We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, fresh and seasonal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embrasse - CLOSED

Embrasse
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fresh and seasonal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have been to Embrasse a few times now for both dinner and lunch and each time it just gets better. I highly recommend the Sunday lunch which is a four course set meal, the dessert served on this day would have to be ranked as one of the best I have had. The restaurant has its own beehive on the roof which was used in the dessert and it was out of this world.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussiefoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
193 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Embrasse just gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Embrasse is a modern french restaurant. Nic the chef owner creates beautiful multi course degustation dinners and lunches. The quality of his produce is next to none and he creates the prettiest dishes that I have ever seen.

Last night we went for the Valentines's Day dinner.
The dishes were well balanced, they were full of suprise and delight and the chocolate and flower desert was light on one hand but sophisticated on the other.

This is a restaurant for people who love food and wine. It isn't the cheapest, but it isn't the most expensive in Melbourne and you certainly get value for money!

The service is good, the chairs are comfortable, there is car parking opposite in a car park and a special Sunday lunch for people who want a lunchtime treat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing - Both in terms of Quality and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

My friend and I were passing through Australia on an eating trip. We went to Momo, Ezard, Embrasse, Movida and Press Club in Melbourne as well as Quay, Tetsuya and Marque in Sydney.
I would rate Embrasse as the #2 on the trip behind Tetsuya's. The menu was creative, the food delicciously fresh and good value. IIRC only $98 for the degustation.
We were there on a Sunday night. The restaurant was busy but not crowded. Service was attentive and I loved the teapots so much I bought one when i got home!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil_g63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Fabulous Modern French fare - excellent service! Will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was not our first trip to Embrasse... but it just continues to get better and better! The food is executed to perfection, and the wait staff is very helpful and knowledgable. We mentioned at the time of booking that we were vegetarian, and were treated with a fabulous meal that was based on what was fresh on the day - delicious! Nothing was too much trouble! There is a note in the loos saying that they are next on the list to be "upgraded".... which will bring them up to the fine standard of the rest of the restaurant! Will look forward to seeing that next time we are back in Melbourne! It is a must-do restaurant on our list for fine food, that's for sure!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
193 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Prettiest food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nic the executive chef at Embrasse combines his modern French food with exquisite edible flowers.
Never mind if you have preferences or food allergies, with notice Nic is happy to oblige.
The dishes are on the small side - as is the French tradition, but everything is beautifully cooked and prepared.
There is even a chef's table for those who wish to watch the entire cooking performance.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embrasse also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing