We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Brilliant Apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill South Yarra Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Ranked #73 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant Apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroomed apartment (hubby, myself & 18yr old son) for a week over the New Year period, arriving 29th December & it was all we could want. We were on the 7th floor over looking the train station but more importantly overlooking the city so had a fantastic veiw of the fireworks. Sure this one overlooked the train station so was a little noisy once the trains started but also interesting watching some of the characters on the platforms at night. As it was hot we had the apartment closed most of the time & made full use of the aircon so you could barely hear them & to be honest we simply got used to them so they did not impact on us. It was actually a bonus being so close to the train & trams so for us all good!
The apartment is also close to some really great little restaurants, an good IGA & of course the famous Chappel Street not to mention the Toorak shops so what more could a serious shopper want just in that alone!
The apartment was cosy & yes the bedrooms a bit small but hey people it is a Hotel Apartment not your own home so if you want big, spacious & what you have at home go rent a house in my books!
The reception staff were absolutely delightful & so warm & welcoming & helped out in whatever way they could so thank you people. The apartment was spotlessly clean when we got there but as it was over the New Year Eve break the cleaning/servicing was not up to scratch (there was notification on this though) but all we had to do was go to reception & they sorted out a few minor issues promptly.
A review I have just read here stated the 2 bedroomed apartment had a double bed that was uncomfortable? Hmm.... I think they must have stayed elsewhere?? I have serious arthritis (plus 2 total hip replacements) so a good big bed is a priority for me (we have a very good King at home) & the bed we had was definitely a Queen. Sure it was smaller to what we are used to but we fitted in ok & it was extremely comfortable & I did not wake up uncomfortable or in pain so that speaks to me of a good quality bed!
The kitchen was more than adequate for our needs & we had breakfast there every day & to be honest with all good intentions of eating in at night we have to sheepishly admit we ate dinner out the whole time as hey people this is Melbourne with every cuisine imaginable close at hand & way cheaper than what we have in Perth so a no brainer for us! lol
We also made full use of the washer & dryer that is tucked away in the ensuite so an added bonus after 4 weeks of being on the road & it also had a rack you could put on the balcony for drying, just remember to bring your own pegs.

All in all this is a brilliant place to stay, sure a tad on the expensive side but we would not hesitate to stay there again next time we are in Melbourne on holidays & would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jennifuz,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your very complimentary review of Punthill South Yarra Grand on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to read that you had such a wonderful time and so enjoyed the facilities, service and location of our apartment hotel whilst visiting Melbourne!
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill next time you head east from WA!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    102
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
79
89
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff are super friendly and accommodating - thank you Adrian, Paul and Clint! The room was immaculate - clean, large and with a balcony and great view of the CBD. The bed was super comfy. Location is perfect - close to Chapel St and 2 minutes from South Yarra train station and tram stops.

Parking is easy and cheap... checkout simply (even though I snoozed and left 2 hours after deadline).

I loved the elevator quote every day - inspirational and made me smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Roberta B,
The whole team at Punthill South Yarra Grand will be absolutely thrilled to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at the property and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here on business, Fantastic place. Very clean, edgy and modern and everything is close by. Was very impressed with the style of the room. Could not fault it. The location is ideal if you want to base yourself around the South Yarra area. Could not fault it and will be definitely coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galaga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear galaga88,
Thanks so much for your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Grand on TripAdvisor.
The team at Punthill South Yarra Grand will be thrilled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at the property, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

As other reviewers have commented the location cannot be beaten. Within 200 m of Toorak Road and about five minutes from Chapel Road. Hence the cafes, restaurants and shops of one of Melbourne's most desirable locations are at your disposal. I particularly recommend France-Soir restaurant 600 m away on Toorak Road. Getting into the city via the train station situated next door to the property is a breeze. Note that the nearest supermarket is the IGA close to the Squires loft steakhouse on Toorak road and not the Coles on Chapel Road where I was initially directed.

The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and the property has the advantage of a spa and a perfectly adequate gym.

We stayed in a two-bedroomed apartment which was, not untypically, somewhat smaller then one would imagine from the photographs on the website.

The main bedroom had a double bed which was quite small and which my wife found somewhat uncomfortable. Luggage storage space is minimal but adequate. The second bedroom had two very small beds which were okay for my children aged seven and five but would be inadequate for anyone much older.

The fairly limited facilities for cooking in terms of utensils in particular would really preclude extensive self catering.

Despite the excellent location and the undoubted advantage of a daily room service we did not think that the size of the apartment justified the cost per night and would probably look elsewhere on future family trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alantroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Alantroy,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
As you have mentioned, Toorak Road and Chapel Street provide a great variety of cafes, restaurants and boutique shopping that is only a couple of minutes' walk from our apartment hotel, so the only difficulty is deciding which restaurant to dine in first!
As well as the IGA supermarket on Toorak Road, there is also a very large Woolworths supermakert in the Vogue Centre on Chapel Street, which is only a 5-minute walk away, so for any guests wanting a bigger variety of groceries, this is ideal.
With regards to the bedding in the 2-bedroom apartments, the bed in the main bedroom is in fact a standard queen-size bed. We do have mattress toppers on all Punthill beds which provide a luxurious surface. Most guests love them, but occasionally a guest finds them too soft, and we are always happy to remove the topper for a firmer bed during their stay. The beds in the second bedroom are standard single size.
We feel you will find that our rates, compared to other accommodation in South Yarra, are quite moderate.
It is great that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we do hope that you will consider Punthill again for any accommodation requirements you may have in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The location of the apartment is near to perfect, being situated right behind South Yarra station (if only you could walk right across to the platform- but that's being super lazy hahaha). The room was immaculate, the views from our apartment were stunning! Close to some really good local shops too.. we only spent three nights at this hotel so we didn't use much of the kitchen facilities, but it was great to have them regardless!
the best thing about this place is the staff! this particular guy (i forgot to get his name, i think it was Paul) was just lovely! superb hospitality!

It was great spending the last few days of 2012 there :)

cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank humayra_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear humayra_khan,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand. The whole team will be absolutely thrilled to know that you had such a fantastic time at the property!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in 2013.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location was great - close to all transport. Only 6 mins by train to Flinders St Station. The apartment was very well presented and the service excellent. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The bed was the most comfortable we have stayed in anywhere !!! Only draw back was for long stays (3-4 weeks) the lounge was a bit small and kitchen facilities limited. We stayed for a week and it was great. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room not facing the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear BenH2,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand on TripAdvisor.
The Front Office team at Punthill South Yarra Grand prides itself on providing excellent customer service to all guests, so the team will be thrilled to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay, and are happy to recommend the property too!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic Location - shopping, coffee, bars, restaurants, cinema on your doorstep.
Apartment - well equipped (could easily do your own cooking and eat in), friendly staff, secure with free parking, clean, great decor etc.
We had a great stay. Everything about the accommodation was good. Friendly, helpful staff who organised a retaurant booking for us. We faced the train line which didn't bother us at all as we closed the balcony door at night, maybe that's the trick! It was a hot night and the air-con was great. Apartment was decorated with some quirky touches which made it special. Didn't hear any other guests in the corridors or next door even though both balcony doors were open. Highly recommended, thanks to Kieran and his staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear KayM123

Thanks so much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.

It sounds like you made the most of our great South Yarra location and we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. The charge for parking at South Yarra Grand is normally $12 p/day however you were fortunate enough to snap up one of our recent packages which included parking.

We will certainly pass on your excellent feedback regarding our customer service. The front office team take great pride in ensuring each guest has a wonderful Punthill experience.

We hope to see you back at Punthill South Yarra Grand again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#25 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,301 reviews
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#49 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#28 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Property: Punthill South Yarra Grand
Address: 7 Yarra St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing