We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee, eclaire & cannoli so so”

Brunetti City Square
Ranked #23 of 105 Dessert in Melbourne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Central Business District
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Coffee, eclaire & cannoli so so”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My visit to Brunetti was made due to the reviews I read about the place.

We went on a Saturday afternoon and it was fairly busy.

Coffee was ok.. I had a better one that came free with breakfast though..

I ordered a cannoli and eclaire - couldn't tell the difference from any other cafe in quality. Woolworths eclaires would give it a run for money actually.

Brunetti is a Melbourne institution so I've been told.. But I think any other patisserie business could come in and take over, easily, if Brunetti's quality diminishes or doesn't change to reflect the new breed of eaters.

Obviously because this place is trending one might be tempted to try it to find out what the hype is about.

However, if you are tight on a budget and you can find another patisserie for a coffee and cake - go there. My visit wasn't unpleasant or awful, I just don't get the hype for what you get.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sologee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    83
    36
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice night, coffee and cake”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Ok, it's not the best patisserie in Melbourne (although the competition is very hot), but the drinks are decent and the pastries and desserts are too.

In the old, old days, Brunetti was special. Now it's a bit like an outdoor cafeteria. But what a great location.

On a nice night, after a show or a sporting event, it's perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solly1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 701 helpful votes
“So Very Very Good”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Right in the heart of Melbourne, this coffee and cakes destination is the little brother of the massive Carlton original. Sensational coffee and the most beautiful and tasty cakes, pastries and cookies - potential gluttony warning should come with every order. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThrillingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Breakfast Favourite”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I always breakfast here when I am in Melbourne staying at The Westin. Fresh orange juice freshly squeezed from real oranges not out of a bottle. Great coffee and great pastries. A true delight.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes, staff need an overhaul”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Love love love this place, the cakes, coffee, sitting outside enjoying the world passing by. If you want a slice of heaven this is the place to go without a doubt, however be warned do not expect service with a smile, or a courteous 'can we help you'. The staff are almost unpleasant enough to curdle the cream in the cakes, they seem bored with any questions you may have over the array of cakes. They were a little off hand when we couldn't decide straight away and just overlooked us and served the next person in line, this is not the first time this service has been experienced here. However, the goods help you overcome their shortcomings and once you are sat down with your little slice of heaven in front of you all is well with the world - coffee is great too. I would definately come again, I would still take my time with my decision lets just hope in time the staff all have personality transplants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indecisive123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunetti City Square also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Brunetti City Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing