We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love IT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Love Hilton South Wharf, recently stayed there again for two nights in a two bedroomed apartment with access to lounge facilities and breakfast.
Modern clean ideally situated closely to Crown, restuarants and a short tram ride to the Albert Park Lake F1 track.
The Maclaren team and Lotus both use the hotel so it is great to spot some familiar faces.
Breakfast is a definate highlight not to mention the lounge access.
Highly recommended. Will be back!

Room Tip: Choose city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We really value your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,943
    975
    229
    77
    34
See reviews for
411
1,156
196
1,135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Set on South wharf, this hotel is located very close to the dockland's business district. The hotel itself is very basic. Rooms are big and the bathrooms are large. Food is expensive and disappointed that Wifi access has to be purchased for the room, again at a high cost

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30CountryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our service and facilities throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for one night on 24th February, we managed to get checked in early and were given a room on the 14th floor with stunning views along the river Yarra and all the restaurants, shops etc. We had an executive room which gave us access to the executive lounge which supplied nice nibbles and a good range of wines beers etc. A lighter breakfast is also included which we found ideal before setting out for the day. We also found a chocolate on our pillow on return and the nightime view from the huge picture window was simply fantastic. The reception does get very busy but the staff all act in a professional manner and assist wherever possible. They had a BBQ going on the Sunday afternoon outside one of the lounges and the hot dog with onions and mustard went down a treat!! Would gladly stay there for the view alone. They have gas units dotted along the embankment which give a great flame show on the hour in the evenings which look great viewed from the bedroom window. We were also treated to the sight of 5 air balloons taking to the skies at sunrise.

Room Tip: Ask for a city/river view on a high floor, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the 10/10 review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, great service and a short stroll to all the entertainment, restaurants, cafes and bars of Melbourne's South Bank district. This will make up for the limited options regarding restaurants within the complex itself.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and I have never been disappointed. Reading through the reviews most have covered the best features, excellent Executive Lounge, a must for business travellers. Great Staff, friendly, courteous and very helpful. If you get the right room, the views are fantastic. Location wise it is in close proximity to all the amenities and nightlife, many great restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmTrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are visiting Melbourne this hotel is situated right on the wharf with views right the way along. If you book an Executive room you will be invited into the Executive lounge which serves free breakfast, afternoon tea and cakes and then in the evening free drinks and canapes

Loved the comfortable beds and pillows. I found the hotel location perfect to get around the city.Our executive room was spacious and very clean.

The Hilton is a fantastic place to stay. The staff was excellent and the rooms very comfortable

Room Tip: Get an executive room - well worth the extra coins :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland.New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hilton on the recommendation of a friend, so we knew it was away from the city centre, but by walking across the Yarra River you can access the free City Circle Tram which was great for getting round the city and sightseeing as well,( for shopping I recommend getting off the tram at Elizabeth Street and walking up to get to Collins St, Bourke St etc.)
If you are attending anything at the Exhibition or Convention Centres, the Hotel is right there and on the other side is the DFO shopping centre which has some very good outlets ie Tommy Hillfiger, Adidas, Nike and Country Road. We had an Executive Room with a lovely view over the river and enjoyed using the Executive lounge and its facilities, though it was very busy at times and could do with higher tables for eating, as the carpets were often dirty from crumbs being spilt on the way from the low tables to peoples mouths!! The reception desk in the lounge was often unattended, so some people had to find staff when they needed help. We gave up waiting for our luggage to be brought up to our room on arrival at lunchtime on Friday, after 40 minutes my husband went and collected it- this may simply have been because it was a holiday weekend so maybe there was a staff shortage or the hotel was just too busy. The room on the 13th floor was lovely with a big bathroom with bath, separate shower and toilet. The concierge Toby was very helpful with Restaurant recommendations, tell him the sort of food you would like and a price bracket and he comes up with good suggestions.( Do be warned many of the Melbourne restaurants are really overpriced, we have many friends who have commented that a lovely meal has been totally spoilt by the eye watering bill at the end of it). A swimming pool would be a nice addition to this lovely hotel, but we will certainly stay there again when returning to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Check room rates for stays of 2 or 3 nights as there are some good specials. The Executive room deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I really appreciate the time you have taken to write this very detailed review. I have discussed all your comments with my Senior Management Team.

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,834 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing