We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Top Shelf!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Top Shelf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Whilst this is part of a big hotel chain, you are maid to feel very welcome and treated as an individual. Service is great the decor is comfortable and the rooms are very comfortable and provide great sleeping conditions. It is close to Southbank and right on the doorstep of DFO. I thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf and taking the time to write your review! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    911
    215
    75
    28
See reviews for
376
1,090
188
1,030
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Well done again Hilton you lived up to the quality and service that you are renowned for.
Travelled for one night only and the accommodation was perfect.
Very close to everything and the added bonus of a great restaurant and bar.
Will be staying again for those special nights and highly recommend the city view rooms.

Room Tip: Book a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GazzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked a Yarra Suite for 3 nights on wotif for the weekend - have stayed in many a Hilton so had a reasonable expectation. Have to stay this hotel exceeded in every way and made my birthday weekend very special indeed. From Craig the conceigne who made numerous fantastic recommendations and two dinner bookings that were out of this world, through to the wonderful girl in the business club full of great tips and friendly service! The suite was spacious, the bed heavanly and the view stunning. We were a little worried about location but nothing was far, convienence store downstairs, DFO Mall next door, several nice bars and cafes couple minutes walk through to the CBD only 15 mins walk and South Bank under 10 minutes. Only reason rated cleanliness very good not excellent was hallways needed bit of care but rooms exceptionally clean. Well back again!

Room Tip: Yarra Suites are a corner suite, very roomy, sperate walkin closet, sperate toilet, sperate lounge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your Birthday weekend with us. So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton for 1 night with my hubby as we were seeing a play at the Art Centre and thought we'd make a night of it. The location is fabulous being a short stroll to Southbank.

Overall the room, bathroom products, tea and coffee provided were great. It is a Hilton so the cost of mini bar extra would make you faint but we knew that going in so didn't use those facilities. My disappointment was with the bathroom. It has an awkward door situation going on in such a small space. The door for the showing opens into the shower which is a bit inconvenient if like me you like to turn on the shower and get the water to the right temperature before getting in. Because the shower has no lip on it and a grate drain it doesn't service two people at the same time. We flooded the bathroom. A cavity door would have solved the toilet door intruding so much into the small space also.

My other disappointment was with the inconsistency of service from the staff. When we booked in there was no directions to where the elevator was located or which restaurant breakfast would be in in the morning, or instructions to use the key card in the lift. Simple things but we'd just stayed at the Emporium Hotel in Brisbane a couple of weeks before and their service had been so great it really highlighted the contrast to me.

On a bright note the breakfast was amazing. Fantastic array of choices for everyone and fresh and delicious food provided. Great ending to our stay and the staff in the restaurant were super attentive and lovely too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahWALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Regarding your comment about the service levels, at Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Once again, thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for a few nights as we were attending an Expo next door.
Great location; super helpful concierge who held all our boxes, bags, banners ... breakfast was included in our rate and featured a huge yummy selection. Wish I had the time and stomach to sample it all.
We had an amazing rate for a king room, so we weren't expecting a great view but it was lovely - looking to Southbank.
The bed was perfect - soft on top, firm under; the big bath was such a welcome relief ... bliss!
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Closest to Exhibition Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tysontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your good review.

Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and its location, next to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This property served all of our needs on our Australian Open tennis stay. We enjoyed the seclusion of this hotel and the wonderful river view that our room offered. There are some excellent coffee bars and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed watching the crown hotels fire tower show that stretches down the river every night at 10 and 11 pm. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are very clean and sleek. We had continuous key card problems during our stay-- not only with our room but when using the workout facility. We had to use the "MAGIC" button many times- including many trips back and forth to the lobby for assistance-- not a 5 star moment at this gracious hotel. I was able to tour the executive lounge which was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vester66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very detailed review.

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding your room keys. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.

Hope to see you soon…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just finishing a 4 night stay for business. I personally think its a great location as its quite central to everything. As an HHonors Gold was upgraded to the Executive Lounge level. This is one of the better Executive Lounges around. Lots of space and a nice outdoor deck. Good selection of food and drinks as well.

Staff are all very pleasant and the rooms are quite nice with blockout blinds and a real comfortable bed.
Hard to pick a fault here. Everything just works well and is of a high Hilton standard. Will be my choice when returning to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the 10/10 review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience at our Executive Lounge.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,397 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,835 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#11 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#21 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,920 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing