We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great city hotel with amazing views of the city and the Yarra River” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great city hotel with amazing views of the city and the Yarra River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This great hotel is based next door to Crown Casino (5 min walk).
Friendly staff at the concierge who made us feel very welcome.
Great room with all the luxuries you would expect for a hotel like this.
With the casino close by and with all the restaurants and shopping close by, you won't be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CWMELM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the good review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff looked after you well. We would love to see you soon on your next travels to Melbourne.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,065
    1,035
    243
    81
    35
See reviews for
442
1,241
202
1,191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I felt really conflicted by this place.

First, the good:

- magnificent bed -- goodness, like a cloud
- great, slick fit-out -- so smart
- beautiful foyer and indigenous artwork
- great service

The not so good:

- The location! In the middle of nowhere -- why put a hotel here??!!
- wrong room given to me
- toiletries were bit meagre -- ie same soap for bath and hand-basin -- I mean, how much does an extra mini cake of soap cost!

Overall this is a great hotel undermined by a lousy position.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citikitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our service and facilities throughout your stay.

We deeply regret that the location of the hotel was not convenient for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlyon, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel lives up to the quality expected from a Hilton hotel. I had a King city view room on the 10th floor (about 18 floors total). A great view up the yarra river and the city cbd. Bathroom was very nicely appointed. Very comfortable bed which was a pleasant surprise as most hotels seem to have beds on the hard side.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra charge to get a river view and on a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Crown Towers used to be my first choice of Melbourne hotels when on business (I've also tried The Westin) but I now choose Hilton South Wharf for a few reasons:
(1) it feels more boutiquey than the others which feel more mainstream - maybe the dimmer lighting around the place combined with the smaller lobby area - which I prefer when travelling alone. The decor works for me too - stylish without being clinical or pretentious.
(2) Staff also feel much more personal and genuine than the other mainstream hotels I've stayed at who sometimes check you in like cattle (yup, we can all see through fake smiles / pleasantries!).
(3) the location is 10-15mins walk to Docklands which means no waiting around forever for cabs - although they are great at calling them in quickly if you need them.
(4) it's right next door to DFO Shopping Outlet, so if you forget anything, you can pop next door and buy something quick and feel ok about it because it's discounted (perfect excuse to leave a few things at home ;)).

The down side: the restaurant feels like a hotel restaurant and didn't really have an ambience to it. There are some other places around but Crown Towers has a much better range, all without having to go outdoors (though you can do a nice waterside walk if you want too) thanks to it being connected into the casino complex which has a range of top eateries.

In summary...
Hilton is my preference for travelling alone on business.
Travelling with friends/colleagues, I'd stay at Crown Towers as its better for places to socialise.

Staying with kids? Hmmm, wouldn't really recommend Hilton unless they're teens upwards - not spacey enough. Crown Towers would be much more exciting for them - bright lights, lots of space etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenBewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I was glad to read that we are your choice of hotel when travelling on business. Thank you so much for all your support.

We hope to see you soon on your next travels to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Fabulous city view from the room (all windows wall). Breakfast was excellent, fresh, huge selection, nice modern and cozy ambient.
Nice bathroom with huge bathtub and separate rain shower.
Will be back again.

Room Tip: City view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_K_2008Croatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.

Glad to read that your enjoyed all the facilities around the hotel.

Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for Melb Cup. The hotel is in a great location for casual restaurants near by and the Casino is an easy 5 min walk along the river. Not to mention easy 20 min walk into city or even better down the lift and directly into DFO - can't get closer than that!
Lovely well appointed rooms with everything you need. Bed is gorgeous and soft with choice of pillows and I love the complete blockout electronic blinds, except easy to sleep in, so set the alarm, which in itself is great with built in music channels.
Breakfast was delicious with everything you need, no bland coffee pots here, freshly made barista coffee anyway you like. Egg station and fresh fruit/vegie juicing machine.
The staff were very friendly and attentive, and a special mention to the Bar staff downstairs they were brilliant and professional, we didn't venture far after dark because the bar is comfortable, plays nice music, delicious tapas with attentive staff.
I would recommend and would stay for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I’m really glad your enjoyed your stay with us during Melbourne Cup. We always look forward to hearing from our guests about their experiences while staying with us.

We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in an Executive King room for 2 nights which had a city view looking along the Yarra River which was superb. The bed is big and comfortable and the bathroom is great with a good size shower and nice big bath.The floor to ceiling windows have very effective blockout blinds so if you need to be up early, I recommend setting the alarm or leaving the blinds open a little. Otherwise enjoy a great nights sleep!

We only used the restaurant once for lunch and while the food was very good, it was a little pricey like most hotel meals. The location of the hotel means that there are plenty of other eateries around along south promenade and southbank. Just across the bridge over the Yarra River there is also the Wharf Hotel which we found had great pub meals or bar snacks.

We did however make the most of the Executive Lounge which we loved. It has a great outside deck which is nice on a warm sunny day. The lounge offers breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapes with drinks (beer, wine, sparkling and you can order spirits from the excellent staff). There is also free wi-fi and plenty of newspapers and magazines to read in there. I would recommend spending a bit extra to get the Executive Lounge access.

The hotel is next to the South Whatf DFO so there are plenty of shops nearby. It is also next to the convention centre and walking distance to Crown Casino, Southbank and tram routes so location is great.

The only thing negative things we could really come up with is that as HH Gold members we were not given the complimentary bottled water we were entitled to and we only received the turndown service on one of the nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Really appreciate your positive review!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our King Executive Room and also loved our Executive Lounge.

I have addressed your concerns regarding the complimentary water and turn down service with our Executive Housekeeper. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing