We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night at Hilton South Wharf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great night at Hilton South Wharf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was my second stay at the Hilton South Wharf Melbourne and so I was really looking forward to it as my first stay 18 months ago was excellent. I wasn't disappointed as the King Guestroom was on the city side of the hotel with beautiful views down the Yarra River towards SouthGate. The room was spotless with a well stocked mini bar, bath and large shower. It's a very plain room, but nice and clean and uncluttered. I remembered from my last trip that I had an awesome nights sleep thanks to the electronic black-out blinds in the room, but unfortunately this time our blinds were broken and stopped about 1 metre from the floor so I was awake at 6am sun-rise! I mentioned this at check-out and so hopefully it's been fixed for the next guests in room 622.

I had the bed and breakfast package and was thrilled with the buffet-breakfast. It had everything you could want and more, and I always like the inclusion of freshly made coffee to order.

The major difference to my stay this time was how much better South Wharf has become. There are so much more really cool bars and restaurants than 18 months ago and the area had a really good vibe and lots of people out and about. Once again I had a really nice stay at Hilton South Wharf.

Room Tip: Try for the city side rooms as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate your comments and your support to our hotel.

I have personally addressed your feedback about the blinds with our Chief Engineer. I can assure you that the blinds have been fixed now. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,060
    1,035
    243
    81
    35
See reviews for
442
1,239
202
1,189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for one night during the recent Fine Food exhibition. Very pleasantly surprised by both the lobby and the room itself (we were upgraded to a room on the 10th floor with spectacular views of the river), which was modern, smart and well appointed. We arrived well before the official check in time of 3 pm, but this wasn't a problem - the staff at the desk were friendly, professional and happy to get us into a room straight away. I loved the brand of toiletries - all full of vitamins A, C and B, very good for the skin. The bed was also super comfy and breakfast was excellent. Disappointments? No swimming pool. And an issue shared by most Melbourne hotels - they seem to cater solely for the business traveler sporting massive expense accounts, so room service and the movie menu are expensive, and the in-room spa service is a bit of a joke. We also visited the restaurants (next to each other in one big room) for prospective cocktails and dinner, but ended up going back to our room after failing to engage the attention of a single wait or bar staff member and finding the atmosphere in both areas chilly and somewhat dismal. Maybe if we'd been two overweight executives in business suits we might have been more visible? Melbourne take note, sometimes people visit your city for pleasure as well as business!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I genuinely appreciate your review. Thank you for your comments about our BAR, I will personally address your concerns with our Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope to see you soon on your next travels to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

From check-in right through to when I left, the Hilton staff were helpful and very service-oriented - more so than most Australian hotels (and the Australian hospitality industry generally).

I arrived earlier than the 3pm check-in time, but it wasn't an issue. The guy on reception was very friendly yet efficient, and I even got upgraded (that never happens to me) to an Executive room with access to the Executive Lounge. So, things started very well.

The room was very comfortable. The carpet was really plush, the furnishings were elegant, and the bed was very comfortable. Well-stocked mini-bar, with prices as expected. I had a couple of Boag's and they didn't break the bank. 24-hour room service gets a big tick, however I would've liked to have seen a slightly bigger range. But it was still pretty good, and enjoyed while watching in-house movies.

The bathroom was great. Separate bath and shower, marble, and the best toiletries I've found to date in a hotel. They were so great I called up to ask if I could purchase them (the brand is Peter Thomas Roth and you can buy some of the items at Kit Cosmetics).

The window was the entire side of the room: floor to ceiling, wall to wall. It afforded great views down the Yarra, across to the city and the Crown complex. At night, it was great. The black-out curtain was very convenient in the morning - the sun comes straight in!

Executive Lounge access is very handy, and there's a great deck - when the weather is nice (and on one day, it was beautiful), it was really nice to sit out there with a drink. Free wifi, afternoon tea, pre-dinner canapes and drinks, and breakfast can all be enjoyed in here.

The buffet breakfast in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss - I've enjoyed the Hyatt and Stamford buffets slightly more. However, the service was A plus, and for me that's the most important thing.

When I booked, I wondered whether the location would be a problem. It turned out to be a positive, as it allowed me to explore an area I wasn't all that familiar with. Being next door to DFO was handy, and it was great to stroll by the river down to Crown.

I really enjoyed my stay, and highly recommend it for any type of stay. I'm looking forward to coming back with my husband!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for such a good review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the view together with all the services on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here over the weekend and got a very good rate of only $200 a night on the Hilton website. Received an upgrade to a city view room which I'd say is well worth it as the view is absolutely spectacular and the view from the so-called river view side of the building would much more appropriately titled "Freeway Intersection view". The lobby is very modern and dark kind of wooden style (a bit too dark for my liking, actually) as is the entire hotel. There was an amazingly ordinary car displayed as advertising (Toyota for all brands!) right in the middle of the lobby which I found totally inappropriate as it would have suited a, let's say, Ibis hotel much better. Service was very quick and professional, albeit a but cold at times. The room was spacious and the bed the usual "Wanna sleep in all day" Hilton standard. I only had a few minor gripes- walk in shower doesn't have a door to close and the sink is right next to the bed, "modern" layout I guess. The only power outlet close to the bed was hidden under the bedside table and hard reach (I never get why hotels do this- people want to use their IPads and IPhones in bed these days and it's very inconvenient if you can't charge them at the same time) and you needed to put your room key in one of those silly old electricity savers which ensure you either get back to a stuffy room when ever you leave OR you put some other card in there which opens the door to all sorts of missed cards dramas upon check out. On the positive side- the electric blinds were among the best I've ever had in a hotel leaving the room pitch-black even during bright sunshine outside and they provided a Bodum plunger instead of the awful instant coffee in the morning. Also had room service which was very quick, tasted excellent and was appropriately (over-) priced for a hotel of this class. Found a used band aide just next to the bed (yuck!) which explains the low rating on cleanness. Location of the hotel is a bit average as it's right next to a freeway intersection and a truly horrible outlet mall (the bogan-filled, cheap and nasty Aussie variety which is very different from what you find in the US). City is a fair but of walk away while most restaurant options are overpriced low-quality chain outlets which are part of the Casino complex. And, you guessed it, the latter is also a bogan's favorite destination rather than Vegas-like glamour.

Room Tip: Ccity view rooms are well worth it as the view is absolutely spectacular and the view from the so-ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I really appreciate your feedback and have shared it with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I'm a Hilton HHonors member and always get a friendly greeting.

Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are huge with lots of surfaces for putting your stuff - unlike standard rooms in the Hilton Sydney where you have no space to put anything.

Executive Lounge is fantastic. Staff are very helpful e.g. we were there on the 'ash cloud' long weekend last year and getting an extra night was no problem; they offered also to help with flight arrangements. One of the larger and nicer lounges I have been to.

Only downside - hotel restaurant / winebar is pretty average.

One personal peeve: Why did they put the controls for the window blinds on the opposite side of the room from the bed? Surely next to the bed would be the obvious place.

Room Tip: Get a river view and lounge access if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and we will be in touch with you directly.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton for 3 nights whilst attending a conference and it ticks all the five star boxes including the price.

$39,95 for a room service club sandwich is getting up there but it was HUGE - too much for one person. The rooms especially the beds are very comfortable and the sleep quality is superb with the black out automatic blinds.

Didn't try the breakie due to miscommunication between the organisors & the hotel. When your registration states hotel breakfast included versus convention centre breakfast - you don't expect to get asked to $20 by the hotel maitre'd.

The hotel cafe has a great bacon & egg bagel with a cup of barrista coffee for about $12.

Warning_ the hotel is accessed via a small service road that crosses a major freeway entrance - at peak hour it can tahe a long time to get out of the hotel/shops prescint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having arrived at 10am after a very long trip from the US, we were hoping to check in early. Not only was this not a problem, we didn't even have to ask, they just checked us straight in.
The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and plenty of space for dumping your bags, shopping etc..And as for those black out blinds - Boy do they work!!!
The staff were incredibly helpful and the concierge was everything you expect (but don't usually get), Booked our restaurants and a hire car as we asked.
This hotel may be a little out of the way (for those of you who are too lazy to walk anywhere), but there are LOADS of GREAT restaurants about and mainstream shopping is right next door. We will definitely stay here again, but if you're thinking this review is too good to be true, I do have one negative! The continental breakfast is too pricey, you'd be better off going to the hotel cafe or one of the many available places within a very short distance outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,159 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing