We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hooray for Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Hooray for Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you ask most native born Melbournians where is South Wharf? Most will look at you with blank stares.
Despite the fact that it’s only a short walk from the casino and theatre district et al. So it must have been a brave architect indeed who walked into Hilton headquarters with the plans for a new Hilton located in South Wharf, Melbourne tucked under their arm.

But we should all be glad they did.

The building is just a lovely space. Toned in a gentle autumn hue, just before it turns to winter, the building has a warm welcoming feel to it. Check in fast, efficient and friendly.

I had a room on the 21st floor- which gave a lovely view of the river. The room had a sort of cosy log cabin feel to it. It’s a large space, with a lovely bathroom which comes replete with top class toiletries. The only tiny (and I mean tiny “fault”) I could find with the room was that, over the large desk which is ideal for working at. There is no direct light. At least not one I could find.

The hotel has one large dining area. Which by day is where you eat breakfast (which, is as you’d expect from a hotel of this calibre fantastic) and I assume enjoy lunch. But by night, it morphs into a cool nightspot, where drinks and delicious tapis can be consumed alongside the rest of Melbourne’s beautiful people.

I was only here for 2 nights on business, but I really enjoyed my stay.

I will stay here again when next in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthMovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on this website.

I really appreciate your comments, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed all we have to offer; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf on your next trip back to Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,795
    911
    215
    75
    28
See reviews for
376
1,090
188
1,030
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013, we got upgraded to a two bedroom suite which was a nice surprise and had access to the executive lounge which was lovely. The room was perfect in every way, staff were pleasant and helpful. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on this website.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for seven nights in April 2013. Everything was great: location, bedding, staff, view of the city, products in bath room, breakfast ... The smell of cigarette smoke which obviously came through ventilation was annoying. We spoke about this to staff at reception three mornings in a row. Nothing changed. On the fourth day there was eventually no smell anymore; I reckon the person who smoked in his/her bathroom must have checked-out of the hotel (hurray). From then on we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room with a view of South Warf and city in distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with regards to the smell of smoke in you room. I have discussed the issue with my senior management team.

We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Arrived mid evening and received a warm welcome as I have every other time I have stayed here. Received and upgrade to the Yarra Suite. This is the only Hilton that I have received an upgrade to a suite every time. As a Diamond member most Hiltons upgrade you to a higher room and rarely to a suite.

The room was well appointed, comfortable and very quiet.

The Executive Lounge is roomy and has great views and ample food and beverages. Breakfast is also worth the visit in the Lounge.

If you are at a conference at the convention centre then the hotel is well placed, but still only a short walk to South Bank.

Room Tip: High rooms with a view of South Bank so you can see the gas show at the casino every hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Mckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on this website.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf on your next trip from Canberra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Luxury at its best. There are only a few hotels who can balance prestige of a brand as well good old fashioned welcome home hospitality. And this has made it on my list. Physically not doubt the interior from the foyer to the rooms to the restaurant are sleek, spacious, and builds on character. Employees are well received, going out of their way to make even one night extra special. I really do appreciate staff that further build on the character of the place. Truly makes a better standard then most places. Looking forward to many more other stays with this Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on this website.

I really appreciate your comments, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 night stay, newish hotel with every convenience. disappointing though to find room smelt of previous guest smoking. Caught staff in hallway who obligingly sent someone to "spray" room with a vanilla smelling spray which just made carpet wet.
Room did not lose smoke smell over stay, should have requested another room but did not want to move with clothes already in wardrobe. Foolish decision.
Would I stay again, yes but be more forthcoming to make sure I got what I paid for, a smoke free hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms our family had were in good location in hotel complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucystellaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I genuinely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with the smell of smoke in the room from the previous guest. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and have discussed this with my senior management team.

Once again, thank you for your time. We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Booked into this hotel overnight before boarding a cruise ship. In a convenient location right next to DFO in Melbourne. We had a great room on 13th floor with views down the river. Large room great bathroom and very comfortable bed. Quiet too, we didn't hear noise from anywhere. Buffet breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Hotel is a short walk to the main cafes and restaurants and the Crown Entertainment Complex. Skybus shuttle calls in here from the airport. Short taxi ride to the Cruise Terminal. Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,391 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing