We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located within a short walk to the Melbourne Aquarium and numerous restaurants located along the Yarra river. The free tourist bus and the free circle city tram (route 35) have a pickup point approximately 700 meters from the hotel along the Yarra river. One would expect that the pickup location would be nearer the convention center. As for the hotel I was offered an upgrade for $75 which would provide the views other raters have mentioned but I declined since my purpose was not to spend my time in the hotel looking out the window. The beds are very comfortable and the staff accomodating. Check in and out were accomplished effortlessly but I would try and avoid the morning rush to get out of the hotel unless you don't mind standing in line and then waiting for a taxi. Overall the facility is clean and well maintained

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very detailed review.
I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    1,035
    243
    81
    35
See reviews for
442
1,239
202
1,189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a hotel. From the moment we pulled up in the taxi we were treated like VIPs. The staff throughout the hotel are incredibly friendly & helpful. The room we stayed in (King City View) was stunning with beautiful views overlooking the Yarra River & cityscape plus it also had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. My wife and I ended up changing our flights and staying an extra night because it was so good.

The location is ideal. It is easy to get on a tram and every stroll starts on the river. Plenty of places to eat and drink, shops next door, plus you get the spectacular views in the evening when the Crown Casino flame throwers go off.

The only fault I could find is that the TVs in the room are tiny considering the rooms are so big. Watching tennis highlights was not easy from 12ft away. :-)

Room Tip: Get a City View on the upper floors. Well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doddyksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I sincerely appreciate your comments and have shared them with my Team. Regarding your feedback about the size to the Televisions we will take this into account in our future refurbishments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon on your next travel down under.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a deluxe king. The room was excellent. It was spacious, clean and modern. The bathroom was big and had included a good size bath.

The service was very friendly but the staff lack the professionalism to make this an outstanding hotel. There was a line up at check in with only two staff on duty, and one them was manning the phones in between checking in guests. In my view took too long to check in.

When walking to the lift a bell boy ran a bag over my wires foot - he seemed to be in la la land and just didn't see her.

As Hilton Gold I had access to the exec lounge. Our keys didn't work to access the lounge, even though they were branded executive lounge keys. Check in had not cut them correctly. The selection of snacks was very limited in the executive lounge, in the morning the coffee machine was on the blink. It was a nescaffe machine that just couldn't handle the load.

We dined at the hotel restaurant Nuevo37. Staff here were once again genuinely friendly but they seemed to be a little to casual and unrefined - a better fit to be in a cafe rather then this restaurant.

I give this hotel a 3 out of 5. It was OK but it did not quite meet my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKVIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I appreciate all your comments and have discussed them with my senior management team.

We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience if for yourself.

Safe travels..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Love the Magic Button for phone assistance. One button to rule them all !!!. Instead of a list of numbers to remember for each service , they had one button where you could get any service done. Loved the concept.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sakyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us especially our MAGIC services!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwood, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A mix up with bookings as the function got cancelled As we tried to cancell our booking under the 30 day limit the cancellation fee was the same cost as the room so we decided to stay there. We get there and they had cancelled our booking and the hotel was full! So they were obvioulsy happy to take all our money. They eventually found us a room but by now we were running late for our show! We missed out on a decent meal because of the rush.
The rooms are excellent for a single person on business but for a couple not so good. Only one lounge chair, too much space was taken up with a desk, there was only one towel when we arrived. The corridors appeared dirty, and our room smelt a bit too much of Freshener.
I got the impression that talking to centralized Hilton bookings is not a good idea.

Room Tip: Be wary of centralized Hilton booking. Parking is expensive in this area You can get your parking v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is great, I have stayed a few times now and the service is always fantastic. The rooms are a good size, the Jnr Suite.... AMAZING!!!! The bar downstairs holds salsa classes as well - check them out for a great night out. The coffee shop in the hotel has good coffee as well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyKatCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We really value your support and loyalty.
Hope to see you soon…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed for seven nights recently to take in the last week of the Australian Open. This was the first time at this hotel and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The city is only a 15 min walk and you have Southbank with all it's restaurants and bars very close.Right around the hotel is a number of good bars and restaurants, you can see the area will be a lively hub in the near future. The rooms and bathrooms were of a good size and of course with this hotel chain the beds were delightful . We both especially enjoyed the electric blinds in the rooms that virtually blacked out the room for a wonderfully deep, uninterrupted sleep.The staff were all very helpful and friendly and more than happy to assist with local knowledge etc. The Executive lounge was large, bright and well laid out with a good selection of drinks and nibbles in the evening. The hotel lacks a pool but the gym meets your requirements. There are many good hotels in Melbourne and I have tried a number,but I will be back to stay at the Hilton South Warf

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alastair4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very detailed review.

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,159 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hilton EMEA so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing