We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room with city view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off*
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Get a room with city view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you have an event at the Convention Centre, this is the place to stay. From level one, you can walk directly into the convention centre (which has free wireless internet everywhere). And, it's only a short walk across the river into the central business district. The hotel is modern. The room is large, and well laid out. The bathroom is huge and has a superb shower. If you are alone, this room is perfect. the mattress and pillows are great.
However, if you are there with your partner, be aware of some oddities. For instance, the bedside switches that control the lights and bathroom night light are only on one side of the bed. So one of you might be stumbling around in the dark. Also, the bathroom door is a sliding door -- in opaque glass. Very trendy looking, but when the lights are on, the bedroom will be flooded with light too. One odd thing about the room -- there is no light near the mirror. For a woman who wants to put her makeup on, she will have to hog the bathroom (which has excellent
lighting).
The fitness center is much better than you usually get in a business hotel.
The breakfast buffet is pricey (AUD $37) but it is excellent.
The hotel staff are incredibly friendly, and in a very natural, direct way. They seem truly happy to be working there.

Room Tip: Tip: ask for a room with a city view, which is also a river view. Some rooms have a view of the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloriaAnchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I appreciate your comments and have discussed them with my team. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment with regards to the lighting in our rooms. We will take this feedback in account for our future refurbishment.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    908
    215
    75
    28
See reviews for
376
1,088
187
1,030
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Valet on the first day was overloaded and way too busy for just one guy. He was very rude but made up for it later by being a great guy. This tells me HIlton is not putting enough staff on valet. I don't think it's this guys fault one bit if he is backed up with too many cars.

The room had such a fantastic view I was so impressed by the floor to ceiling windows! The room over looked the city on our side and the few was absolutely gorgeous. The room itself was very nice. Well done, Hilton! We had an executive room and are Hilton Honors members and STILL were charged $30 for internet per device. I'm really getting sick of being charged for internet when i'm paying hundreds of dollars for a room. It's greedy. It's like charging for TV or towels. There is NO REASON why this is still a good idea.

So we went to the executive lounge for internet and it was very nice. However, on three occasions I observed the staff slow as molasses to clean off dirty tables and when they would clear the table they would not wipe it down?! There were 6 tables I counted the first night. The second night we couldn't find a table and there were 5 available but dirty. I asked the waiter for a towel to wipe down the table and he comes out with it and hands it to me. I told him I needed a table wiped down and as he did this he only did my half (with attitude) and not the other half which is where my husband was sitting. What is so hard!?

The next day same issue. This is Hilton's fault. Hiring kids to manage the Executive lounge means they are not paying enough. Perhaps they should up the pay with all the money they are making on the internet charges. Breakfast staff was better.

Room Tip: Don't waist your money on an executive room if they are going to charge you for internet. Can y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinahollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Booked executive floor then took up the upgrade offer on checkin to 2 bed apartment. These are on highest floors and quite spacious and well laid out. Kitchenette was adequate. No laundry. Living area small and only has sofa seating for two. dining table seats four. Lot of space taken up in this area with unnecessary designer touches e.g. Shelves and large ( and uncomfortable) can ottoman and intrusive floor lighting. Beds great and bathrooms well appointed.
Right next to DFO shopping outlet and convention centre. Transport easy. A good 15 minute walk to city centre. Stroll along south bamk precinct is pleasant.

The executive lounge on 4th floor is huge but food is pretty basic and service almost non existent in mornings. Large outdoor terrace be good for summer drinks.

Ate in restaurant and food good but pricey. Plenty of restaurants around the area.

Generally a comfortable business hotel but not a lot of personalised service

Room Tip: River facing rooms better as rear rooms get some freeway noise. Air con is bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbabetasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Perfect !!





Right from the minute we got out of the taxi, the young guys at the front door assisted us straight away with our bags, check-in was a breeze, the lady was very friendly and informative , the foyer is lovely - very relaxing, you didn't feel rushed , I didn't mind the dimmed lighting.. (although I still couldn't convince my husband to let me take home one of the new cars being displayed in there..hahaa)

The room was just right for us, we had a King relaxation suite, very spacious. The beds are soo comfy - pillows were just right for me :) We had use of the executive lounge which was great! The staff in there were friendly and very helpful and the choice of drinks and snacks etc was ample!

Room Service we used a few times - Wow! Very fast and food was yummy!

Bar downstairs - we used a couple of times too and the staff there were very attentive and made sure you were never waiting for a drink - it was great!

Location , was spot on for us, as we needed the convention centre, and easy walking to the casino , shops (DFO right next door!) , Collins street and restaurants..

I highly recommend the Hilton South Wharf Melbourne! We will be returning in the near future!!
Thankyou!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your 10/10 review.

Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the gorgeous photos online. We stayed in room 1904 which was a 2 bedroom, yarra river view (of southbank). The room was just like the photos, room was clean and the experience was wonderful. We were a family of 4, including 2 small children (5 years and 2 years old). The children loved it, and the room was comfortable for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your experiences with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times - and it continues to meet my expectations.

Great location on south Wharf just a stroll from the city on the river. Lovely rooms that are a good size. Staff are well trained and very accommodating. Highly recommended. We used the Executive lounge, which was well provisioned.

This occasion I left my jacket in my room - and when I contacted the hotel they immediately sent it to my home address - well packaged and received it the day I returned home. The staff are very efficient, and also friendly - a great combination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I really appreciate your review.
Thank you ever so much for sharing your experiences with your fellow travelers
Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Excellent service in a perfect, spacy and luxurious room, would always stay again in this hotel. Friendly staff, always helpful and in a "can-do-mode". The view over the nearby river and a bath in the wonderful bathroom were amazing

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We really value your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,380 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,122 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,908 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing