We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service, lovely hotel, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times - and it continues to meet my expectations.

Great location on south Wharf just a stroll from the city on the river. Lovely rooms that are a good size. Staff are well trained and very accommodating. Highly recommended. We used the Executive lounge, which was well provisioned.

This occasion I left my jacket in my room - and when I contacted the hotel they immediately sent it to my home address - well packaged and received it the day I returned home. The staff are very efficient, and also friendly - a great combination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I really appreciate your review.
Thank you ever so much for sharing your experiences with your fellow travelers
Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    912
    215
    75
    28
See reviews for
376
1,092
188
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Excellent service in a perfect, spacy and luxurious room, would always stay again in this hotel. Friendly staff, always helpful and in a "can-do-mode". The view over the nearby river and a bath in the wonderful bathroom were amazing

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We really value your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is right next to the convention center. Rooms are modern with clean lines and comfortable beds and linens. I loved the layout and the open concept bathroom. Most of the hotel has great views of the wharf but there is a little bit of a walk to the nightlife, which you'll find mostly on the weekends as you walk up the river from the hotel. Breakfast buffet was a huge spread and room service was always on time or earlier.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneK9lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the 10/10 review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am a fan of this hotel. I stay there for business all the time and it is quiet, walking distance to casino and some great restuants and easy access to get to the airport. Some rooms have a great view up the river once you push the button on the electronic blinds and you can watch the casino lights and fires going off all night. There is a large bar area that has some good atmosphere and there are other bars nearby. I dont eat in hotels as a rule so there is plenty of funky cool places nearby to venture to. I can stay at any hotel in Melb but i choose this one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you ever so much for sharing your experiences with your fellow travelers. We really appreciate all your loyalty and support.
Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great location next to the convention and exhibition centre for business and DFO for family shopping. Faultless service and attractive comfortable room. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Denby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experiences with other fellow travels.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on our wedding night. I had mentioned that it was our wedding night in the booking, but nothing special was done to the room, which was a little disappointing.

However, the room was lovely! Soft fluffy pillows and a lovely bed. The bathroom was amazing. The bath was great and having the door to seperate the bathroom completely from the sleeping area was such a good idea, it meant that I could run my bath while hubby was still sleeping and he didnt hear a thing!

The only thing I didnt like was that the blackout blinds would not go all the way down, so there was about a foot at the bottom of the window letting light in, which I felt defeated the purpose of having blackout blinds in the first place.

The buffet breakfast was amazing. So many selections!

I would definitely stay here again, perhaps for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deliah_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I sincerely appreciate your feedback of the various services at the hotel and have discussed them with my Senior Management Team.

We were all very disappointed to read that we did not acknowledge your special day, for which I apologize. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your experience further. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Recently stayed for two nights with my partner and sister. I booked a 2 bedroom suite which is a bit more pricey but got the 20% off book in advance which made it well worthwhile. I was very excited to be staying at this new Hilton.
I had a phone call from the hotel at 830pm the night before our booking asking if I would mind changing from the suite to two standard bedrooms, She said that they there would be two bathrooms and two tvs but no kitchen. I declined I had booked 3 months in advance, I initially felt a bit annoyed about a late phone call on a Friday night, but they were only asking.
Arrived at the hotel on the Saturday really excited and keen to see our suite, at check in they asked me AGAIN would I like to change to two standard rooms!!!! Unnecessary ...
The suite was fantastic huge with all the comforts and awesome views from every angle, it had 2 tv and 2 bathrooms :)
The hotel was very nice, although a little dark, the staff very friendly, would definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. My sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced with regards to being prompted to change room types. I will certainly follow this up with the Team Members involved.

Hope this incident does not change you decision to stay with us in the future.

Safe travels..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,408 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing