We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Room, best I have ever stayed in!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sensational Room, best I have ever stayed in!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My gosh, I was blown away by the "suite" that we were upgraded too. Arrived at South Warf. Paid $20 parking adjacent to the hotel (make sure you get your ticket validated at the hotel for this price). This was the cheapset option as it was $50 for valet. Good and efficient service at recption and a great suprise to hear we had been updraded to a suite on level 5. 3 seperate areas in the room, 2 tvs, awesome bathroom, shower and tub. Most beautiful views from nearly every angle of the room. These were gorgeous at night as you could see the city lights as you were in bed. Big comfy king bed and lots of new modern magazines to read. We stayed for breakfast in the morning, and it was sensational. Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was excellent. Only disapointment for us was that we had to check out so early to go to work or have time to utilise the in room spa treatments. We wil sta here again for sure!!

Room Tip: Great place to stay if you need to get to Etihad, short walk, great bars, shopping and restaurants v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearbinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    1,073
    257
    87
    39
See reviews for
474
1,310
209
1,252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was my third stay at Hilton South Wharf. It is ideal if you are attending an event at the Exhibition Centre as it is next door. It has South Whaft shopping centre adjacent also, but overall it is a top quality hotel regardless of those conveniences. Rooms are spacious and really nice, super comfortable bed and great room toiletries. Often has art exhibitions in the lobby and the breakfast and lobby spaces are great for meetings. Always easy to get a taxi too which is useful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Overall, considering the relatively bargain price paid I'd say that is exactly what I'd expect of a brand like Hilton. I was only there for one night but the bedding was very comfortable, the room was certainly large enough and the bathroom with separate shower and bath was very good indeed. There was not much not to like about this hotel for a business overnight stop in Melbourne. The in-room dining options could have been a bit more, especially for dinner but the food was nice.
Don't have much more to say really other than it met my expectation in terms of quality etc and we got a great rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crui5erFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Hilton South Wharf for attending a conference at the Exhibition Centre next to the hotel for five nights. We arrived at night and the check in was smooth. The reception staff was nice and helpful. As there were four of us, we paid extra, on top of the conference rate to upgrade ourselves to the two bedrooms suite on the 19th floor with executive lounge access. The suite had a king bedded room, a twin bedded room, two bathrooms, and a spacious living room with fully equiped kitchenette. There were two TVs in the suites. It was spacious and very clean. The best suite we had stayed in so far.
The executive lounge was nice and provided free wifi for guests ( a pity there was no free wifi in the suite). Continental breakfast and snacks served were fine but lacking variety. Free alcoholic beverages were served at night.
Location of the hotel was great. It was located next to exhibition centre, along the River Yarra. Many nice eateries and the Crown Casino were a stone throw away. Walking to the city centre was possible (about 25minutes walk to Swanston St) but for those who preferred not to walk , could easily just cross the river and catch the free city trams to the city centre. There was also a shopping mall next to hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend anyone who wishes to visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleekVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

We stayed in Hilton Melbourne South Wharf hotel during our trip in Melbourne between Nov.21 till Dec.7. The hotel restaurant in the first floor is excellent, not just the food, more impressive is the whole morning breakfast crew team, especially Manasvi and Silvia. Their thoughtful professional services, warm and sweet hospitality, etc... made our trip so differently. Our 4 years old daughter Zoe was getting so touched with them that made her did not want to leave at the end of our stay. She even received her early Christmas gifts from both Manasvi (a cute pink teddybear) and Silvia (a lovely pencil box).
What an unforgettable trip!!!
Thank you the whole morning breakfast crew!!
& Thank you Manasvi and Silvia!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and my team looked after you well.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Check in staff were like robots. I'm a diamond member and got no benefits. No upgrade as apparently there was no availability. And I was put into a 2x single bed room. the receptionist wouldn't give lounge access. I asked to see a manager and then he gave the access. I mean if u change the room type and can't upgrade me, fair enough but lounge access is a compensation for being a loyal member...... Anyways, Expect to pay $50 for valet parking and then wait 40minutes to get the car. On the upside the lounge has great food, just make sure u ask for hard liquor as they keep it hidden. Bathrooms are nice in the rooms but overall I'd go elsewhere next time. Not a winner.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,
Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Lobby was very beautiful, We we very impressed until we got off the elevator. The hallway was very dirty carpet never vacuumed We got to our room and it was nice but not impressed I was expecting wow factor especially after paying $550 odd dollars for one night stay. This hotel is at best a 3 star hotel very expensive for not much value There is no Balcony so if you want a smoke you have to go down the elevator to main lobby and out the front where there are 30 drunk teens waiting for a cab I was hassled by a guy who was convinced I was someone I wasn't which was not pleasant. not a great spot for a cab rank full of drunk people

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
I sincerely apologize for the disappointment regarding our rooms not having balconies and also with the condition of our hallways. I can assure you I will be discussing this in detail with our Executive Housekeeper.

Once again, thank you for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,486 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,296 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,902 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
1,452 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing