We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pan Pacific Melbourne
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

First time staying at this hotel , great location and good food at the tapas bar.
Public areas are getting a little tired but rooms were good. Great bed linen and toiletries but very soft beds and pillows.
Where improvement could be made is service check in on a Saturday and two people were on the desk with two people just standing around at the concierge desk which is not a good look when you are standing for 10 mins plus.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jillyc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I appreciate your constructive feedback pertaining to your check-in and arrival experience; and we sincerely regret any inconvenience or delays caused on this occasion - Please be certain that I have shared your helpful comments with my Front Office Manager and his team for review.
However, I’m pleased you enjoyed the comfort and quality of your guestroom and your dining experience at Sotano Bar; and I do hope we will have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the near future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,246 - 2,252 of 3,835 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was really wonderful, the room was modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with a big bath and shower. The staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast was exceptional. We had a wonderful stay and the location was very good! right next to DFO and a quick taxi ride away from the Casino. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Many thanks for your review on Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

Great to see that you were very pleased with our facilities, services and location; and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I am a bit conflicted - the room is really dirty but the food has been above average. I am lucky to be here for a work trip so I can't complain about the price (work is paying) but it is probably the dirtiest five star hotel room I have stayed in... Carpet is not only tired but dirty, work desk is dusty and the phone has someone's leftover dinner on it. The lifts are filthy dirty... If it was a trip in with my family I would be complaining and asking for a different room. There are better to stay at in the CBD.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank JasonW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us about your recent stay.

I was very sorry to read about the poor cleanliness and condition of your room on this occasion which, I concur, is not representative of our five star standards and is most certainly a rare occurrence. You can be assured that our Housekeeping Manager has been informed of your important feedback for necessary action accordingly; however, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly with further information, such as your guestroom number, as we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address these issues more specifically. We deeply regret any disappointment caused during your stay, as a result.

Again, thank you very much for your time and feedback; and I do hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf at some stage in the future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The team at the Hilton South Wharf are by far one of the best at any hotels we’ve stayed around the world. We were only at the hotel for a weekend, which coincided with our wedding anniversary and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome.
The luxury of the rooms is outstanding, and felt larger than most king rooms we’ve slept in. The proximity to Melbourne is about 15-20 mins wallk or 5 minutes to the closest tram stop. Being out of the hustle and bustle of the CBD but close enough to get to the casino and restaurants made the stay just that little more relaxing.
The hotels tapas bar also offers excellent food at non-inflated prices. If you get there during happy hour it becomes even more affordable still, with the quality being outstanding all-round.
We’d highly recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the casino, the view is outstanding and great and night to watch the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online.

I greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf; and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Fantastic location on the river. Lovely room, clean , spacious, very comfortable bedding. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center and a huge factory outlet shopping centre (DFO) full of famous brands for reasonable prices, short stroll to all the trendy restaurants and bars. Very helpful friendly staff. We had access to the executive lounge where good breakfast, afternoon tea (minimal variety) and pre-dinner drinks and very nice canapés were served. We enjoyed our short getaway and would definitely return. This place has something for everyone- great choice for business travel , romance or girls weekend away .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for posting your review about your recent experience.

It is gratifying for us to receive your wonderful feedback and I hope you will return to Hilton South Wharf on your next 'getaway' to Melbourne.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Nice spacious room. Very comfortable bed. Spacious bathroom with shower and bath. Solid 5 star hotel. Well equipped gym although all the treadmills are squeaky and need a good service. Quick check in and check out process. The whole area is gathering a vibe. I prefer to explore rather than eat in hotels. At least 20 bars and eateries nearby, along the river. Good value. I had a sub $200 deal for a King bed room.

Room Tip: I always book online and look at room pics first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read about your enjoyable experience and that you were pleased with the overall comfort and design of your guestroom. I have also noted your comments regarding the treadmills, which we will work to rectify accordingly, and appreciate your feedback, thank you.

We all look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

i had to stay in this hilton right now for 3 days,just on my way to hong kong. i knew this hilton already and i like the location.it is just a 10 minute stroll from either flinders street station,the eureka tower or souther cross on the other side of the yarra river.
only a 5 minute walk to the crown casino (no free drinks like in vegas ,frown!!!) and all the nice fancy restaurantts on the yarra bank....and still i dont get how a pizza can cost 65 us but....melbourne :)
the hotel is an average hilton with no special highlights.the valets were extremely polite (something new wheen you come from the us:) and concierge and receptionists as well. i got my upgrade,being hilton honors diamond member and all the amenities but was shocked when i saw the bill. 329 us per day ??? just too much for a hilton.i remember i pay like 129 for the lax hilton or even only 99 us for the chicago lakefront hilton.but okay,australia is very expensive.
the rooms were modern,nice river and harbour views and pretty clean.
just adjacent to the hotel a nice mall with a recommendable food court.very,very good asian fast food !!!
the breakfast at the hotel had a healthy choice of cereals and fruit.well done.
the wifi signal in the lobby (very windy inside) is free, but being hh member i got wifi as amenity as well in the room.
a solid 4 star hilton with one negative point : the rate ! wow !!!

Room Tip: top floor with yarra river views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

Great to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at our hotel and surrounding areas; and I have also noted your comments regarding the rate on which you had booked for your stay. Whilst our hotel's rates are very much in line with other 5-star hotels in Melbourne's CBD, we do appreciate your views and opinions which help us monitor whether we are meeting our guests' expectations; and thank you again for your feedback.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#85 of 161 in Melbourne
1,559 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,969 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
8,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Melbourne

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $142 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Melbourne will feature 396 rooms and suites, with floor to ceiling windows that offer panoramic views of the Yarra River, Port Phillip Bay and city, complete with thoughtfully appointed amenities and modern furnishings. Guests will be able to choose from two dining outlets, an all-day-dining restaurant and bar which offers international cuisine and a nightcap in the evening, or a more relaxed cafe setting for a light meal or quick coffee. Refresh your senses at the end of a long day with our wellness facilities, including a well-equipped 24-hour fitness centre. With over 400 square metres of versatile meeting space and its proximity to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Pan Pacific Melbourne will be an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pan Pacific Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing