We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and Trendy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Ranked #74 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“New and Trendy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

The location here worried me a tad being right along side the train station and tracks, but having a room on the other side seemd to be less interesting but quiet. The rooms are smaller than i was lead to believe on the website, but nice none the less. The idea of paying up front is interesting... please dont forget to show me the itemized account tho hey??
i dont like to sign a CC slip without an itemized account - no other place does it, so be nice now. I was double charged for the breakie even tho the policy supposedly is to pay up front... so how come the breakie appeared again at the end of the stay? Cant have it both ways now lads?
After the reception staff just wanting to take the money and that's kinda all, i find my keys dont work...back i go to get someone to help - nope keys are new and rubbish ...sighhhh. Oh well so i will pick up new keys when i leave the property, shall i?. no one will bring them up to me

Love the taxi call button on the phone - handy. The cafe next door is quite nice bordering on too trendy tho... (eeeek flies on the open food) but not sure where the other one was i was told was there. When its typical Melbourne weather sometimes a close by cafe or some sort of room service is good. (Cool car shop near that cafe if you want to dream)
Nice bed, but the bathrooms need some space to put your things. Perhaps you need to take the full length mirror off the sliding wardrobe door behind the squeezy space beteween the bed and it, so we can actually use it tho... maybe put ti on the back of the front door? Forget the fancy paint job, the mirror would be nice there to make sure one is dressed suitably before heading out to SY?. :-)) The slamming of the internal doors makes it a noisy sleep both at night and in the morning.... maybe a thing on the doors to make them close slowly or thicker walls? its slamming central.
Nice-ish lounge area albeit a tad small compared to other apartments i have stayed in. Location saves this one in my Book , so i will continue my comparisons in the area ... 3 down ... plenty more to go to check out the space for $$.
I will give 100 points for no bleeding bath tubs under the shower tho... the most dangerous thing known to any traveler is the bath under the shower.. sliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiip, crash !!! (they hardly ever have rubber mats anymore do they?)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownunderJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    113
    36
    6
    7
See reviews for
92
102
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

This hotel was so nice and such good value for money. It is right next to the train station, and our room was actually facing it but there was no noise at all. We were in a studio room, which had a large balcony with sun lounges and a small table and chairs. The room was a really good size, but we didn't spend a lot of time in there, but it had everything we needed. I found the washing machine particularly handy, because you just set it to wash and dry and come back a few hours later from sightseeing and all our clothes are clean and dry. There was a small kitchen with an oven, stove top and fridge. There is a 7/11 just around the corner, and across the road from that there was a place with excellent coffee and one of the best breakfasts I have had (it was called Crue).
Overall it was a great stay in a great location and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Nice, clean, modern, awesome location! Small, but comfortable and light. You kinda get the impression that the place is modern, outgoing but not all staff display it.. Would only suggest that reception be a bit more friendly and not take calls while checking people in (that kind of thing irritated ppl after travelling all day) thats about all thats needed and it would be 100% good inner city stay. I would stay again :D

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I travelled with a group of female friends for shopping and theatre. we arrived and the parking was good right next door. The apartment was very nice looking, buton the small side. Lots of design problems, the 2nd bathroom flooded every time you showered, not run off. the fans in both bathrooms didn't work. the master bedroom window leaked when it rained. the first night the airconditioner flooded the lounge and it was 34degrees and we were advised to open the windows!!! We paid a fairly good price but it was very noisy when the windows were open

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annier127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed a weekend with my 6 year old to visit family and it was great. We took advantage of a special, so the rate was awesome, AND we got an upgrade to a two bedroom. The room (707 should you wish to request it) had a very wide balcony that wrapped around the entire apartment, which made it perfect for my son and his cousins to play on while the adults were chatting. The only downside was that because the balcony was a lot wider than the ones above it, the floor (which was a groovy fake lush grass) was littered with cigarette butts. Not really the fault of the hotel I suppose, but 5 mins with the vacuum cleaner would have made a nicer presentation for incoming guests. The room itself had all the facilities I could want, with the second bedroom down the hall so my son could sleep at night without disturbance from me in the living room. The main bedroom had it's own tv and a small, but really comfortable bed and on suite. The whole apartment is new, modern, funky and functio
nal.

The spa downstairs was in the fitness room, which meant that I got to exercise while my son occupied himself in the spa - I could actually see him whilst on the treadmill! The spa was HUGE and the fitness equipment, whilst not vast, was all in good order and covered what you'd need for any workout. My only gripe would be the tv, which was tuned permanently to abc, so the afternoons I exercised subjected me to Hi-5 at a teeth-gritting decibel!

Free newspapers, brochures about Melbourne and complimentary lemon slice and apples made a nice finishing touch to the welcoming foyer. The parking was supposed to cost, but they didn't charge me. The Internet was very expensive and plug in (!!), so useless for my iPad.

There was nowhere to eat at the hotel, but the cafe right next door makes an excellent coffee and a good breakfast.

Overall, we had a great stay. I would particularly recommend this hotel for a girly shpping weekend because of it's fabulous location right next to the Toorak Rd/chapel St shopping nirvana. Our room was on the side of the building, not the back, but I didn't feel the noise of the trains was unusually loud. It certainly didn't stop me from sleeping. There is, however, a large construction site not far away, which created some minor noise of a day and meant that workmen could see straight into my living room. At the time of my stay it looked like they will be there for many months to come!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyn7180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed here whilst visiting our son in Melbourne in August/September 2010. It was perfect as a base for exploring the city and the surrounding area. We had a one bedroom apartment and couldn't fault it. The apartment was tastefully furnished, very clean and well appointed. Servicing is very good with towels changed daily. They even replenished the dishwasher/washing machine powder along with the tea & coffee. Train station and trams are a couple of minutes away and there are dozens of restaurants and take-aways within 15 mins walk on Toorak Road and Chapel Street. Eating in is also an option as all necessary kitchen equipment is provided and there is a small supermarket close by on Toorak the sells enough to put together a meal.
Melbourne has a brilliant (and cheap) public transport sytem with the train station and trams a couple of minutes walk from the apartment. If you prefer to pedal your way around the city bikes arae available for hire from reception. Secure car-parking is also provided.
We found this place so much nicer and more flexible than a hotel and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. It is particularly good if you are looking for somewhere for more than a week and don't fancy that cramped feeling of a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiramZHackenabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 12th floor (room 1204) with amazing views looking towards the Melbourne CBD. The apartment was very modern, clean and had a small functional kitchen and a washer/dryer located in a cupboard in the bathroom. The shower was hot with plenty of pressure. The kingsize bed was sooo comfortable! Location is excellent with both train and tram a 2 minute walk. Purchase a daily metcard for $6.70 and you can hop on and off train/tram/bus all day until 3am next morning. Lots of restaurants just a stroll away.
Only downside is noise from occasional freight train (train line runs past front of hotel), so if you are a light sleeper would recommend you ask for an apartment at back of the hotel. Highly recommend The Tramcar Restaurant for a different dining experience...it was fantastic and well worth the money! We did the 8.30 (3hr) sitting. Also recommend going to the South Melbourne Markets, as they are not as big as the Victoria Markets, so have a more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Property: Punthill South Yarra Grand
Address: 7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing