We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton South Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Hilton South Wharf”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Frikkin awesome!! A friend and I stayed in the Yarra suite which was on the 16th floor, we had amazing views over the river and city, both amazing at night and day. Huge space. Most comfy bed ever felt like feathers.. All staff were very helpful and always smiled, hotel was beautiful and we would definitely come back. only things I probably would say is having to pay for internet in the room because I wasn't a silver or gold member.. that was very disappointing. And I didn't realise how far it would be to walk to the city centre (for me) esp with how hot it got somedays or with the rain on other days- be prepared for the weather if your on foot. But other than that perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    1,073
    257
    87
    39
See reviews for
474
1,310
209
1,252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mornington, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

excellent location, very clean. have stayed here a few times, will go back again. booked for 5 however room set up for 4. luckily we noticed soon after we arrived else someone would have been a towel short for their shower and no cup for their coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Safe travels…Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

One of the better hotels I've stayed at during corporate travel. Excellent well appointed rooms, good service. Right next to the Convention Centre, but a bit of a walk where the action is. The auto checkout was a nice touch. No free wifi was a little disappointing. Other than that, was quite impressed

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarrickCondren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I am glad you enjoy staying with us. Thank you for all your loyalty and support of this hotel and the Hilton Brand

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels.
Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I normally stay at the GH or the Park Hyatt which used to be my favourite. when they get too expensive I move to the Hilton on the park but had a conference at south wharf last week.
On checkin as Diamond automatically upgraded to Relaxation suite , the club was well fitted out and the food and wine selection was very good. I loved the outdoor section and the club service was exceptional.They gavce me 3pm checkout and all in all every member of the team treated me special.I will not want to stay anywhere else again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank auslegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very good clean and professional only concern in obtaining taxis as the taxi rank is just up the road and folk get onto them first before the hotel. Make sure you book one if in a hurry to airport etc.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you ever so much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have personally discussed your comment regarding the Taxi Rank with our Concierge Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Thank you for your time.
Safe travels….Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

First impressions always make a difference. Upon arrival on the previous 2 stays I have been greeted with an attitude from reception like they were doing me a favour checking me in.

With reference tithe title:Hilton south wharf do not, I repeat do not and will not partake on Hilton honors specials and bonuses. Case in point the q4 promotion. Beware, this tight hotel has opted out.

Not only have they opted out of this but also gold Hilton honors will not receive an upgrade to exec Lounge, irrespective of how busy it is, unless a view deluxe expensive room category is booked. Well done Hilton SOuth Wharf, you've lost a frequent customer to your direct competition who are more than willing to treat their customers like people not numbers.

So in all, they opt in for some, they opt out for others- common theme? The guest loses on both occasions. I refer to my first sentence. You lose and you're made to feel this way from the very beginning.

#travel.blog# "Hilton Melbourne South Wharf loses loyalty customers"

Room Tip: Stay at the Crown, better everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelReviewGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Thank you for your time.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very comfortable room. Two bedroom suite provided extra space for the family. Kitchen facilities were limited - really a place to reheat. Fantastic views of Melbourne CBD. Close to DFO, restaurants, casino.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Togg_thecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels
Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,486 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,296 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,903 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
1,452 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing