We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and well equipped apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Ranked #79 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great apartment very well equipped for short stay if self catering is desired. Great position near to South Yarra metro and the tram stops. Take the number 8 to go to the city.
Nice big comfortable bed and great terrace with sun beds.

Room Tip: The 1 bed apartment was great but if the studious are of similar quality they should be fine. Some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meanderstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 351 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

Yes the bedrooms are small, as is the bathroom, but we found the living areas great and had a good balcony. The location was great, 2 min walk to great shopping, restaurants, markets and public transport. The decor is nice, had a great kitchenette and even a washer/ dryer ( not that we were doing any washing) For us we found that just being able to walk out the door, and shop and eat and then return for a glass of wine on the balcony before going out again, made our weekend !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KylieOberon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Hi KylieOberon

Thanks for taking the time to write a reveiw of Punthill South Yarra Grand.

We love our location just off Toorak Rd and there is no doubt it provides the perfect base for a friends weekend away. Toorak Road has so many great restaurants and Chapel Street provides a world class shopping experience. We are pleased to say that all our rooms have balconies which adds to the openess of the living area.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Keiran Spencer
Director of Sales and Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here for four nights ove a weekend, two adults and two teenagers. The location was great, as was the reception area. The lounge area of the apartment was good and the kitchen well equipped, all brand new with modern fittings. As for the beddroms and bathrooms, you wouldn't even get a cat inside the rooms in this place, let alone swing it.The main bedroom was the size of the queen bed, with hardly any walking room around the bed. No room for suitcases except rammed into the tiny wardrobe, which had not enough room for one adult, let alone two. The bathroom, also tiny had good hot water, but no shelf space, no hooks and nowhere to hang wet towels to dry (as requested by hotel, so they don't have to change towels daily). The second bedroom with two of the mosgt narrow single beds I have ever seen, couldn't roll over in case you rolled out) was even smaller if possible, with no room for two teens and their bags. The 2nd bathroom was smaller than a pantry, where if you had a shower the whole area would flood. Overall disappointing for the $$$. Couldn't fault the location though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had a pleasant stay in south yarra, which is in an excellent location-close to many shops and restaurants. It is also right next to the train station, however noise was not an issue and did not disturb our sleep.

The rooms are very 'sexy', black and white decor which was a nice change from the usual bland and boring hotel rooms. Our studio had a full kitchenet, including oven, grill and stove. There was also a drier/ washing machine and large balcony, a clever use of space.

Bathrooms could use some additional toilettries and bench space, but there was an iron and ironing board in the room which most hotels don't offer.

We paid $140\night, which was fantastic value for the modern hotel in a superb location.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Hi Jewelz88

Thanks for the review and excellent endorsement for Punthill South Yarra Grand. It sounds like you were fortunate enough to book the property and on one of our great promotional rates.

The stylish in room decor is true reflection on the surrounding area. I hope you were able to make the most of the great dining and boutique shopping outlets on Toorak Rd.

Next time you are staying at Punthill South Yarra Grand you should try and check out Grove and Vine Providore which has opened just next door to us. G&V specialise in a great selection of local wine and gourmet produce. Perfect to take back to your room and enjoy.

Regards

Keiran Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Fail to understand some of previous reviews - just nit picking! Have just stayed 7 nights and had no complaints during that time. Spent time out of the apartment, not in - had no noise to complain of even though there is a lot of buildings being constructed in the area. Fould reception friendly and helped with printing out boarding passes for us when we left.
For convenience, couldn't be better with train and tram 2 mins walk and Chapel Street 5 mins away. Many restaurants within a short walking distance and IGA across the road in Toorak Road.
Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tippett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Hi Tippett

Thanks for reviewing Punthill South Yarra Grand on Tripadvisor.

You can keep up to date with our latest specials and promotions via the Punthill Website, Facebook or Twitter page.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Keiran Spencer
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with a kitchen. The living room and kitchen area were very nice, but the bedroom and bathroom were quite small. The bedroom had a very nice king sized bed and 2 night stands, but there were no closets. The lack of storage space wasn't an issue for us for 2 nights but would have been annoying if we stayed longer. There was a washer/dryer in the cupboard in the bathroom which was convenient although a bit awkward to use in the tight space. There were plenty of restaurants in the area and the train station was within easy walking distance. You had to pay to use broadband, but we were unable to connect with Windows 7 and the staff were unable to troubleshoot the issue. They did however allow us to use the reception computer when needed and also printed our boarding passes.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolfGirl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

After having stayed twice at the Punthill South Yarra Grand within the course of 2 weeks (each time for extended stays of 4-5 nights), we simply cannot understand, how this overpriced, badly designed and equally badly maintained property ended up being rated No. 1 on tripadvisor.com for specialty lodgings in Melbourne. Having experienced a wonderful holiday in Melbourne and Victoria state during the AUS Open season, we are certain that there truly must be better options for staying in this magnificent Australian city. We cannot recommend this highly overrated place, and here is why:

- design: while the place cries "chique urban hip crowd" from the first moment one sets foot in it, the design flaws become almost immediately obvious, when entering the property; the lobby looks nice at first, but it is simply too small to hold a reasonable number of guests during check-in and check-out times (two lounge chairs to sit in for all guests, seriously?); the cramped lobby feeling is especially heightened since there is always only one single service staff available, which needs to be called via the front desk phone from a hidden office; space is wasted for the display of some apparently cool retro bikes (which are for hire, but we never saw anyone using them), but this means that there is no cloak or baggage room, which we consider one of the basic services any hotel/serviced apartment should provide; the availability of a baggage storage room is especially necessary considering the check-out time of 10:00 AM, which does mean for anyone with an afternoon or evening flight, that your luggage has to be openly stored in the lobby - in plain sight without any front desk staff watching it;

- upon walking through the claustrophobic hallways and entering our one bedroom apartment, the first impressions of insufficient hotel design were sadly confirmed and ever more deepened: the whole apartment appears to be very small due to the very long and narrow corridor leading from the entrance door to the living room (while passing the bath room and bedroom); the clinically white room design adds to a general feeling of 'cold and unwelcoming' design attitude; the bath room and bedroom are very much on the smallish side, which leads to basic necessities not being met; there are no towel racks in the bathroom, and very little storage space for toiletries etc; the one hook provided for hanging up towels looked stylish, but almost fell off immediately due to the usage of the cheapest fixtures available on the planet (since I am in the fittings and fixtures business, I can tell the difference); the shower door creaked, the sink was partially broken and had a rusty stopper; the shower door handles were oxidized, and the soap dish in the shower was fixed at an odd, makeshift angle; the whole impression of the bathroom was one of poor design, bad quality fixtures and even poorer workmanship;

- the negative design impression continued in the bedroom: the closet was difficult to access located behind the king size bed, and offered only insufficient storage space for a long term stay; the in-room safe was placed on the floor and in the farthest corner of the closet, which means that it was only accessible by crawling on the carpet and crouching half way into the closet in order to handle the oddly inconvenient apparatus (which did not work well at all, we had to ask the service staff to come up twice to get the closing mechanism going); the bedroom had a 'naked design feel' with just one ink stencil design printed on the wall above the bed - not really a welcoming or cosy feeling for the bedroom - more like 'run down hospital room'; the TV set mounted on the wall across from the bed was a nice touch, except for the numerous uncovered drill holes around it and the layers of dust covering the back of the TV, which were the first thing we saw when entering the bedroom (the sight was hard to avoid since one literally walks into the dirty backside of the TV, when entering the room); all these things might be considered minor design/maintenance flaws, but they add up, when one is staying for a longer time, and they are topped by the non-existent "quality" of the mattress provided for the king size bed: we alternately described this equipment as "soggy acres" or "marsh mellow madness land" - absolutely no support from the mattress was given, and we immediately sank about 30 cm lower towards the floor, when lying down; needless to say, we had the most terrible sleep ever, and can only guess that the owner of Punthill Grand must have chosen this particular piece of junk design equipment as part of a clever marketing partnership with a physiotherapist clinic located handily 50 meters away from Punthill Grand;

- good or bad design ultimately is a matter of personal taste, but not providing the basics (good sleep, acceptable closet space and basic functionality and quality bathroom fixtures) is simply unacceptable; the living room did redeem the horrendous experience we had to some degree, especially due to the very well equipped kitchen, the nice balcony and TV; but it wasn't all 'peachy': the hot plates were rusty and badly cleaned, the fridge door had apparently been abused with a sledge hammer (deep dents and scratches), and the sofa was impossible to sit on comfortably (due to the fact that all modern design sofas do not take into account adequate back support - again: the physiotherapist down the road must be making a killing...); the outlet for broadband internet is located below the desk (more crawling), but after not being able to establish a stable connection, the service staff showed us that we needed to use the internet connection socket located behind the TV console covered by the desk's legs (again: more crawling on the floor, and potentially more business for the physiotherapists....); the super trendy plastic chairs for the breakfast table look like fresh from an 80's design fair, but since the legs are 'hollow' they also function as a perfect dust collector (avoid placing the chairs into direct sunlight, except if you like to stare at 6 months worth of dust and dirt...);

- all doors in the apartment are void of any noise insulation whatsoever, and thus you are at the mercy of your fellow hotel guests with respect to their respective 'door slamming habits and timings' (we were not fortunate on our second stay, and were woken up several times early in the morning and during the night); oddly, the sound insulation towards the South Yarra train station (our rooms were facing the tracks) is very good, and we never were disturbed by the trains outside; thus, the lack of any internal noise insulation is clearly a sign of poor design and low quality materials chosen for the apartments; due to the fact that the predominant color scheme used is white, the apartment does feel quite clinical after a while, and does not invite to spend much time in it; you might consider this a minor quirk (who wants to stay inside during a holiday), but since Punthill Grand is an apartment lodging, and not a hotel room, it could be expected that one actually feels compelled to spend some time in the apartment...; and at the same time both apartments we had booked had already a very worn appearance due to numerous dirt marks, dents and scratches on the walls from usage by previous hotel guests; overall, Punthill Grand might have looked 'grand' on the surface (and when still brand new), but the poor design, lack of maintenance and low quality level of materials used quickly reveals this property as anything but a "low-quality-hostel-charging-first-class-rates"

- housekeeping was generally poor with partially extremely dirty facilities (dusty layered TV and breakfast chairs, dusty glass surfaces on the living room desk, dirty hot plates, never vacuumed carpets); towels were changed each day, and the bathroom was sufficiently cleaned, but that was it;

- service provided by the one-staff-does-everything-front-desk was polite, efficient and in one case also quite friendly, but with so little staff allocated to this property, one can only describe the service level as sufficient, and clearly not as anything like 'welcoming' or 'friendly'; we stay in a lot of business hotels and serviced apartments worldwide, and do get definitively more smiles there than at Punthill Grand; the only nice touch were the free daily information print outs provided for the AUS Open schedule and the complimentary newspapers in the lobby;

- there is no food available within the premise, but two good cafes are available a few meters down the road (the hotel guest manual states that one can bill purchases in these restaurants to one's room at Punthill Grand; this is incorrect since neither of the listed restaurants offers this service - we asked, and were clearly denied the privilege, so bring your wallet along for that coffee and breakfast in the morning)

- location: this has been raved about by many other reviews, and yes the Punthill Grand is conveniently located within South Yarra and Melbourne itself, but with a super-efficient public transportation network and many beautiful neighborhoods within Melbourne, this becomes somewhat less important: there are just too many alternatives at equally good and easily accessible locations, thus, the location factor did not score highly in our books

We chose the apartment based on the #1 tripadvisor.com rating, and the fact that we wanted to stay in an apartment rather than a hotel during the quite pricey AUS Open season. We ended up with a great experience concering the city of Melbourne, the South Yarra neighborhood and the AUS Open (which were fabulous!), but we were thoroughly disappointed with the Punthill Grand - especially given the high cost of lodging in this establishment (we paid between 275 and 260 AUD per night/excluding breakfast). After our first stay, we went on a tour along the Great Ocean Road and only returned to the Punthill Grand due to the fact that the city was quite "fully booked" for the final AUS Open weekend. Looking back, we should have invested some time to find an alternative since the second stay at Punthill Grand was even a worse experience than the first one.

We cannot understand, how this badly designed, and even worse equipped, overpriced apartment complex can be rated so highly by fellow travelers on tripadvisor.com. Having traveled extensively within Asia Pacific and Australia as well as Europe and North America, this place does not in the slightest stand up to comparatively priced competitors, and it is certainly not worth the top dollar charged.

We recommend to give this one a pass, and not be fooled by the No.1 rating. We certainly will not return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RaffaelloSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneRobin, Owner at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

It is impossible to address the minute detail and myriad of complaints voiced by this guest. This guest did call in at Punthill South Yarra Grand to inspect the property prior to his arrival and we are consequently surprised at his level of dissatisfaction. The guest requested and received a high floor and city view on both stays. Similarly, a request for a late check out at 12noon, was happily granted as was the guest’s request for early arrivals on both occasions-we try extremely hard to comply with guest requests whenever possible.

The overwhelming response from our guests is positive and we are so appreciative of the many compliments we receive. We feel that our rates over the Tennis period were extremely moderate.

The Punthill lobby is spacious and we hope has a welcoming feel, enhanced by the fireplace. There are 2 easy chairs in front of the fire, many ottomans including one huge square, leather ottoman, seating all along the wall covered with long cream leather cushions.
Reception is manned 24 hours and occasionally, the staff may be doing paper work in the office which is directly behind the front desk.

The vintage bikes in the foyer are used almost every day by guests wishing to explore the beautiful river paths and Botanic garden area. There is a large baggage storage area. The mattresses are of the highest quality and we spared no expense to supply our guests with the vitally important comfortable sleep. The Sofitel and Westin Hotel Groups and many other international brands use the same mattresses. The beds are topped with a mattress topper which feels soft and luxurious-if the guest had commented to reception that he found the beds soft, we could have immediately removed the mattress topper which would have made the bed feel more firm. We receive repeated request from guests for the details of the suppliers of the mattress toppers.

It is unfortunate that this guest did not voice his concerns after his first night. We would have promptly and graciously attended to all of his issues. I cannot understand why he would wait until almost 2 months after his trip.

We go out of our way to ensure that our guests are comfortable and try to add small touches to make guests feel welcome. Of course we are upset at the contents of this guest’s lengthy litany of complaints and will strive to do better and better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#64 of 161 in Melbourne
449 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#90 of 161 in Melbourne
395 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Address: 7 Yarra St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $88 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing