We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel for business”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel offers several great features. Situated next to the convencion centre in Melbourne, Victoria, its accesibility is great. A short distance to city downtown and next to the Yarra river which will make you enjoy a great view. The gym is well equipped. The rooms are ample and the breakfast buffet excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I sincerely appreciate your good review.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its location, next to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    1,054
    252
    83
    37
See reviews for
459
1,283
203
1,222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The Hilton is a fabulously run hotel with memorable service as one would expect. Beds and plows are the best i have ever experienced. While food is a little on the expensive side, the quality is obvious.
I love the place even though it is some distance from the CBD, perfect for conferencing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you like to purchase some of our pillows.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

You've probably stayed in lots of Hilton hotels and to me this is the nicest I've seen, by far. Large spacious, well appointed rooms. Fantastic beds and big baths. Stunning wood architecture downstairs in the entry and restaurant. Located adjacent to the Melbourne convention centre, this is an affordable and amazing hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked this for a few mates as a base for a Buck's party and at $600 (discounted apparently from wotif.com) we thought it would be mind blowing. The decor was modern and the apartment spacious however it was the view that cost us. We had a large 2 br overlooking the Yarra river which was nice however the windows were filthy which detracted from the appeal.

Overall a nice place to stay if you have cash to splash.

Room Tip: River view rooms are great if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your comment about window cleaning, I have discussed this with our Executive Housekeeper and we are in the process of finalizing a quote for getting them cleaned.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed in Hilton last week for a business trip, the staff was really friendly, and the room is very spacious compare to the other hotels in the city. Though not a lot of option on the room service menu, so had to go downstairs and eat at the cafe/restaurants/bars. Overall, very happy with my stay, will come back again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

30 plus for a burger is not justifiable.
I dislike hotels who add ridiculous margins to room service
31.00 for butter chicken!
Sorry
Business travellers travel on a per diem
Lovely rooms
let down by F&B operation that is way too expensive.
Especialy when the whole place is huge and dead in the bar and rest area.

Room Tip: Riverside are better view Other side is nice citiscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoophound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September,2012. Visit to Melbourne was to see the various exhibitions on offer as part of the winter cultural festival. Very happy with the hotel overall.
Interior is a little dark, but modern and the rooms are very well presented and accessorised.
Access to Melbourne's main exhibitions and shopping area is easy due to the close proximity to the Circle Tram which is provided free. Stayed on the Executive Floor and had access to the Executive Lounge. Lounge is good, but not as good as other Hilton hotels. Room with city view has great outlook. Transfer to and from the airport was easy. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose city view at a mid to high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff looked after you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,334 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,030 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing