We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter long weekend for $165 per night incl buffet breakfast and late checkout at 6pm. I had booked and paid for a city view king sized room and requested a smoking room. Unfortunately when we got there, the king sized smoking room was not available, and being a nice girlfriend we decided to go for the twin room smoking room. The man at reception failed to tell us that this was not a city view room and we didn't realise until we got to the room. Was not too impressed that we weren't told beforehand, seeing as we had paid for a city view room but given the price we paid, we decided to stay in our downgraded smoking twin room with a view of DFO (I've deducted a star because reception forgot to tell us it wasn't a city view).

The hotel is what everyone says:
- location: short walk to main city centre, DFO is right next door (with great stores for men and women)
- bathroom: separate bath and shower, modern, sleek with crabtree and evelyn toiletries
- bed: although we were in the twin bed, it was absolutely luxurious. Nice selection of pillows
- flat screen tv with limited cable channels (fox8, cnn, bbc, sport)
- service: reception staff were a bit over the top but the restaurant staff were fantastic.
- gym is open 24 hours

Checkout was a breeze. I put our cards in an envelope, signed that they could charge me for anything and that was it.

the blinds/shutters are awesome - you can have naps and block out all the light! Overall, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    1,035
    243
    81
    35
See reviews for
442
1,242
202
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

I have stayed here twice now and loved it both times. Rooms are fantastic as is the breakfast and location. I had a fantastic Hilton deal last time and had access to the exec lounge etc which was great
I am looking for the next free weekend when we can go back

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PVK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Just spent the one night at the Hilton in an Executive Room on the 17th floor.

This really is a very nice hotel. Its still new so everything is in top shape. The hotel is very modern and contemporary which I liked. The location is also excellent. You have easy access off the Monash if arriving by car. It's only a 10 minute walk to Crown and a short tram ride to the city as well as being close to Docklands. There is also loads of shopping on your doorstop.

The Executive Rooms are very nice. Standard sized rooms on the high floors. Well designed room and bathroom, great bathroom amenities and a fabulous bed.
The lounge itself is also excellent. Pre dinners drinks were very nice as was the quality of the beers and wines. Canapes were nice also.
The lounge is actually quite large and with the outdoor deck it's a nice spot on a sunny afternoon. For mine its worth the extra $$

The hotel does not have a pool but does have a well equipped gym. Breakfast was also quite good with the standard selections in the main restaurant. They also serve a continental breakfast in the Executive lounge.

Overall a great experience and would have no trouble recommending or returning to the Hilton. I did deduct one star as the following morning i had no hot water which is not a great way to start the day....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Came to Melbourne to watch the grand prix, with the whole of the McLaren team here I couldnt have asked for more. Rooms were excellent standard and our room had a nice view over the Yarra. I would thoroughly reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a top notch hotel in Melbourne. Is a short stroll away from the centre, but only 10 mins walk down the riverside which is very nice walk.

Will be staying again next year for the GP for sure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoola
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

I stayed here whilst attending a meeting at the adjacent Convention Centre. It is modern and stylish with all of the features required of a business hotel. The only possible exception is the lack of a swimming pool, an issue for some I am sure, but there is a functional gym and spa. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and you are made to feel like a special guest. At first glance the location appears somewhat remote, but in reality it is a short walk to the restaurants and the Casino at Southbank, and only a little further to the National Gallery of Victoria, Federation Square and the city itself. The location is stunning, with room views of the Yarra River. I stayed in a Club Room, and found the Club a very pleasant and well-provisioned venue, both for evening drinks and canapes and for a surprisingly extensive breakfast. The location of the Club down on the 4th floor overlooking some metal roofs is a little strange, but it is a large and comfortable space. The hotel's location next to a DFO (Direct Factory Outlet) shopping complex is a bonus for the intrepid shopper!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper99Marcoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, CANADA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

I usually stayed with friends and relatives but I got a 50% off deal for the 2-bedroom apartment during Hilton's sale in January 2010 so I decided to try it out. Highlight of the stay was the absolutely glorious buffet breakfast. Too bad I didn't have enough time to enjoy it as I had to rush off for my morning flight. I had high hope for this hotel, yet after opening for one year the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf have yet to sort out some of the initial teething problems. There seems to be some minor problem with some of the furnishing and design choices, staff training and maintenance. Unfortunately it leaves me with a very mixed feelings during my short stay:

+ve
--Friendly and helpful concierge crew
--Very comfortable bed
--Crabtree and Evelyn tolieteries
--Nice big bathtub
--Excellent buffet breakfast, both in quantity and quality. Hanging honeycomb was a nice touch.
--Decent tapas at dinner service
--Walkable to downtown area. Took me 15 minute to walk to Southern Cross Station with two suitcases trailing behind me (however, that's because concierge staff gave me incorrect info about airport shuttle bus pick up as being unavailable at my time of departure)

-ve
--Ice cold (but efficient) male check in staff
--Housekeeping staff walked in to restock mini-fridge without even knocking. He apologized profusely but still...
--Microwave was the only thing to cook with in the 2-bedroom apartment?!
--Thick layer of dust under the coffee table.
--Alarm clock in master bedroom unplugged
--Broken reading light in master bedroom
--Broken nightlight in master en suite
--Flawed design for showerhead placement--my friend took a shower with the door closed and the bathroom was flooded because the water was shooting at the shower door which has a gap at the bottom, allowing water to drip out
--Wood veneer wall panel looks like a 3 star country motel
--What's with the monster reading light?!
--Extremely slow service by restaurant staff during dinner. We set down for 5 minutes with absolutely no one giving us any attention at all.
--TV system response was slow and crashed multiple times
--Very cheap stereo system--both in appearance and sound quality

As for recommendation, I'd give a reluctant yes since I got a good rate. Hope they can work out these issues.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Veggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

New hotel with great design in both the public areas and bedrooms.Only 5 minutes from crown casino and all of those fantastic restaurants on south bank.
Easy parking outside and very friendly staff, the breakfast buffet is one of the largest i have seen, rooms are very clean as you would expect from a new hotel, the only downside was the price of drinks in the bar...ouch.. but being melbourne there are plenty of watering holes nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,172 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,846 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing