We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Wonder it's ranked 3rd In Melbourne” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Wonder it's ranked 3rd In Melbourne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

Our main purpose for this stay was to have a location perfect for watching the New Year fireworks in Melbourne - and we succeeded.
On arrival we were given a receipt for the valet parking and asked whether we would be needing the car again that day.
We checked into the hotel on Wed 30th December and check in was smooth, efficient and friendly. We had booked a King Executive Club room and I asked if we could have a high floor room and got the explanation that the hotel has 19 floors; 18th & 19th floors are the apartments and we were on the 16th floor with a perfect view for the fireworks. We were told that the Executive Club was re-opening that day as it had been closed for a while. Our room rate included breakfast so we were told we had the option of eating breakfast either in the Executive Club which was more of a continental breakfast or the hotel restaurant where a full breakfast selection was available.
Much has been said about the hotel entrance/lobby. It is not glitzy at all but functional and uncluttered. A lot of dark wood has been used and I guess it's something that will appeal to some people and others would hate it. I found it peacefully comfortable.
Our room was clean and well prepared, I am in agreement with other reviewers that the bed is definitely sublime to sleep in. The bathrooms are quite large - separate large shower area, bath opposite the basin and seperate toilet area which also has the convenience of an extra phone, Towels were fresh and fluffy and bathroom amenities more than adequate - and replenished the next day.
An electric blind can be used to shut out the light from the floor to celing window and what was pleasing was that there were loads of electric plugpoints in the room. The rooms are an adequate size - with quite plain decor; my partner remarked that the room bordered on looking drab, but I did not have a problem as the room is complimented by the magnificent view of the Yarra River and the whole Southbank precinct.
A huge plus for the hotel is that the DFO complex is just a few steps away and we took advantage of the post Xmas sales at many of the stores.
There were always plenty taxis outside the hotel so for those wishing to get to the city centre or elsewhere that would not be a problem.
We asked if the hotel had dvd's to hook up to the TV and when we returned to our room the DVD player had already been connected. The TV needed to be rebooted and we called 'MAGIC' and someone was sent promptly and the problem sorted out.
If there was an area where the hotel was lacking it was the service in the Executive Club lounge. Whether it is due to a shortage of staff, or bad management - this facility lets the hotel down badly. Food was not replenished promptly, plates were not cleared for ages, when food was brought out there would be a queue of people waiting and by the time the queue ended the food had run out again. Spirits are not displayed and have to be ordered and obtained from another outlet so that service is quite slow. On New Year's Eve the room was total chaos but one kind of expects a slowdown when operating at 100% full capacity.
The breakfast in the restaurant was outstanding. Vast varieties of fruit, cereals, pastries and hot foods make this one of the best buffet breakfasts on offer in Melbourne. Omelettes are made to order as well as items like pancakes or waffles. Staff were always courteous, and friendly.
We looked at the gym which seemed a good facility with a large supply of clean towels available. It's a great pity the hotel has no swimming pool.
We ordered ice cream from room service which was delivered promptly.
We called MAGIC for a newspaper each morning which was delivered with lightning speed.
The valet parking service was efficient.
The room was cleaned timeously and perfectly - only issue was the milk containers for coffee were not replaced so we were short on the second morning.
Mini bar was well stocked.
Turndown service was good.
Check out was friendly and efficient and even being 1st January just after official check out time there was no queue when we went to check out.
All in all an excellent stay - it is always going to be difficult to maintain great service levels at a time like New Year's Eve but kudos go to the Staff and Management who definitely did an outstanding job. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    1,035
    243
    81
    35
See reviews for
442
1,239
202
1,189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

Stayed here for New Year's Eve 2009, and despite being fully booked, the staff performed admirably for the pressure they were under.

We stayed in a King Yarra Suite, with a few out towards the city and down the yarra river in both directions. Couldn't really see the bay but had a nice view of the city. The room was huge and spotlessly clean. Loved the huge bathroom with walk-in shower and bath with a window looking out. Bed was very comfortable.

We were allowed to check in an hour early, which was nice given they weren't able to offer late checkout because of the full capacity. There was a mix-up with the reservation (a mistake I had made) but the staff sorted it out instantly and with no hassle.

Access to the executive lounge was included, and it's great - lots of snacks and drinks available, and drinks and canapes put out in the evening. In the morning they do a MASSIVE breakfast, with anything you could possibly want for breakfast available. They even extended this to 12pm for New Year's, which was a nice touch, and we were able to check out from there too.

There were only a few negatives - one was the slightly rude doormen when entering the building late at night (was brusquely asked to show my hotel card to prove I was a guest when entering the building at about 1am with some food from outside the hotel).

The air conditioning didn't cope too well with full occupancy and 38 degree heat outside. It was 25 degrees in our room, which was okay, but not great, just mildly uncomfortable and we couldn't open the curtain (as it would let too much heat in). However reception did everything they could to help us and eventually it cooled down. Also, when we did open the curtain, it didn't open all the way...? Very strange.

And finally our room service took _forever_ to arrive - something like an hour and fifteen minutes, after being told it would take forty-five - and it was cold when it arrived. Very disappointing when it costs $75 for a sandwich, a burger, and some strawberries and ice cream!

However, on the whole, it's a great place to stay. They have some amazing offers on this year with 50% off on the weekend, so if you're able to get a good deal like that it's a steal. Even paying full price as we had to it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles4BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

I recently stayed at thsi new hotel in Melbourne. It must be the best kept secret in town. Great rooms and beds.

Be sure to check out the amazing restuarant which I have been to a number of times now. Excellent food and service!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

This hotel was a complete disappointment. Our only get together for years as a family for Christmas we decided to book this hotel for the convenience of location and expecting the usual Hilton experience as we were traveling from various parts of the globe. Please note that we travel globally and this review is the first I have ever done as I have never been so amazed and disappointed. It is completely understaffed and ill-managed and does not deserve the Hilton name. Breakfast was a complete disaster when eventually we were seated we were surrounded by dirty dishes on tables and couldn't even get a coffee from the waiting staff. We had to go down 3 times for breakfast on our last morning only to be told that it was closed, so we missed out on our already paid for breakfast. The air-conditioning is turned off in the middle of the night, you need to wait 2 hours for room-service, you are served out of date soft drinks in the bar, you have to wait until 5pm to have your room serviced, no mini-bar service, no bottled water in rooms, served gin and soda instead of tonic 3 times in bar and then told the tonic ran out the previous evening, told in the bar that we had to wait for service as there was somebody from Executive Club and the Executive Club Lounge was closed, your towels are not replaced despite the shower leaking all over the bathroom floor, I could go on, but I expect you get the drift. On the day that we departed just about everybody that left was angry and disgruntled. The staff actually working (as the General Manager was enjoying a public holiday) should not be subjected to this many complaints without the support of management. Never, ever again!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

The hotel is located next to the new Convention Centre on the South Bank of the Yarra River. It is within easy walking distance to Etihad Stadium, the free city circle tram and the Crown Casino. Floor to ceiling windows provide fantastic views from every room.

As this is a new hotel, our taxi driver had troubles locating it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flano_1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

My December 2009 stay in the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf was, overall, quite delightful. I was attending a conference at the Convention Centre for a full week, and the proximity of the hotel was a MAJOR benefit to me.

PROS:
* The facility is brand new, sleek, modern, hip, and sparkling clean.
* The interior design of the guest rooms is gorgeous. Floor to ceiling windows and beautifully designed bathrooms.
* Extremely comfortable bedding. I wanted to take the bed home with me!
* Immediately adjacent to the convention centre.
* Located right on the Yarra River.
* Staff really do seem to be trying quite hard to please.
* At $235 AUD per night, I felt the room itself was appropriately priced.

CONS:
* Internet access cost $30/day per computer. SHOCKING! And to add insult to injury, you can't just start using wireless. Nope, after paying a full $30 for 24 hours access, you must first be wired for at least an hour before you can switch to wireless, and then it only worked sometimes. Huh? Why make it so hard? Why charge so much?
* Other add-ons were also over-priced...e.g., $10 to get earphones to listen to music/TV in the fitness room. Most hotels provide these for free. On the other hand, there was no additional charge to use the fitness room.
* The lobby is dark. When you are walking toward the front door, you can only see silhouettes of people inside.
* The guest rooms are very very dark at night, with only accent lighting. Very annoying. Makes for a beautiful room, but very difficult to do anything that requires decent light.
* No gift shop; but then again there is a small "outlet mall" right next door.
* The comforters on the bed are strangely short.
* A guest room key is required to select your desired floor in the guest elevators. These keycard readers were continually malfunctioning. Guests were continually fumbling for keys. Guests have difficulty coming to your room.
* No public transportation *right* at the hotel. But if you can walk a few blocks, you can reach everything you need.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again. Hopefully they will reduce the cost of internet access. If they are able to maintain the hotel as it ages, it will remain a gem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vallelunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

It was a pleasure living in Hilton South Warf. the ultimate view of Melbourne city and Yarra river. The most comfortable bed we ever slept on and the best services from the staff and the hotel. it was one of the best experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing