For the end of our round trip we asked if the ensuites are even nicer and they told us that they were. They were not!! Our room was a lot smaller than the regular double room - there was NO PLACE to open our bag at all (except for on the bed) and the shower had a very short curtain so whenever someone took a shower the whole bathroom was flooded with 2 centimeters of water and since the ground was flat the water just stayed so we had to get towels to clean the floor. If you pay more for a better room this should not be necessary. Moreover the room faced the street and was very noisy. Unfortunately we had to wait until the next day to talk to the manager and we were lucky that we could change rooms (i.e. "downgrade" to a cheaper room). I hope they improve the shower (a longer curtain would definitly help) in the ensuite room we had, otherwise such a room is just not worth the money. The shared bathrooms are really nice, clean an spaceous - so if you want to treat yourself with some backpacker "luxury" - take the double (not the ensuite).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PufferfishMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Clean and cheap but if you are in Melbourne for either the shopping or cultural experience it is a taxing walk towards the main areas. Staff are very friendly though and it's probably a good place to meet people. Don't expect a sleep in though - there's an intercom every morning to everyone to remind people to check out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 133 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 133 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Property: Melbourne Central YHA
Address: 562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the centre of the action and explore vibrant Melbourne with Melbourne Central YHA. Located in the heart of the city our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions and help you make the most of your trip. Now with a terrific ground floor communal area opened in late 2014, our YHA offers modern facilities as well as an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends. On the ground floor and decked out in Melbourne's urban cool style, you'll find our 24 hour reception, tour desk, lounge, brand new self catering kitchen, TV room and Free Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available for purchase). Upstairs, choose from a range of rooms including 3, 4 and 6 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional ensuite and exclusive rooftop private rooms. All rooms have lift access and heated with included bed linen and each bed has individual reading lights. There's always plenty to do in Australia's sport and events capital! Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to all the iconic Melbourne sites like the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Book a room at Melbourne Central YHA and experience Melbourne for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing