We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton on the South Wharf for 2 days on the 19th floor in a 2 bedroom apartment rooms had an excellent view over the wharf ...the harbour was in the distance and you could see the helicopters land on a helipad close to the Hotel.

We had access to the executive lounge which was a great bonus we had our breakfast there and also snacks and drinks in the evening. the staff were very friendly and helpful.
There was a carpark facing the hotel which you received a discount for and the city was a short, pleasant walk along the wharf.

I would certainly stay at this H|otel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs59000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your 10/10 review.
Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    941
    219
    75
    30
See reviews for
388
1,116
189
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton South Wharf for four nights and loved it. The minute I walked in, I was greeted by bell boys & concierge. The reception staff were friendly & helpful.

I had booked a deal through wotif and got a great deal for the City View King room. The room was very lovely. Didn't think it would be big enough but it was a perfect size. The view was amazing! Could sit and watch it forever :)
Bathroom very gorgeous & big. Black-out blinds are wonderful but can be dangerous if you don't have an alarm set! :P
Bed is like a marshmallow!! Loved it and didn't want to leave! :)
Ordered room service late one night and was delicious. Perfect if you are hungry but don't want to brave the cold to get something.
At first, I thought the location was abit far away but realised that it's only a 10min walk to trams/cbd. I found that I prefer this over being in a hotel in the middle of the city, with all the noise

Would definitely return here! Loved every minute of staying here :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaaCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review!
I am so glad you enjoyed the Hilton hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms: comfortable and well designed; I found the bed very comfortable – just did not want to get out of it in the morning; a beautiful bathroom with a walk-in shower and a bathtub.

Excellent breakfast selection and service, including a ‘make your own juice’ station – plenty of choices; all beautifully presented.

Service: friendly and efficient as mentioned by previous reviewers.

I have some reservations about the HHonors Gold benefits recognition, including upgrades and executive lounge access – these were promptly resolved in my case following an exchange of emails; I am not sure if this is specific to Hilton hotels in this part of the world or a sign of the continuing devaluation of the scheme/loyalty recognition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your 10/10 experience with your fellow travelers.

I’m so glad you enjoyed you stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss details about your experience with our Hilton HHonors Loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have recently spent a few days at this hotel. It is located in the very large DFO shopping complex at South Wharf Melbourne a great location if you like shopping. . It is also near the boardwalk next to the Convention Centre which is near the Crown Casino. It is about a 10 minute walk to the casino and where you are able to catch any number of trams which are very frequent.

The rooms are quite large and the decor is very modern. If you require Internet from your room, you pay although free WiFi internet is available in the lobby area only and there is an area set aside for guests to do this, however it was a nightmare to try and log on initially. Even the Conceirge tried to help saying we did not need a password - however the message kept saying that you do. We gave up a couple of times that we tried to log on as per their instructions. However there was another free WiFi option available (HH - Public) which is what we used - it only gives you two hours at a time, but that would be more than enough for most people. I would have thought that for the price you pay for a room (in excess of $300 per day - room only) internet would be included. It is a wonder in this day and age of technology that hotels just don't include this as standard. Some do, most don't.

The room had a flat screen TV which was also seemed to have an issue with reception - some channels kept breaking up to the point we turned it off. The next day we tried again, and it was ok. So it was hit and miss with the TV. As we were out most of the time anyway, it wasn't that much of an issue for us. Again, I feel that for the price paid for the room, we should not have had this issue at all. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was huge, with separate bath, shower and toilet areas. Could not fault the room at all, very clean and with good quality bathroom items.

We did eat breakfast in the hotel - it was very well set out - lots of choices from their all you can eat buffet and the food was very tasty and well cooked. No complaints there. I notice that if you had to pay for it, the price is $37 per head. We felt that this was extremely expensive for what you got, so we were pleased it was included in our stay.

If you arrive by car, the hotel will charge you $50 for them to park it. Otherwise you can park in the public paying car park across the road.

In a nutshell - great hotel with staff very friendly and helpful in a good location if you like shopping or are there on business - but way overpriced for what you got compared to other hotels - ie you don't get any extras apart from the room. And to top it all off, as you need to provide your credit card, they also add an additional 1.5% surcharge on top of your bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

I appreciate your feedback rating and comments. On behalf of my Team I would like to sincerely apologize for the disappointment you experienced with regards to pricing at our hotel. I can assure you that all our products and services are competitively priced. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.

Thank you again for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The gym only has one rower, absolutely unacceptable will never stay here again!
Jokes, everyone that complains about this hotel or has a gripe is flat out crazy... It might seem expensive but you get what you pay for.. The service, facilities and rooms are excellent. The executive lounge is most worth the extra money (and that's coming from two uni students). While the location is not smack bang in the middle of the cbd, everything is so accessible that it's not a problem.

If you fancy a cocktail, see dom (or don?) in the bar, he will look after you.
Highly reccomend this hotel when visiting Melbourne :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dellcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your 10/10 experience with your fellow travelers.

I’m so glad you enjoyed you stay with us. Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A most amazing hotel. We were treated like royalty. The comfort of the bed and pillows was outstanding. The rooms with city view are worth paying the extra for. Top service. Top hotel. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review.

Glad you had a good night rest.

Hope to see you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an overnight family stay with the purpose of shopping at DFO one day and seeing a show at Hisense arena on the next. The rooms were clean, large and modern. But what I mostly wanted to mention was how wonderful the staff were with our 6 year old and 10 year old.
Our room had a full bath, which is a bonus with kids, the view was amazing, the beds were comfortable. At dinner the kids were treated so well, including made to feel important when ordering (the kids menu was great), given a treat bag after dinner, and even taken to the coffee machine for a barrister lesson! At breakfast they were made the most gorgeous hot chocolates with bear faces on the top. The hotel is a short distance from the city and Southbank, however we walked to Flinders street station comfortably in 25 minutes. There is a tram stop only a short distance. The kids raved about this hotel, and we would happily stay here again.
We booked through expedia and got a great price including breakfast. The hotel parking is $50 which is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us!!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,603 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,911 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,280 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing