We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bad customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #17 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
120 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in September 2012 as part of our honeymoon to Australia. It was my wife's birthday during our stay here. I had ordered a cake for her in advance (several months). On the day of her birthday we had gone out at midday and returned about 9.30pm. When we got back to the room the cake wasn't there, we had no message either to let us know where the cake was. Went down to the front desk and complained. The first person I spoke to was extremely rude and did not apologise for the lack of communication. I asked to speak to the duty manager, Celeste, whom to her credit was extremely apologetic and helpful. We did get upgraded the next night but this whole experience spoilt my stay here. Otherwise it is a very nice hotel. The only downsides are a lack of swimming pool and the walk to the city centre which takes about 15 minutes. We also had a mix up on the final day in that the bell men did not order us the right bus to the airport and so we had to get a taxi to the station which cost us extra expense. Some of the staff here need customer service training!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty17r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    944
    220
    75
    30
See reviews for
391
1,121
190
1,091
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Where to next?
Level Contributor
392 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, especially if you are attending an event at the Convention Centre, which is in the same building. The hotel is modern, tastefully appointed and well located. My only annoyance, which is not exclusive to this particular property, is the TV system: it took absolutely ages to change the channels, and every time you switched on the TV the default volume was full blast, which was irritating and presumably annoying to my neighbours late at night. Many hotel chains are falling into the trap of introducing overly complicated TV systems... This won't stop me from coming back to this Hilton property though.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our service and facilities throughout your stay.

We deeply regret any inconvenience caused by the TVs.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope you will visit us again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm a Hilton HHonors Diamond member and have stayed at a lot of Hiltons, but Hilton South Wharf is one of my favourites, and the only place I stay in Melbourne now.

This is a (relatively) new hotel, and the hotel looks good - it has a brown colour scheme that can be a bit dark inside and when you enter the "steel wool" artwork is either awe-inspiring or interesting or just odd.

Rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed. The floor-to-roof windows out looking to the city are incredible. The Executive Lounge (if you have access) is huge and has lovely views of the Yarra River and the city of Melbourne. Breakfast in the lounge is the best Executive Lounge breakfast I've had in a Hilton, and the buffet breakfast in Neuvo37 (their restaurant) is one of the most outstanding breakfasts I've had in a hotel. A fruit juicer and spoon-it-yourself-from-the-honeycomb honey are the standout parts of this breakfast, but all the usual choices are there, with outstanding coffee.

Where I think Hilton South Wharf excels is the staff. Staff around the hotel recognise me and my partner and even remember our favourite drinks and even have brought up bits of conversation from past stays. This was exceptional! When I was entertaining a couple of friends in my hotel room and wanted to make them a coffee with the coffee machine, but I couldn't get the coffee machine to work, I was told an engineer would be dispatched within half an hour (it was before 8am), but the agent at Guest Services offered to arrange a series of barista coffees to be send up to the room immediately and at no cost. This is a case of going above and beyond to fix problems and it's a hallmark of my stays at Hilton South Wharf. Nothing is a bother to them and you just feel like they're doing everything to make your stay exceptional.

If there's one fault, it's the position of the hotel. It's a 10 minute walk to Southern Cross station and about 5 minutes from trams, but getting here by car or taxi can be challenging during peak hours. There is also no pool at this hotel. However, these are minor things for a hotel that looks after you from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave, and provides you with fantastic food, great service, and smiles all the time.

That's what keeps me coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room - the views of the city are far more spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzBearDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Level Contributor
308 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel as such is nice, the location is okay (15 minutes walk to the city, but why not), the rooms are well-fitted, and the views are great. I had a convention right there, so this was a convenient stay. Great breakfast. I had asked for a room with one big bed but they were only able to offer me one with two, which made for a cluttered space; too bad, but in the end, one can live with that. A pity that a modern hotel of this level doesn’t have any pool, which is especially needed for a place catering to a significant extent to a conference clientèle.

However, for me the stay was maximally three points out of five, because the prices for internet access and laundry are really simply extortionist – they are not about covering costs, nor about co-financing, but just bizarrely high, and due to my schedule, I was forced to use both. In addition, I did access internet via the Skype wifi service for most of my stay, but was charged by the service provider of the hotel as well. Voicing my anger to the reception, I was told to get in touch first with Skype and then with the provider, but, notwithstanding the Australian proclivity to outsource everything under the sun, if this is the hotel wifi and billed via the hotel bill, the hotel can’t absolve itself from all responsibilities. The laundry bill at least made for a good anecdote; new clothes of basic quality from the outlet mall next door would actually have been cheaper.

All this sounds minor, but it spoilt my stay, as one had the opposite feeling of genuine hospitality. When back in Melbourne, in spite of views and breakfast, I will avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past. It had been around 18 months since my last visit, and I had felt that the service standard had slipped some what.

The service at this hotel used to be incredible. The hotel is still a very beautiful property, and has very good service overall, but it just didn't have the magic it had in the past.

I found our check-in to be very disorganised, and our bags were lost for a time, as they were in a different room etc-- which left an impression of slight chaos. I'm a diamond guest, and stay so often at Hilton Sydney, and really felt the reception at South wharf lacked the same professionalism as Hilton Sydney. It was a little disappointing.

I stayed in a two bedroom Suite (upgrade from Yarra Suite) -- I have stayed in the relaxation suite before, which is such a spectacular room. The Two bedroom suite, though the lounge room has amazing views, overall feels very cramped, and pokey, and the bedrooms are very dark and small. I wouldn't want to stay in this room again. I probably would have preferred the original booked room type, as the design of the room would have been more pleasing than the two bedroom apartment for myself.

The executive lounge, was lovely as always, and the staff there were very welcoming and helpful.

Overall, I still wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, and maybe they were just having a bad day the day I checked in... The hotel is very beautiful, with great design and views.

Room Tip: The Two Bedroom Suite is a bit small and pokey -- Relaxation Suite or Guest rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was attending an aerospace medical congress at the convention center and stayed at the hotel with my wife. I found the room to be of good quality and clean. However, when we checked in the receptionist first could not find our reservation which was made by the congress organization. I also got the impression that the receptionist's level of mastering the english language was not very high. I would have liked the personnel in the lobby to greet me when I walk through the lobby. This happened, however, quite seldom.

In my opinion in the class of this hotel the internet should be free of charge in the rooms. I understood that this is the case in the executive rooms but not in the others. The pricing of the internet in the room was excessive though internet in the lobby was free of charge. We are not paying separately for the water or illumination or other utilities in the hotel room. Why should we pay for the internet which I see belonging to the same category.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K-JA_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hi,

I stayed back here in August to celebrate my birthday, I live in Melbourne and have stayed at HSW many times to get away from it all.

I normally love the hotel but this time I was left disapointed. On check in I was asked why I was staying and I advised to celebrate my birthday, with that they said they would send something up, that never come.

I was staying in a exec room and a hilton member, and had access to the lounge. I went up for drinks and found the lounge very very full, I think a look of people had been upgraded and it spoiled it, because of this service was not up to par as they were very busy.

I am sure I will stay again but it was not up to it normal standard. I hope it is better next time.

C Weston

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,627 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,287 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing