We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Inner city style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #17 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Inner city style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I won a complimentary night's stay at Hilton South Wharf and decided to use it for a staycation - weekend stay in your own city.

My late check in after the AFL on a Friday night wasn't a problem, however when I drove up to the entrance there was no porter/concierge to take the car, so parked it in the DFO car park across the road (at $28 for the night). And as we approached the hotel entrance, even though we only had overnight bags, no one offered to take them for us. Small touches of service that can make all the difference between a good hotel experience and a great one.

Check in was smooth even though we waited 10mins for the couple in front of us to drunkenly giggle their way through booking a room. Was slightly entertaining but a tad irritating knowing that we'd be swift.

Once at our room, it took a few minutes of hunting and a phone call to guest services to figure out how to open the block out blinds. Once we did, we were enamoured with the view of Melbourne's skyline all lit up.

The room (king delux) was spacious with all the modern amenities you'd expect from a new, big hotel. And the TV was a decent size - hooray!

The bathroom was also spacious, with big bath tub (not quite big enough for two people who are both 6ft+) and shower (big enough for two!), and delicious bath products.

The bed was heavenly. Big, soft, luxurious. There's also a pillow menu so you can choose your preferred comfort/support.

The block out curtains are exceptionally effective! We slept right through til 10am and had to get up in a mad rush to shower for breakfast and get down to the restaurant before it finished at 11am.

Breakfast buffets usually don't float my boat, but everything was presented beautifully. Lots of choice, and if there wasn't something offered you could just order it at no extra charge - omlettes, waffles, eggs Benedict. Yum!

The only thing that lets the hotel down is location. There's nothing really directly next to it (South Wharf DFO not the best shopping in Melbourne) but most things are a short stroll, like Crown and the CBD.

I'll definitely be recommended Hilton South Wharf to out of towners and if the opportunity arises, will be back here myself!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissRissMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on the Trip Advisor website- we acknowledge the site is an important tool for future travelers.

I appreciate your observations and comments and can assure you that I will personally share them with my team.

Thanks again for staying with us. Look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    944
    219
    75
    30
See reviews for
391
1,120
190
1,091
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Nice, new hotel. Room and bathroom very tastefull furnished, great bed. Location on waliking distance from the old city centre and part of the new river development, only no swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.


Brett Christ
General Manager
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nites in late March 2012. Very spacious rooms and Amazing view from the 15th floor. Besides an DFO outlet that was open till 9pm on the Friday. Good parking rate for guests on the Carpak besides the hotel that you just pay $20 dollar for the day. Great service overall from the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay ! Hope to see you soon...

Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

One of our best hotel stays ever. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed, in a dockside type style, using lots of wood - which makes it feel like you are staying in a classy boat. Rooms are spacious, with a large bathroom that comes with a separate bath and shower area and well stocked up with high quality toilet amenities. Equipped with Hilton's usual standards of an extremely comfortable bed with their exceptional pillows - sleep quality is without doubt ranking at the very top end of the range. Noise insulation seems to be of solid standards as we hear no noise at all from the busy roads nearby.

We were provided a room with a city view on a high floor - this i think is worth while upgrading or requested for as it overlooks the Yarra River and provides you with a beautiful view of Southgate.

Location wise - not the most perfect if you want the city at the doorstep. But convenient enough especially given the difference in rates of this hotel versus the other hotels right in the heart of the city. Its approximately 5 minute walk away to the tram stop, which provides you with direct trams to the city and will get you to Elizabeth Street/Collins Street in approximately 10 minutes. Crown Casino is also a 5 minute walk, the Direct Factory Outlet (which has got good shopping deals), is literally next door and has a food court inside. You could walk to the city in about 20 minutes or so.

We had the breakfast included into our package - the buffet is not the most extensive we have seen but most importantly, food quality was good and we loved the fact that they provide take away coffees.

A very special mention has to be made for the staff at the breakfast buffet. Service with a smile was definitely the motto over here and every staff member was helpful, polite and made breakfast into a warm, sunny affair. Kudos to the staff and the manager here - simply amazing to wake up to such wonderful service.

Just one little gripe - the concierge/bell hop staff should be trained in the same way. For all 3 days we were there - smiles were lacking and unfortunately, the concierge staff are the first you see upon entering the hotel everyday. We struggled into the hotel with our luggage after arriving by taxi and in full view of concierge and bell hop staff who were not attending to anyone at that time. Not one staff made eye contact nor assisted and this is a real pity as this does not live up to the otherwise fantastic experience we have always had with Hilton hotels.

Otherwise, we would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrotnose_snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments.
I really appreciate your feedback regarding our Breakfast and will surely share this with the entire Team. I also value your notes regarding Concierge and will discuss this with our Chief Concierge. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience.

Once again, thank you for your time....Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had a great stay here on my visit to Melbourne, facilities were great, room was spacious and modern and the view of the city was beautiful. My only problem was the location, while not bad, it was a bit of a trek to all main areas. The hotel staff were wonderful - we left one day in between our stay to drive the Great Ocean Road and I had left my camera in my room although we had already checked out. They were able to locate it quickly and keep it safe for when we returned.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dichowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay !

Brett Christ
General Manager
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

WE've stayed at this Hotel twice now.....we never go back to the same place as we always want to try something new. But after our first time for one night - it wasn't long enough, so the next time we stayed for 2 nights. We booked online and ticked the upgrade option and upon check in for an extra $30 a night, we were upgraded and received 'Club priveledge'. The views over the yarra, rooms breakfast is fantastic. The only thing it misses is a pool. The restraurant was lovely although next time we'll do tappas in the bar.
Love Love Love this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.....you get to see the city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sobella2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was really happy to read your comments about your recent stay.

Glad you enjoyed the view from your room and our Executive Lounge. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.


Brett Christ
General Manager
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hotel was ideally located next to melbourne Convention centre where i was attending a conference. Hotel is new and open plan. the rooms were well appointed withy good size bathrooms with shower and sepaarte bath. The design reminds me of a lockwood house with the wood panelling. It didn't have the upmarket feel of other Hiltons but service was good and location excellent.
they have a coffee shop which was great to grab a coffee from and the bar was used by conference attendees to have separate meetings. Air conditioning was quiet and effective.
Next door is an outlet mall which has a pretty good food hall, and the shopping was well worth the visit. A 15 minute walk to Bourke street mall meant we were close to everything but in a quiet part of town. The casino and associated restaraunts are a 3 minute walk away, which just reaffirmed the location

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishkiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was very pleased to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....


Brett Christ
General Manager
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,627 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,286 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing