We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #17 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

First time at a Hilton Hotel in Australia and this one is impressive. Located in South Warf just next to the Convention Centre it is an ideal location to Melbourne city.

The Breakfast was amazing, miles ahead of anything I have every had anywhere!

Check in and out was great

This is not a cheap hotel, so you expect this high level of service

Next to DFO

I would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_proctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.

We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    912
    215
    75
    28
See reviews for
376
1,092
188
1,033
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

brand new and reasonably priced, front desk service is excellent aswell as the room service, have stayed there 4 times now and would recommend to all. very comfortable bedding and well appointed rooms. about a 10min walk to crown and southbank plus plenty of dining options at south wharf itself

Room Tip: city view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squealer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We sincerely appreciate your continued support and loyalty.

Hope to see you again soon…safe travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed for just one night - wedding anniversary - in a King City view room on 14th floor. Room was lovely and the view was excellent down along the Yarra. Service was also excellent at all times. We were able to wander easily over to DFO and do a bit of Christmas shopping. The executive lounge was great - we basically didn't need to eat dinner anywhere else as the free snacks and drinks provided were both tasty and filling. Breakfast also good. The lounge is well worth the few extra $. Used the health club several times - equipment new and appeared well maintained. No pool but didn't really miss it on this occasion. Actually enjoyed the location as normally don't stay / visit in that part of the city - went for a run along the river on Sunday morning which was far less crowded than SOuthbank would have been.

Room Tip: Get a City / River view room - much nicer views. With the "Bay" view - even at higher lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiji_Novice255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your special night away in the city and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This Hilton property is really impressive in every aspect.

The location of the hotel is not perfect. But it only takes you 10-15 minutes walk to Southern Cross Station, which I think is acceptable. Tram stop is within 5 minutes walk. There is also a DFO outlet next to the hotel.

The design of the lobby is unique, with a Mercedes car sitting at the center. Check in was fast, but again, no upgrade for HHonors Gold.

The room looks modern and well designed. A welcome card from the hotel was prepared. After I put down my bags, I left the room for a few minutes to pick up my luggage in the carpark. When I return to the room again it was already prepared with turn-down.

The executive lounge is huge with an outdoor area. It's worth to pay the extra for the executive level. The staff was nice, but 2 staff members serving the whole lounge may be too harsh for them.

Room Tip: If you drive, you need to park your car at DFO. Parking will be $20 per day for hotel guest. Buy som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our Executive Lounge.

We hope to see you soon on your next travels to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed Dec 8th as wife was attending a Christmas Party for her work.
Hotel room was small and the twin only had single beds not queen like most hotels
No racing TV on Foxtel
Bathroom nice and the bath was enjoyed by all
No pool or spa so capacity to relax a tad average
South Wharf DFO right next door so the was convenient.
Be good place to stop if shopping at DFO or part of an Exhibition was your thing .
Crown Hotels all much superior than this hotel
Only stay if rates really low or shopping is your motive .

Room Tip: Take cheaper option as location and facilities are average and not what constitutes a holiday resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very detailed review.

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hilton south warf this weekend just gone for 2 nights. We wanted somewhere really nice we could spend our honeymoon before we travel somewhere else. Having never stayed at a five star hotel which is how I rate it, we were a bit iffy as to how it would be. We were presently surprised about everything the people welcoming us as we walked in to me getting confused about check in and if we had already paid or not they were so helpful and helped me understand we then got to our room and it was perfect we stayed on level13 room 07 it had lots of space and a beautiful stunning view where we could watch the sunrise and sunset it was amazing.. We got room service a few times and the people delivering it were so polite and lovely.. We had buffet breakfast both mornings which was included in our package as we had never stayed there before we had no clue again the people were so welcoming and look after us amazing we couldn't have asked for better service, the variety of food in the buffet was huge u couldn't ask for anything else highly recommend making your own juice:) this hotel is so close to everything only a short 5 minute walk to crown and you don't even realise how long it takes as its a really nice walk and also safe. Check in and check out we're both a breeze it really has everything u need plus dfo right next door so pack comfy shoes hehe.. As I said I highly recommend this hotel and I rate it five stars we will definitely be coming back to stay as soon as we can:) thank you so much to all the staff at the hilton south warf on making our stay so memorable and comftoble :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise7749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!

Glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Safe travels..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

gorgeous hotel with incredible views from all sides. not smack bang in the city but theres good choices for dinner very close to the hotel. breakfast wasn't bad, staff were friendly. it is pricey but you get what you pay for. we had the relaxation room which was just massive. i would stay there over and over again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,406 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#1 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing