We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is alright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pan Pacific Melbourne
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The hotel is alright”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, you can walk along the river and there's plenty going on in the area. The staff friendly enough. The rooms were fine, although the entrance / lobby was a little dark with minimal natural light.

My room rate had breakfast included, and the breakfast was excellent with a great choice of food. Not just the typical bacon & eggs, but nice fruits, salmon etc,etc.

Compared to other hotels the price was average.

One negative, I used the express check-out and asked to have the final invoice emailed to me, it never arrived. So you may want to check out the old way!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

I appreciate your rating and comments and have discussed them with my Team. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding the express checkout. I will personally follow this up with our Front Office Manager. Thank you again for your time.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,192
    1,074
    257
    87
    39
See reviews for
475
1,311
209
1,253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my first stay at a Hilton hotel, was on Sat 7th Sept in the city view room, arrived around 11.30am and was pleasant to know that my room was already good to check into. I must say the view was amazing - the floor to ceiling windows did the view justice, and was worth the extra walk due to the location, which enabled the great view. In the morning you can see the sun rise and the room fills up with light :) The ambience of the hotel (furnishings/colour scheme) was really nice and comtemporary and fitted the brand's image.
I had in-room breakfast and ordered the full breakfast which included the continental b/f plus cooked plate. When the waiter brought the food in and left the room, he came back a few minutes later with the cooked mushrooms that was left behind. While eating I realised a few items were missing from the continental b/f - juice, fruit salad and pot of hot chocolate. I called the MAGIC line to advise of the issue, and the waiter came up in less than 10 mins and apologised again for the oversight. I wasn't greatly bothered by the issue (was too relaxed), however it would have been nice if it didn't happen in the first place and more attention to detail was given to the order.
Regarding the eStandby upgrade service, which I paid $19 for a higher floor on level 14; it would have been nice to know which floor my room was originally booked for, just for my own peace of mind that the paid upgrade was backed up by some sort of proof i guess
Overall my stay was very good and the city/river views are definitely a highlight of the hotel and I don't think any other hotel can match in this regard. Although it may be a tad further walk from the cbd, I didn't mind it and was a good chance to take in more sights along the way anyway :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I appreciate your rating and comments and have discussed them with my Team. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment and delay with your In Room Dining Breakfast. I will personally follow this up with our Food & Beverage Manager. Thank you again for your time.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Hilton on numerous of occassions, but this time was made even more special by Josh.
Josh looked after our check in and could not have been more accomodating.
We were upgraded due to our Hilton Honors, then given a late check (2pm) and breakfast was thrown in as well.
Josh was also there when we checked out, he remembered us from the day before. He was very pleasant and is a credit to the Hilton.
Thanks again Josh we will be back.
Oh I forget he also gave 2 drink vouchers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezza57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your weekend away with us and Josh looked after you well. I will certainly pass on your feedback to him personally.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon…safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed on our recent girl trip to Melbourne to see Pink! The hotel was amazing. The service we received upon arrival just getting out of taxi was enough let alone fro reception! There were 4 of us staying and we had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite, beautifully decorated and so clean!. the beds were amazing to sleep in, room service was divine. Then to top it all off we were right next to DFO. What more could a girl want!! highly recommend for location and service!

Room Tip: Have stayed in hotel room and 2 bedroom suite and highly recommend both
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cemon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your all girls weekend away!! We are most certainly are at the best spot in the city for some retail therapy & relaxation! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We took advantage of the reduced priced upgrade option (to a Yarra Suite) when completing the original on-line booking and ended up with an amazing suite, within which we could easily have parked the motor home that we had just toured the Great Ocean Road in, The full hight windows ran the length of the lounge space offering stunning views up, down and across the Yarra with the city skyline illuminated at night, whilst the bedroom and bathroom provided views out to the sea. We only stayed the one night, but the upgrade made it a fantastically relaxing experience, with some very pleasant food and drinks in the executive lounge thrown in. My only small criticism would be that this is the only Executive Lounge I have used recently that has prevented us from taking a drink back to our room, which seems unnecessarily draconian, and inhospitable. Otherwise staff where helpful, friendly and the hotel was clean and stylish - much more than you might expect from a Hilton which can be such an inconsistent brand.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite using the on-line upgrade option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wentworth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton -South Wharf for a girls weekend away and had a very enjoyable time. DFO shopping centre next door, easy walk to casino and southbank for evening festivities and there's always happy hour drinks in the hotel bar! Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your all girls weekend away!! We are most certainly are at the best spot in the city for some retail therapy & relaxation! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July for work. The hotel is located at the Convention Centre, next to DFO, and only a short walk to the Crown Casino. Although the hotel is very new, clean and modern, I thought the rooms were quite average - mainly due to its size and minimal furnishings. In saying that, the bed and was definitely one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced and the pillows were absolutely perfect! I have tried to find these pillows everywhere but have had no luck.
This is a good hotel for business, but probably not so much for leisure as it is about a 20minute walk to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your review.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,488 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,297 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,906 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
1,452 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Melbourne

Property: Pan Pacific Melbourne
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Melbourne will feature 396 rooms and suites, with floor to ceiling windows that offer panoramic views of the Yarra River, Port Phillip Bay and city, complete with thoughtfully appointed amenities and modern furnishings. Guests will be able to choose from two dining outlets, an all-day-dining restaurant and bar which offers international cuisine and a nightcap in the evening, or a more relaxed cafe setting for a light meal or quick coffee. Refresh your senses at the end of a long day with our wellness facilities, including a well-equipped 24-hour fitness centre. With over 400 square metres of versatile meeting space and its proximity to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Pan Pacific Melbourne will be an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pan Pacific Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing