We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, horrible bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Ranked #81 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good location in South Yarra, close to Chapel St with all the shops and restaurants, in a nice residential area, yet not far away from CBD (which means downtown in Australian hehehe). Building is overlooking a train station which can be a problem. Noise is a bit of an issue but it's easy to get used to it. It is kind of interesting to do sit on the balcony and look at people waiting for trains at the station. But not everybody will like this "feature". Apartment itself is ok. Smaller than shown on the pictures but big enough. The biggest problem was the bed. It is supposed to be a king size one but it's really two single beds put together with some thin mattress on top. The whole setting is very uncomfortable. Heating didn't work. At times I had to turn the oven on when it was getting too cold. I guess heating was turned off for the summer but nights can be very cold in Melbourne. We had problems with housekeeping. One day cleaning was really good. Next only garbage was removed. The third day nothing was done. Not sure we will stay here again. oh, it was nice to have a washer/dryer in the apartment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qq_q_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear jkjk,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
The property is ideally situated in South Yarra with plenty of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants just a stone's throw away, and easy access to public transport means that Melbourne city centre is only minutes away too.
When closed, the balcony doors do provide very good sound insulation as they are extremely thick laminated glass.
Many hotels, Puthill included, do make use of 'split king' beds, where beds can be firmly zipped together and topped with a luxurious and comfortable mattress topper. Next time you stay, please request a queen bed if you prefer.
Most guests do not normally require heating in December; however, the heating is certainly not 'turned off' and is of course available. We wish you had advised reception of your problem and the staff would have happily assisted you to adjust the settings for you to be comfortable.
Punthill apartments are serviced daily, whether it be a mini clean daily - where beds are made, garbage removed etc - or a full clean which is extremely thorough. This could explain what you encountered. We service on request on public holidays and there is signage in the lifts and in each apartment advising guests to please request service if required on these days.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill sometime in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 355 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Location at South Yarra is excellent. It's obvious from other reviews that the location of the apartment makes a difference. We had a high floor overlooking the railway tracks - so you get a great view of the city but you also get the noise of the trains.

The 2 bedroom apartment is much smaller than Quest SXY or feels like it, possibly due to the configuration. The interior attempts to be trendy which will obviously need a facelift one day when the trend of black-ish interior dies out. The quality of the furniture is cheap disguised in fashionable design. The bedrooms are small. The bathrooms are even smaller and are very badly designed.

The cleaners come late and this can be a nuisance.

The reception staff are very warm friendly and efficient. They do make a positive difference

Quest SXY which is nearby is a better place and this would be a good alternative.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear siglo,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
Whilst our apartments are compact, they have been extremely carefully designed to include washing machine, dryer and every single modern convenience a guest could need.
We pride ourselves on our up to the minute decor, and do certainly refurbish when trends change. We do prefer this approach rather than decor lacking in personality or style, which admittedly, does not date as quickly.
So sorry you didn't like our taste but we can assure you the furniture is extremely good quality and was picked for a combination of both durability and style.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroomed apartment (hubby, myself & 18yr old son) for a week over the New Year period, arriving 29th December & it was all we could want. We were on the 7th floor over looking the train station but more importantly overlooking the city so had a fantastic veiw of the fireworks. Sure this one overlooked the train station so was a little noisy once the trains started but also interesting watching some of the characters on the platforms at night. As it was hot we had the apartment closed most of the time & made full use of the aircon so you could barely hear them & to be honest we simply got used to them so they did not impact on us. It was actually a bonus being so close to the train & trams so for us all good!
The apartment is also close to some really great little restaurants, an good IGA & of course the famous Chappel Street not to mention the Toorak shops so what more could a serious shopper want just in that alone!
The apartment was cosy & yes the bedrooms a bit small but hey people it is a Hotel Apartment not your own home so if you want big, spacious & what you have at home go rent a house in my books!
The reception staff were absolutely delightful & so warm & welcoming & helped out in whatever way they could so thank you people. The apartment was spotlessly clean when we got there but as it was over the New Year Eve break the cleaning/servicing was not up to scratch (there was notification on this though) but all we had to do was go to reception & they sorted out a few minor issues promptly.
A review I have just read here stated the 2 bedroomed apartment had a double bed that was uncomfortable? Hmm.... I think they must have stayed elsewhere?? I have serious arthritis (plus 2 total hip replacements) so a good big bed is a priority for me (we have a very good King at home) & the bed we had was definitely a Queen. Sure it was smaller to what we are used to but we fitted in ok & it was extremely comfortable & I did not wake up uncomfortable or in pain so that speaks to me of a good quality bed!
The kitchen was more than adequate for our needs & we had breakfast there every day & to be honest with all good intentions of eating in at night we have to sheepishly admit we ate dinner out the whole time as hey people this is Melbourne with every cuisine imaginable close at hand & way cheaper than what we have in Perth so a no brainer for us! lol
We also made full use of the washer & dryer that is tucked away in the ensuite so an added bonus after 4 weeks of being on the road & it also had a rack you could put on the balcony for drying, just remember to bring your own pegs.

All in all this is a brilliant place to stay, sure a tad on the expensive side but we would not hesitate to stay there again next time we are in Melbourne on holidays & would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Jennifuz,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your very complimentary review of Punthill South Yarra Grand on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to read that you had such a wonderful time and so enjoyed the facilities, service and location of our apartment hotel whilst visiting Melbourne!
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill next time you head east from WA!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff are super friendly and accommodating - thank you Adrian, Paul and Clint! The room was immaculate - clean, large and with a balcony and great view of the CBD. The bed was super comfy. Location is perfect - close to Chapel St and 2 minutes from South Yarra train station and tram stops.

Parking is easy and cheap... checkout simply (even though I snoozed and left 2 hours after deadline).

I loved the elevator quote every day - inspirational and made me smile.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Roberta B,
The whole team at Punthill South Yarra Grand will be absolutely thrilled to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at the property and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here on business, Fantastic place. Very clean, edgy and modern and everything is close by. Was very impressed with the style of the room. Could not fault it. The location is ideal if you want to base yourself around the South Yarra area. Could not fault it and will be definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galaga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear galaga88,
Thanks so much for your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Grand on TripAdvisor.
The team at Punthill South Yarra Grand will be thrilled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at the property, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

As other reviewers have commented the location cannot be beaten. Within 200 m of Toorak Road and about five minutes from Chapel Road. Hence the cafes, restaurants and shops of one of Melbourne's most desirable locations are at your disposal. I particularly recommend France-Soir restaurant 600 m away on Toorak Road. Getting into the city via the train station situated next door to the property is a breeze. Note that the nearest supermarket is the IGA close to the Squires loft steakhouse on Toorak road and not the Coles on Chapel Road where I was initially directed.

The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and the property has the advantage of a spa and a perfectly adequate gym.

We stayed in a two-bedroomed apartment which was, not untypically, somewhat smaller then one would imagine from the photographs on the website.

The main bedroom had a double bed which was quite small and which my wife found somewhat uncomfortable. Luggage storage space is minimal but adequate. The second bedroom had two very small beds which were okay for my children aged seven and five but would be inadequate for anyone much older.

The fairly limited facilities for cooking in terms of utensils in particular would really preclude extensive self catering.

Despite the excellent location and the undoubted advantage of a daily room service we did not think that the size of the apartment justified the cost per night and would probably look elsewhere on future family trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alantroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Alantroy,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
As you have mentioned, Toorak Road and Chapel Street provide a great variety of cafes, restaurants and boutique shopping that is only a couple of minutes' walk from our apartment hotel, so the only difficulty is deciding which restaurant to dine in first!
As well as the IGA supermarket on Toorak Road, there is also a very large Woolworths supermakert in the Vogue Centre on Chapel Street, which is only a 5-minute walk away, so for any guests wanting a bigger variety of groceries, this is ideal.
With regards to the bedding in the 2-bedroom apartments, the bed in the main bedroom is in fact a standard queen-size bed. We do have mattress toppers on all Punthill beds which provide a luxurious surface. Most guests love them, but occasionally a guest finds them too soft, and we are always happy to remove the topper for a firmer bed during their stay. The beds in the second bedroom are standard single size.
We feel you will find that our rates, compared to other accommodation in South Yarra, are quite moderate.
It is great that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we do hope that you will consider Punthill again for any accommodation requirements you may have in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The location of the apartment is near to perfect, being situated right behind South Yarra station (if only you could walk right across to the platform- but that's being super lazy hahaha). The room was immaculate, the views from our apartment were stunning! Close to some really good local shops too.. we only spent three nights at this hotel so we didn't use much of the kitchen facilities, but it was great to have them regardless!
the best thing about this place is the staff! this particular guy (i forgot to get his name, i think it was Paul) was just lovely! superb hospitality!

It was great spending the last few days of 2012 there :)

cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humayra_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear humayra_khan,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand. The whole team will be absolutely thrilled to know that you had such a fantastic time at the property!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in 2013.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#57 of 161 in Melbourne
465 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Address: 7 Yarra St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $99 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing