We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great attention to detail - superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail - superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived at 13h30 and were pleased to find the room available, and also impressed by the amenities. Only downside was the lack of free Wi-Fi in the room - its available downstairs without charge, but AUD25 a day in your room!
Fabulous Tapas menu in the bar was available throughout the day, and the pleasant but very sparsely-populated main dining room had an excellent menu, superb service and fairly reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Higher up the better for noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketmanGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the Team looked after you well.
We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    911
    215
    75
    28
See reviews for
376
1,091
188
1,031
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed just the one night here for a conference at the convention centre next door. Yes, the decor in this hotel may not be to everyone's liking as it is quite dark, however I found it to be actually quite relaxing and serene. I had a standard king room and it was just fantastic. The bed was like nothing I've ever slept on before and I'm just sad that a late night at the conference dinner meant that I didn't get to spend more time in it. The floor to ceiling window gave a wonderful view, the bathroom was lovely and well stocked, the mini bar had everything you could ask for. The location of this hotel is great, the convention centre is next door but on the other side is the south wharf DFO with amazing shopping to be had. At the base of the building there is a mini mart with groceries and liquor which I found very convenient also. The only issue here with the location is that it's difficult to access via public transport which is probably something that Melbourne planners should consider further when locating a new Convention Centre and of course is no fault of the hotel. The breakfasts here were expensive however quite reasonable on the corporate rate.... and wow, the breakfast buffet was incredible, the likes of which I have only ever seen before in 5 star resorts in the Pacific Islands - including an egg chef, pastries, hot buffet, delicatessen etc. etc. well worth it! Anyway, if you've got the money to spend, then I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Servicewithasmile83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

Safe travels, Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is modern, very clean, good location, amazing views. My husband and I were there last Friday and got upgraded to a better view room for free, it was our wedding anniversary and the hotel provided us with champagne, roses and strawberries at no extra cost. The rooms and bathroom are not too big but its good size, the beds and pillows are very comfortable. we haven't been to the pool yet.
This is the second time we stayed at this hotel and we will be back for sure. I totally recommend it for the price

Room Tip: Views to Yarra river are incredible at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Setford2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your special night away with us and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Always a pleasure to stay at Hilton South Wharf. Beautiful rooms with great views and the beds are the most comfortable you'll find. Conveniently situated right next door to the DFO, which is an added bonus! I really enjoyed my meal at the Hilton restaurant also.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank espresso_on_the_run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The experience was excellent as expected from Hilton. The location was perfect as everything from bars, exhibition centre and shopping complex were in easy walking distance. The Hotel does not have a pool or spa, but makes up for it with a good gymnasium. Staff were very friendly and the restaurant staff were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

See you soon.
Regards,
Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great bed, excellent block out blinds (though finding the controls is a challenge (they are under the aircon), unfortunately it is just another business hotel in Melbourne. Did not get an opportunity to eat or drink there due to other commitments however did find the choice of eateries on the south wharf perfect for my needs. Convenient to my South Bank office and I was able to walk to and from each day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you ever so much for all your support and loyalty.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had an executive suite, and was impressed, the views were fantastic from all rooms.
Biggest bathroom I have seen, lie in the bath with views of the ocean.
Best beds for comfort.
All staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.
Walk to anywhere, casino 5 mins away.
Shopping heaven with huge DFO next door!

Only negative hotel restaurant , definitely not value for money.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 18 th floor, views spectacular .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,402 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,922 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing