We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location for shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Ranked #80 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great location for shopping”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed a weekend with my 6 year old to visit family and it was great. We took advantage of a special, so the rate was awesome, AND we got an upgrade to a two bedroom. The room (707 should you wish to request it) had a very wide balcony that wrapped around the entire apartment, which made it perfect for my son and his cousins to play on while the adults were chatting. The only downside was that because the balcony was a lot wider than the ones above it, the floor (which was a groovy fake lush grass) was littered with cigarette butts. Not really the fault of the hotel I suppose, but 5 mins with the vacuum cleaner would have made a nicer presentation for incoming guests. The room itself had all the facilities I could want, with the second bedroom down the hall so my son could sleep at night without disturbance from me in the living room. The main bedroom had it's own tv and a small, but really comfortable bed and on suite. The whole apartment is new, modern, funky and functio
nal.

The spa downstairs was in the fitness room, which meant that I got to exercise while my son occupied himself in the spa - I could actually see him whilst on the treadmill! The spa was HUGE and the fitness equipment, whilst not vast, was all in good order and covered what you'd need for any workout. My only gripe would be the tv, which was tuned permanently to abc, so the afternoons I exercised subjected me to Hi-5 at a teeth-gritting decibel!

Free newspapers, brochures about Melbourne and complimentary lemon slice and apples made a nice finishing touch to the welcoming foyer. The parking was supposed to cost, but they didn't charge me. The Internet was very expensive and plug in (!!), so useless for my iPad.

There was nowhere to eat at the hotel, but the cafe right next door makes an excellent coffee and a good breakfast.

Overall, we had a great stay. I would particularly recommend this hotel for a girly shpping weekend because of it's fabulous location right next to the Toorak Rd/chapel St shopping nirvana. Our room was on the side of the building, not the back, but I didn't feel the noise of the trains was unusually loud. It certainly didn't stop me from sleeping. There is, however, a large construction site not far away, which created some minor noise of a day and meant that workmen could see straight into my living room. At the time of my stay it looked like they will be there for many months to come!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyn7180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    117
    37
    6
    8
See reviews for
95
106
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed here whilst visiting our son in Melbourne in August/September 2010. It was perfect as a base for exploring the city and the surrounding area. We had a one bedroom apartment and couldn't fault it. The apartment was tastefully furnished, very clean and well appointed. Servicing is very good with towels changed daily. They even replenished the dishwasher/washing machine powder along with the tea & coffee. Train station and trams are a couple of minutes away and there are dozens of restaurants and take-aways within 15 mins walk on Toorak Road and Chapel Street. Eating in is also an option as all necessary kitchen equipment is provided and there is a small supermarket close by on Toorak the sells enough to put together a meal.
Melbourne has a brilliant (and cheap) public transport sytem with the train station and trams a couple of minutes walk from the apartment. If you prefer to pedal your way around the city bikes arae available for hire from reception. Secure car-parking is also provided.
We found this place so much nicer and more flexible than a hotel and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. It is particularly good if you are looking for somewhere for more than a week and don't fancy that cramped feeling of a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiramZHackenabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 12th floor (room 1204) with amazing views looking towards the Melbourne CBD. The apartment was very modern, clean and had a small functional kitchen and a washer/dryer located in a cupboard in the bathroom. The shower was hot with plenty of pressure. The kingsize bed was sooo comfortable! Location is excellent with both train and tram a 2 minute walk. Purchase a daily metcard for $6.70 and you can hop on and off train/tram/bus all day until 3am next morning. Lots of restaurants just a stroll away.
Only downside is noise from occasional freight train (train line runs past front of hotel), so if you are a light sleeper would recommend you ask for an apartment at back of the hotel. Highly recommend The Tramcar Restaurant for a different dining experience...it was fantastic and well worth the money! We did the 8.30 (3hr) sitting. Also recommend going to the South Melbourne Markets, as they are not as big as the Victoria Markets, so have a more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We required a 2bedroom and 1 bedroom apartment for a weekend trip to Melbourne. To our surprise the location was amazing (hop,skip and jump) to Toorak Road and Chapel Street. The apartments were superb and immaculate. THe furnishings well thought out and comfortable (especially the beds). In the 1 bedroom, there was a huge king size bed and fabulous living space onto a balcony with quirky 'animal' sitting on fake grass and stunning city views! The 2 bedroom apartment had 2 bathrooms which was well designed and comfortable for a family of 4. Every aspect of the property was stylish including the wonderful cakes and apples at reception for guests....nice touch! DEFINITELY RETURN!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ignorantfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We were meeting up with friends who were visiting Melbourne for the weekend. Instead of driving back and forth to Geelong, we found this place online. We had no expectations, but when we saw our room, we were pleasantly surprised. It was a great one bedroom apartment - very modern and had all the amenties we needed.

The apartments are right next to the train station, but the noise of the trains is barely heard. The only noise we had was the wind as it was quite stormy. We were so comfortable sitting on the couch and having a glass of red wine, that we almost didn't want to leave to go out for dinner.

If we had to stay in Melbourne for a longer period of time, we would seriously consider these apartments. Lots of shopping and cafes right out the door. If you stay, make sure you try the cafe next door called Outpost.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SRFLYNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This was my first stay in this hotel & i was quite impressed with its clean ambience & friendly staffs.

They have excellent business facility like fast speed internet, conference/meeting room, excellent location, etc.

Would consider staying again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shahzadyusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Up to the minute, very stylish black and white decor, with the best of inclusions - oven, cook-top, dishwasher, microwave, washing machine, dryer to name a few; they have thought of everything! Great handy location, with train and tram to the city if you wish to go downtown. Only negative - payment required for internet access and no computer in lobby to check mail! Main desk were helpful for information, addresses etc., since no telephone book in the apt.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bridgeclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#53 of 160 in Melbourne
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
177 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Property: Punthill South Yarra Grand
Address: 7 Yarra St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing