We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here for Melbourne style dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MoVida Next Door

MoVida Next Door
Ranked #101 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $64
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go here for Melbourne style dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Tiny, friendly, amazing service, fantastic food, at the beginning of a typical Melbourne alleyway. Movida is sooo Melbourne it's the restaurant you should try if you are from out of town... dine like the locals do.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank neverwannagohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    123
    32
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice but very expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I like MoVida and the food is tasty and clever. Hoever, I hate the idea in Melbourne that Tapas should be expensive. TAPAS SHOULD BE CHEAP. The Spanish have been doing tapas for hundreds of years and they have the formula down pat.

Helpful?
1 Thank IrishDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not the real thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

designed to take the pressure off the original MoVida but it just hasn't got the same feel or service. the queue to MoVida was long so the "front of house" suggested we try next door. staff were not interested and the food was not up to MoVida standards. wait for the real deal

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank diannesolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Staying in the city and can't wait to visit MoVida Next Door,having heard such great things.We were made to feel like a huge inconvenience,the maitre d shuttled us from 1 bar stool to the other,twice telling us "don't sit there,there's people who have been waiting longer".We stood squashed in the corner on the room with another couple who were waiting and we all felt like naughty children put in the naughty corner!Finally we were given 1 stool between us, I wonder how you're supposed to eat dinner like that?We left and so did the other couple.I won't be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank KLM3199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Terrific Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A business colleague took me to this restaurant for dinner. It is just around a corner and out of sight. You have to know it's there. And apparently, a lot of people know it's there. The restaurant is a cozy setting. The food is terrific. A nice variety of tapas selections. Everything we ordered was tasty. The wine list is very nice. Step around the corner and find this restaurant. You will love it. As a business traveler to Melbourne, it was apparent to me the customers were locals. It was nice to eat where the locals eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TitusPullo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MoVida Next Door also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to MoVida Next Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing