We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“views are great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off*
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“views are great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my first stay at a Hilton hotel, was on Sat 7th Sept in the city view room, arrived around 11.30am and was pleasant to know that my room was already good to check into. I must say the view was amazing - the floor to ceiling windows did the view justice, and was worth the extra walk due to the location, which enabled the great view. In the morning you can see the sun rise and the room fills up with light :) The ambience of the hotel (furnishings/colour scheme) was really nice and comtemporary and fitted the brand's image.
I had in-room breakfast and ordered the full breakfast which included the continental b/f plus cooked plate. When the waiter brought the food in and left the room, he came back a few minutes later with the cooked mushrooms that was left behind. While eating I realised a few items were missing from the continental b/f - juice, fruit salad and pot of hot chocolate. I called the MAGIC line to advise of the issue, and the waiter came up in less than 10 mins and apologised again for the oversight. I wasn't greatly bothered by the issue (was too relaxed), however it would have been nice if it didn't happen in the first place and more attention to detail was given to the order.
Regarding the eStandby upgrade service, which I paid $19 for a higher floor on level 14; it would have been nice to know which floor my room was originally booked for, just for my own peace of mind that the paid upgrade was backed up by some sort of proof i guess
Overall my stay was very good and the city/river views are definitely a highlight of the hotel and I don't think any other hotel can match in this regard. Although it may be a tad further walk from the cbd, I didn't mind it and was a good chance to take in more sights along the way anyway :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I appreciate your rating and comments and have discussed them with my Team. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment and delay with your In Room Dining Breakfast. I will personally follow this up with our Food & Beverage Manager. Thank you again for your time.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    911
    215
    75
    29
See reviews for
376
1,090
187
1,031
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Hilton on numerous of occassions, but this time was made even more special by Josh.
Josh looked after our check in and could not have been more accomodating.
We were upgraded due to our Hilton Honors, then given a late check (2pm) and breakfast was thrown in as well.
Josh was also there when we checked out, he remembered us from the day before. He was very pleasant and is a credit to the Hilton.
Thanks again Josh we will be back.
Oh I forget he also gave 2 drink vouchers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mezza57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your weekend away with us and Josh looked after you well. I will certainly pass on your feedback to him personally.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon…safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed on our recent girl trip to Melbourne to see Pink! The hotel was amazing. The service we received upon arrival just getting out of taxi was enough let alone fro reception! There were 4 of us staying and we had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite, beautifully decorated and so clean!. the beds were amazing to sleep in, room service was divine. Then to top it all off we were right next to DFO. What more could a girl want!! highly recommend for location and service!

Room Tip: Have stayed in hotel room and 2 bedroom suite and highly recommend both
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cemon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your all girls weekend away!! We are most certainly are at the best spot in the city for some retail therapy & relaxation! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We took advantage of the reduced priced upgrade option (to a Yarra Suite) when completing the original on-line booking and ended up with an amazing suite, within which we could easily have parked the motor home that we had just toured the Great Ocean Road in, The full hight windows ran the length of the lounge space offering stunning views up, down and across the Yarra with the city skyline illuminated at night, whilst the bedroom and bathroom provided views out to the sea. We only stayed the one night, but the upgrade made it a fantastically relaxing experience, with some very pleasant food and drinks in the executive lounge thrown in. My only small criticism would be that this is the only Executive Lounge I have used recently that has prevented us from taking a drink back to our room, which seems unnecessarily draconian, and inhospitable. Otherwise staff where helpful, friendly and the hotel was clean and stylish - much more than you might expect from a Hilton which can be such an inconsistent brand.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite using the on-line upgrade option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wentworth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton -South Wharf for a girls weekend away and had a very enjoyable time. DFO shopping centre next door, easy walk to casino and southbank for evening festivities and there's always happy hour drinks in the hotel bar! Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your all girls weekend away!! We are most certainly are at the best spot in the city for some retail therapy & relaxation! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July for work. The hotel is located at the Convention Centre, next to DFO, and only a short walk to the Crown Casino. Although the hotel is very new, clean and modern, I thought the rooms were quite average - mainly due to its size and minimal furnishings. In saying that, the bed and was definitely one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced and the pillows were absolutely perfect! I have tried to find these pillows everywhere but have had no luck.
This is a good hotel for business, but probably not so much for leisure as it is about a 20minute walk to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your review.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here in July with a friend.

Greeted when entering the hotel, room wasn't available as we arrived early in the morning. Told to leave our bags in the luggage room and they would ring us when the room was ready. No more than 2 hours later did they call.

Arrived back at the hotel. Checked in. Room was up on the 9th floor. Our bags had already been taken up and put in the room.

The cleanliness of the room was impeccable. The bathroom and bed were divine. Actually never slept on a softer bed. Perfect!

Didn't get to head to the Executive Lounge, but the hotel and lobby was well maintained and clean. Though the only problem that I found was the hotel corridor and room doors were marked significantly on our rooms floor. A minor problem, just made it feel a little less cleaner.

Check out was painless.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,390 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,129 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing