We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location, Great Concierges, Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Concierges, Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

One would think that South Bank is off the scene, but no. That is where all happens, and if you want to go downtown a little tram across the bridge or next to the Casino (Crown Fires) is within 4min walking distance.

The concierges are like in a 5* hotel, they know everything and they help you will every detail. Well done.

The hotel itself is modern has all services possible, with one little default... and I really wonder why they did not think of putting a swimming pool (outdoor of course) into this hotel.

All the rest, I can only say, this is hotel is my Melbourne hotel for future stays.

Room Tip: Room with a view on the Crown Fires
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploreBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the 10/10 review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,992
    999
    237
    79
    34
See reviews for
428
1,193
199
1,151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne VIC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Decided to try this hotel out based on reviews, location and expected views.....
Chose a weekend - Fri and Sat night. Originally booked an Executive room which provides lounge access and a view. Called 24hrs prior to checkin to ask about upgrade to "Relaxation Suite" and was advised $275+ extra per night. Given that the Executive room we had booked was only marginally cheaper than what was being listed on wot-if - there was no value in making the change.
On arriving at the hotel, I asked the same question and was offered an upgrade price of $160 per night....which I took because I wanted to experience it. Interesting to note the change in 24hrs.
Room Negatives:
Relaxation Room - I have no idea where they came up with the name for this room. The main relaxation feature in this room (apart from a separated bedroom area) is the View. And the bed.
No IPod dock, no cds to put in the outdated LG cd/raido/tape (yes cassette tape) player, no spa, no aroma therapy, uncomfortable furniture.... hardly "relaxation" when used as a selling point!!
Dirty Windows on all sides. Not an issue at night but view distracting through daylight. Cobwebs in the window corners indicated that windows don’t get cleaned that often.
Dark area in room where bag access is required - not enough light in the wardrobe/foyer
Traffic Noise - I was really surprised by the amount of traffic noise noticeable - even on the 15th floor.
Room Positives:
The view up the Yarra towards Crown and around from docklands is fantastic and ultimately that what you are buying this room type for. Watching the city sparkle at night is why you pay $400+ per night for this room type.
The electric blacks out blinds do their job well at night and during the day. Downside is the location of the remote - on a wall away from the bed!
The Peter Roth Thomas amenities.

The Executive lounge.
The executive lounge is located on the 4th floor and is available for executive room guests upwards along with Hilton Club members. We visited the lounge 4 times, 2 for breakfast and 2 for pre dinner. Breakfast and Dinner offer 2 hot items only. Both were low on quality (My opinion). Basic food items. I saw very little staff engagement. Having visted many hotel clubs over the years, this club provided my least enjoyable experience and represented low value.

Overall this is a hotel you would choose for its location to the convention city and if you could secure it very cheap on a booking site. It has great access to the DFO shopping outlets which are worth a look and is within walking distance to the casino, docklands and other city attractions. You would also choose it if you wanted a view of the Yarra and the city skyline, however there are better value hotel rooms around that can offer the same thing.

Room service F&B was okay, nothing to rave about - expensive and okay. The hotel did provide a nice touch by providing complimentary strawberry's and sparkling wine.

For me, at the prices being paid, there is better value elsewhere in our city. Unfortunately based on this stay, Hilton hasn't wowed me or won me over.

Room Tip: Check online for a last minute deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsettter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

On behalf of my Team I would like to apologize for the disappointment you experienced during your stay. We strive to offer quality products and services which on this occasion we have failed to deliver. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be happy to discuss your experience in detail with you.

Hope this one off experience will not change your decision to stay with us in the future.

Looking forward to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed at anywhere in the world. I cannot fault this hotel in any way, in fact this hotel is at the top of its class in every area. The management and staff are absolutely magnificent. Mahliney Keo in the breakfast restaurant and her beautiful beaming smile is the perfect start to any day. Luke Moore (the hotel duty manager) went over and above his call of duty to make sure we had a wonderful stay. Kanu Mathur (guest relations) is an exceptional asset to this hotel also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your time and feedback on this website.

We appreciate your kind words and praise for our team.

Thank you for your support and loyalty and we will see you on your next stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a double bedroom very similar to the one shown in the picture on Trip Advisor. Excellent room with great views of the city. All the amenities you could want and good service. Probably a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. It was a close walk to our meetings but if you want to catch a cab to the center, watch our for Melbourne traffic.

Room Tip: City view was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on this website.

We appreciate your comments and glad to hear you enjoyed the Melbourne views from the 2 bedroom apartment.

We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf on your next visit to Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is connected to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre so is the perfect hotel for activities there. It feels far from the city but in fact is a short walk (less than 5 mins) across the river from the free city circle tram.

The executive lounge is great, great views in three directions, the lounge is well laid out so is spacious but has several different functional areas - restaurant tables, bar stool height tables, lounge seats etc. The continental breakfast includes porridge and something like pancakes and is substantial. It would be one of the best complimentary continental breakfasts that I've seen. The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful.

The evening canapes and driinks were good as was the free wifi. I was able to get a lot of work done during my stay and it was nice not having to do it in my hotel room. I recommend upgrading to use the Executive Lounge if you are going to have business work to do during your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I really appreciate your comments, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our Executive Lounge; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had an awesome 6nights at this property. Staff were very friendly & makes me feel like at home. The F&B staff were the best ever, so attentive to our needs. A big thank you to Ben(F&B supervisor) for looking after me, really appreciate it. The concierge team and the Front Desk team are the best by far.

Room Tip: high floors will gurantee you the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sraikadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on this website.

I really appreciate your comments, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand. I will pass your feedback to Ben in Nuevo37.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Look, it's a Hilton, so you can pretty much guess what to expect when you check in. After all, isn't that what the cookie-cutter concept of hotel chains is meant to deliver? That said, there are some things about this particular cookie that are worth mentioning. Firstly, the location is ideal if you're engaged in something at the convention centre; if not, be prepared to spend a lot of time either in cabs or on foot. It's a healthy walk from the sorts of places I like to go, but if windswept desolate developments are your poison, this Hilton is for you. Service was OK, but the bar downstairs left a bit to be desired. Specifically, ambience. And warmth. And knowledgeable staff. Ok, it left a lot to be desired. Finally, a word on the views: unless you bring your own window cleaner, it doesn't matter what your view is, as you won't be able to see through the grot. This is my hometown, so I feel safe in saying the Hilton South Wharf isn't the worst place to stay, but there's much, much better. Unless you get a really cheap deal, keep looking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbymug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and have discussed this with my senior management team.

With regards to your comment regarding the cleanliness of the windows we have regular scheduled maintenance, however with the unpredictable Melbourne weather, it is difficult to keep up between scheduled cleans. Cleaning of the external hotel windows commence on Monday the 27th of May.

Once again, thank you for your time. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,963 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#5 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing