We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 bedrooms is hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pan Pacific Melbourne
Ranked #22 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“2 bedrooms is hard to find”
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This is the second time we've stayed at the Hilton South Wharf. It's a new hotel so everything is still fresh and well kept. It's hard to find a quality 2 bedroom hotel handy to the city, but this one is very convenient. Easy walking to Etihaad Stadium, Crown Casino and the City. The factory outlet down stairs is also great shopping.
I would say this trip was less thrilling than the first stay, but the views are stunning, the beds are terrific, you have a choice of pillows in a menu and the bathroom is stocked with Crabtree and Evelin products.
Tapas restaurant and cafe downstairs are also great. The only downside I can suggest is the price at $540 for our room; for that i think a few small luxuries could be afforded such as not charging $35 for valet parking. I discovered parking is free if you shop next door.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,196
    1,077
    258
    89
    40
See reviews for
477
1,313
210
1,259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed in this Hilton hotel for 4 days 3 nights for exhibition taken place in the exhibition complex attached to the hotel.

I have no complains about the room, which was modern, comfortable and clean. Room’s wise, I got what I expected. Can not say that I liked the highway view, but, I did not pick this hotel for the view, so, no disappointment here.
Nevertheless, with such high ranking in trip advisor (3 out of 211), and being such appreciated by many travelers, I was sure that customer service and suitable policies are in place. Well, to my disappointment it was not the case.
For example, upon check in, each room entitle for one free bottle of mineral water. This is regardless the number of nights. You would get only ONE mineral water bottle if you stay single night, 2 nights or more. It may sound silly, but, it is better off to check out every single day, to enjoy additional free mineral water…!
In the present (June) weather, when heaters are required, when the air in the room is stuffy and dry, flow of water is essential. When I called in my second day and asked for additional bottle of water, the girl at the MAGIC line (yes, they have magic button, but, providing no magic…) said, “sorry sir, this is the hotel policy. One mineral bottle per stay”. Great magic, no doubt! Just remember, that there is no convenience store anywhere nearby…!!!
Things got “better” in this Hilton. For example, no tooth brush is provided. No mouths wash as well. If you wish to have any of these, you shall purchase the “comfort kit”. I was happy I did not need to purchase towels after shower.
At my second morning, I was late for breakfast. As the exhibition did not start before 10AM, I though to have late breakfast, which was logical realizing the jet lag I still, had. Well, by 10:05 the breakfast hall was clean (people and food), and no alternative. Aside from the small fact that I paid for breakfasts in advanced, it looks odd that the hotel does not provide the following options: In room breakfast till 11 AM with symbolic charges (as I have already paid for breakfast), or, all day breakfast menu which can be taken by those who wake up late to have their breakfast at 10:30 AM, and so forth.
Again, I contacted the MAGIC button, and again I got the same answer: “Sorry Sir, if you missed the breakfast time, you need to pay for breakfast” This kind of treat is obsolete in most hotels I have been staying (approx 15 days each month for the past 10 years…). But, hell, you can not argue with magic buttons…!
And for desert, I got another policy, which shows great flexibility… I asked to have late checkout. I offered to pay 50% of room rate to be able to checkout by 7pm. You can guess what the answer…was “Sorry sir, we will have to charge full day rate for checking out later than 4pm”. This is our hotel policy”.
Do I need to mention that when purchasing 24 hours internet pass, it is valid only as long as you are checked in. So, if buying such pass (why for got sake anyone needs to buy internet time when paying $250 usd per room per night? It is again, an obsolete arrogant policy which better to be changed…) you shall know that it is only valid till you check out. With 11AM check out policy (another strange Australian policy which found no where else in the world) you better not buy an internet pass late at night…
To conclude: never again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnrhnr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed just one night - the weather was miserable outside but the hotel provided a warm oasis giving us a reason to stay indoors for the whole 24 hours of our stay. The room overlooked the Westgate Freeway - probably the least preferable outlook but the room was immaculate and the bed was perfect. Nice in room toiletries too. The 100% blockout blinds were amazing - at 9.15am when I woke I would have sworn it was 3.00am, so dark was the room. Just a little dissapointed with the buffet breakfast - not much WOW factor in the selections and the waiting staff are a little too in your face. Overall a very pleasant experience and surprised to stay at a Hilton that I will return to soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Opened in 2009, with spacious rooms overlooking Yarra and the Port Melbourne. Large size rooms with all modern amenities, excellent bathrooms supplemented by unparallel service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narayantravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This Hotel is just an extension of Melbourne Convention Centre and extremely convenient to the exhibitors at Expos or participants in conference at the Convention Centre.

Nice Bar, Business Centre, world class restuarant, huge parking area are just fit for a business visitors to Melbourne.

Rooms are well appointed with excellent amenities and great view from the rooms.

For those prefer to use public transport for moving around while staying here, it is a bit of walk to the Tram of metro.

This is one of my favorite hotels in Melbourne. Value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrn218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I stayed at the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf as I was attending a conference next door at the Melbourne Convention Centre. My stay at this hotel was faultless - I just wish I could have shared the experience with my husband and teenage son, but good reason to return to return to Melbourne with the family for a leisure trip rather than business. The hotel, including my room was very clean and the staff could not do enough for you, starting from front of house / reception to room service and room cleaning staff - all great! The room was beautiful and clean, bed was comfortable +++, bathroom facilities and toiletries were great and there was "real" coffee with a plunger - yum! My room had a view looking towards Docklands and the bay area, which was quite good, but a colleague of mine had a room overlooking the city and that was fantastic! The location is great in terms of conference attendance and Southbank facilities. Though the hotel may be a bit of a distance from the city and other cultural precincts, it is nevertheless a pleasant walk to these areas. For those who prefer to take a taxi, there is a rank just around the corner and hotel staff are more than willing to help get one for you. Great place and I hope the standard remains at a such a high level.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Great location for Docklands, city, South Bank, Conference Centre and the trendy city bayside suburbs eg. St Kilda, South Melbourne. Rooms new and very well appointed, large bathrooms, good luggage and wardrobe space and the blind that makes the room black/dark until you decide it's daytime should be in every hotel room! Quite hotel and the staff have clearly been educated in the art of hospitality. I checked TripAdvisor before I booked and everyone is right, the breakfast is outstanding - the Food and Beverage manager here rocks although there is a little room for improvement in the tapas restaurant/bar. We travel a lot and this hotel is one of the few experiences that remind you that your expectations of 5 star venues, hospitality and F&B are not unreasonable, they are just so rarely met. Well done Hilton South Wharf, would recommend you over all the Crown franchise options available nearby.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,552 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,328 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,013 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
1,456 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Melbourne

Property: Pan Pacific Melbourne
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Melbourne will feature 396 rooms and suites, with floor to ceiling windows that offer panoramic views of the Yarra River, Port Phillip Bay and city, complete with thoughtfully appointed amenities and modern furnishings. Guests will be able to choose from two dining outlets, an all-day-dining restaurant and bar which offers international cuisine and a nightcap in the evening, or a more relaxed cafe setting for a light meal or quick coffee. Refresh your senses at the end of a long day with our wellness facilities, including a well-equipped 24-hour fitness centre. With over 400 square metres of versatile meeting space and its proximity to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Pan Pacific Melbourne will be an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing