We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Nearby Hotels
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$130
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$105
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$144
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$169
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$234
$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$215
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$136
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
184
122
39
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
122
39
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationchapel streetpunt hillgreat locationsecond bedroomlarge balconywashing machine and dryerthese apartmentsself cateringcomfortable apartmentsecure parkingper nightour night stayfull kitchenbotanical gardensclose to public transportlounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 360 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic Location - shopping, coffee, bars, restaurants, cinema on your doorstep.
Apartment - well equipped (could easily do your own cooking and eat in), friendly staff, secure with free parking, clean, great decor etc.
We had a great stay. Everything about the accommodation was good. Friendly, helpful staff who organised a retaurant booking for us. We faced the train line which didn't bother us at all as we closed the balcony door at night, maybe that's the trick! It was a hot night and the air-con was great. Apartment was decorated with some quirky touches which made it special. Didn't hear any other guests in the corridors or next door even though both balcony doors were open. Highly recommended, thanks to Kieran and his staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear KayM123

Thanks so much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.

It sounds like you made the most of our great South Yarra location and we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. The charge for parking at South Yarra Grand is normally $12 p/day however you were fortunate enough to snap up one of our recent packages which included parking.

We will certainly pass on your excellent feedback regarding our customer service. The front office team take great pride in ensuring each guest has a wonderful Punthill experience.

We hope to see you back at Punthill South Yarra Grand again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in October and found the hotel to be fantastic. One bedroom apartment was more than big enough for the two of us, although if more people are staying I would book a larger apartment. The rooms are clean, tidy and well thought out. We cooked dinner one night and had ample equipment and space. The staff were friendly and helpful on all occassions. We took the bikes for an afternoon and it is a very easy ride to Southbank and back. The location is great if you are looking for something out of the CBD. Would defiinitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big_red001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at South Yarra Grand for a mid week getaway and were delighted with the accomodation and the service. The staff were all wonderfully friendly, despite us arriving in the middle of the night and being a bit cranky ourselves. The apartment itself was funky, tastefully decorated and immaculately presented - everthing was spotlessly clean, and the bed perfectly made every day with crisp white sheets. I also particularly liked the little metal dog and his patch of faux grass sitting on the balcony. The attention to detail and the pride taken in the presentation of their apartments is really obvious. 5 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spc11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear spc11_12

Thanks so much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Your comments regarding our customer service are a wonderful endorsement of our property management team. We take great pride in ensuring each and everyone of our guests walk away satisfied with their Punthill experience.

Thanks for your wonderful comments about the style of our rooms. Each Punthill location has it's own unique character which reflects the local surrounding area. Our rooms are designed with great attention to detail and our overall customer feedback is testament to this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill South Yarra Grand again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Am a regular traveller both business and pleasure and stay often at Punthill Flinders Lane, which is always excellent. Going by previous reviews I expected this would be similar. Well it was not. The noise during the week from the station, starting at 5am is bad, wouldn't matter where you are as all windows if open are effected. This I could forgive, we knew the location. If you are staying a friday/saturday it would not both you so much. We stayed for six nights. Cleaning is sub standard. Nothing is ever moved and cleaned under/behind. Bathroom standard was unacceptable, on requesting a decent clean to the bathrooms nothing occurred. One was so bad, from previous occupant, we could not use it. Took three requests and two days until one very obliging night manager cleaned it himself. The apartments are modern and well appointed, is a shame they are not being maintained as this type of neglect will lead to premature ageing of the property. My advice: stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jil_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Jil_33

We understand you stayed with Kate3222 who wrote the review below yours. We reiterate our response below as we believe this sufficiently addresses your concerns.

Please contact management to offer further feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Punthill again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice rooms but VERY noisy right by the train station. Could hear all the announcements on the platform even from a high floor. Not clean! Yuk Yuk Yuk. Dirty bathrooms, dirty blankets. A real shame as the rooms are nice, but not kept clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Kate3222

Thanks for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor although we're very sorry to hear your stay was not enjoyable. Our rooms do have double glazing and it's rare that we receive comments about exterior noise from the train station.

We are shocked and disappointed to hear your feedback about our housekeeping service as we take great pride in maintaining our rooms to a very high standard. We have meticulously inspected Punthill South Yarra Grand and the apartments are spotlessly clean. We feel your experience must have been a one off situation and we have taken steps to ensure that this this does not occur in the future. Please contact management directly to offer further feedback.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews