We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is one of my favourite hotels, the rooms are nice, quiet and the beds are great. Buffet Brekkie is good 3/5 (little asian food, no indian, small pastry selection) - the only problem you will find is the breakfast staff will clean away the table even if you are five feet from the table, you just make a joke and not let it worry you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiekiwi_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,035
    243
    81
    35
See reviews for
442
1,243
202
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mapua, Nelson
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Although sometimes Hilton hotels can be a bit " samey" and lacking in character, we found this hotel to be a very refreshing change and a lovely hotel to stay in for the last night of our 10 day holiday to Victoria, which had seen some very mediocre accommodations.
We were upgraded to a beautiful king bedded room on the 14th floor, overlooking the Yarra River and the buzz of south bank. The hotel is obviously very new and has a lot of contemporary features. Everywhere, both in the bedroom and public areas, there was beautiful oak timbers, creating a very soft ambiance; the bedroom was well equipped - although the lighting could have been a bit better - and the bathroom was huge and totally different from the traditional hilton style small bathroom. There was a separate toilet, walk in shower and large bath tub, along with a modern vanity basin set in an attractive wood surrounded vanity unit. The bed was very comfortable and there was ample hanging and storage space. We loved the location on the buzzing south bank where there are lots of new restaurants and an outlet shopping mall for those wishing to indulge in more retail therapy. The hotel is also next to the Convention and Exhibition center. We just wished we could have spent longer here, but as our luck would have it, in the best hotel we stayed in, we had to be up and away for an early morning flight! Hopefully on our next trip to Melbourne we will return. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed at the Hilton South Wharf while traveling for work. The hotel feels very new, the receptionist said it opened in 2009 but it feels more recent, everything is new and in perfect working order.

The rooms are spacious and modern, the bathroom has a separate toilet, shower and bath. My room was on the 11th floor with a view of the bay.

Walking distance to Southern part of Docklands and CBD, and close to Southbank for dinner in the evening!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

My spouse and I went to Melbourne for business reasons and took a few days to relax which was a great decision as Hilton pampered us for the length of our stay. I have read the reviews on trip advisor and was thinking of all the bad comments listed but we did not encounter any of it. The staff was wonderful, they let us check in early even though we did not inform them. When we requested for a late check out it was granted. The food at the executive lounge was fantastic. If you have a laptop you can go online for 2hrs everyday in the executive lounge area. Also there are 2 complementary computers that can be used by the executive guests. Hotel services were prompt and friendly to help with any queries we have had. The room was very clean and spacious as well as the bathroom. The toilet is separate from the bathroom so that gives privacy. The view is just awsome. We would definitely stay at Hilton when we go to Melbourne again.

Room Tip: The higher the room is the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed last night and I was super impressed. We arrived at 10am and were given a room immediately, had booked a Queen family because Hilton child age is under 18, so no need for an extra room or an extra $70 for a rollaway. This was a big plus for us as often you need to pay the extra $$ for an apartment, rollaway or extra room.

With such an early check in this allowed us to dump bags and take a short wander along Southbank and to have a really good look at the amazing art on display in the foyer...take a good look at the steel wool over check in!

Due to a few mobility issues we decided to try the Tapas bar. Wonderful service (they made an error and brought out 2 sets of prawns which we were allowed to keep FOC). In the end we had dinner in house as well...once again top notch service and great food (for bigger eaters you will need sides but the paella filled Guru and I was bursting after the duck) we had to save space for the dessert.

There is a convenience store located on the GF but be aware on weekends it may not be open when it says....nice breads and fresh yoghurts, golbourn valley fruit tubs etc (yep breaky)

The fitness studio is very much cardio based and has a great view. machines were well maintained.

The Room:
Well the bathroom is amazing as was the view from the 16th floor over Port Phillip Bay. My only concern was that the Q and the single have little spacebetween them;) and no side table for one side of the Q
Three seats and three robes and three towels..but only 2 glasses/coffee cups of each type. Comp plunger coffee is always a positive plus the option of fresh milk. Certainly a great choice for a night or 2 if you are travelling with an older child. Good hanging space and luggage storage

The hotel:
Location wise it's a bit out of the main centre but that is a plus as well. The DFO made for a few hours entertainment (cheap options for food in the food hall if needed) and it's an easy walk across to Southbank and the Casino complex. Plenty of taxis on hand.
This is one of the few hotels in Aus where service has been a key word so that in itself is a big drawcard...as we left our room at 11am the maids asked could they tidy up.... replying we'd only just checked in...."do you need fresh towels?"
Staff in the Tapas bar (no other clients) gave us tips on the best way to get to certain things. Evening dining was hand and foot.
It is only a 5 minute walk over to the city cirlce tram and taxis are plentiful (every driver spoke fluent English and knew where they were going)

Not so good...no pool but for one weekend away no issue

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stay here for business regularly and generally like this hotel. A few minor quibbles are the lobby is horribly dark with no natural light. You need a torch upon walking into it each time. Also the Lobby and corridors are very cold during winter months and the draft that encroaches the lobby each time the main doors open is artic [ suggest change to a rotation door ]. Also the airconditioning system is noisy in the rooms with the aircon grates rattling during operation and sleep. Room service can be hit and miss.
Otherwise very solid but a lack of pool is not ideal. Nearby restuarant menu indifferent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herherher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was my second stay at the South Wharf Hilton and it didn't disappoint.

Last year I stayed in a King Yarra Suite and this year a 2 bedroom apartment as I was travelling with my mother.

The hotel is really quite spectacular. The lobby is amazing, there was an art exhibition being held there during my stay this year and there were some stunning pieces on display. Check in was friendly and efficient and we were in our apartment in no time.

The apartment is fantastic. Amazing view down the Yarra River and over Melbourne city, funky modern furnishings, the most comfortable beds I have had the pleasure of sleeping on, well appointed bathrooms and even a kitchenette, should you have the desire to cook!

The executive lounge is another highlight of this property. It is the largest lounge I have seen at any hotel, and it is staffed with the most delightful employees. Breakfast and evening drinks were both great.

One thing I will say is that although the hotel is very new, there needs to be a greater focus on maintenance. I noticed some things out of order, some scratches in the corridors and some other small things that were in disrepair. The hotel is in danger of becoming tired and tatty if not maintained to the highest level.

The South Wharf Hilton is my favourite hotel in Melbourne and I can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelliingaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,173 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#22 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 160 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing