We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, clean & comfortable. Staff need educating on customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful hotel, clean & comfortable. Staff need educating on customer service.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the night of our wedding.... ( October 5th) Whilst the hotel itself was beautiful and the room was amazing the man that checked us in was an absolute idiot - we arrive there only to be told without a credit card we cannot go in - we just got married and didn't even have $1 on us let alone a credit card - whilst standing in my gown and my husband in his suit his saying " I can't do nothing for you until you give me a card" I understand this is protocol but for gods sake! What annoyed us even more we checked in our bags on the Friday and were told this will be in your room upon arrival and we won't need anything else - well our bags weren't in the room and it took them 1 hour to find them.... It took my husband to go back down and help them look for it... You can now only image what time it is....

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Just needs a little more organisation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,
Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,139
    1,056
    253
    83
    37
See reviews for
459
1,286
204
1,225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This Hilton is in the middle of a newly developed district straddling the Yarra river, just south of the CBD. I arrived for a conference and a delightful 2 night stay.

The hotel is modern and yet comfortable. Every member of the staff that I encountered was friendly, helpful and efficient. My large room was designed in a way that looks great and yet was wonderfully functional, something that doesn’t always happen in new hotels. Little things have been clearly thought through, like the shower drain located in the rear of the shower, preventing water from the doorless-shower flooding the bathroom floor. Recessed reading lights look great, and work well. The closets are large and allow for long hanging clothes. The desk is comfortable and contains adequate power points as well as a desk lamp. A bedside switch turns on a bathroom night light, to the relief, I’m sure, of the guest who isn’t woken in the night by their partner using the bathroom.
The bed is large and comfortable and the heating/air conditioning works well.

I enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant which featured a large and interesting selection of foods and drinks, including a “make your own juice” machine.

The hotel is conveniently connected to the conference centre.

This is a hotel that gets most everything right and seems genuinely pleased to have you stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your 10/10 review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's first time to visit Hilton hotel at Melbourne south wharf,even about $400 for one night and it is worth. beautiful view,friendly service,sleepy well...etc and that's why it's excellent hotel in the world !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Shih-Wei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your 10/10 review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights whilst in Melbourne for a Conference. We were very impressed with this Hotel. I have stayed in many Hiltons around the world and this was one of the better ones. The location is fantastic, South Warf is a great location with many bars and restaurants locally.

The hotel is very well presented, we had a standard room with one king bed. It was clean and large with a great bathroom. The service from the hotel staff was prompt and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your 10/10 review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at Hilton South Wharf from 9th to 12th October. The location was great and it was a short walk from the DFO, Crown Casino Complex and Flinder's street station. The room was lovely and all the staff I encountered were warm and friendly. Special mention goes to Eric and another gentleman on duty with him on 10th October at about 7.15 am. They saw that I have been waiting for the tour bus for some time and kindly called the tour company for me. All in all, I had a great experience and would definitely return to this hotel on my future trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your 1
0/10 review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The reception staff were great, we were served by a trainee who looked after us really well. (first impressions can make of break a stay, as you can see by other posts).
The room was booked through a online booking service and that did not cause any issues.
The room was a West facing room on the 13 floor, has good view to the SouthWest over Port Melbourne, could watch the ships come and go. A view to the West over the Westgate bridge and out to the You Yangs and a view down onto the Yarra River, across to the Docklands area and Mount Macedon in the distance.
The bed a was a king size and very comfortable and the pillows were fine for me.
A big shower with a separate bath and a shut the door toilet cubicle.
A flat screen TV with all the usual channels, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities
There are plenty of eating places on South Wharf and the Crown Casino area is close by (a short walk). The DFO shops are next door. You can walk into the CBD via the Crown precinct always lots of people around, we felt safe. It is also a short walk to the Docklands area and there are plenty of eating options there, the walk back at night in the dark might be a bit long.
The hotel has a parking discount for the carpark out the front of the hotel, there is also a carpark on the North side of the river, check their web site for overnight rates.
You will need to use your card to use the lifts, to open your room door and to switch the lights/power so get two cards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTPTCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Close to the South Bank action without the crowds.
lovely restaurants and bars nearby and not crowded. Easy walk up to South bank and casino etc. Lovely room and bath. Hotel lobby nice and staff helpfull.
close to Southern cross for airport bus.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing