We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A real gem of a place - recommend to my best friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #84 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A real gem of a place - recommend to my best friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights when travelling for business and was extremely happy with my choice. Hotel is reasonably new (18mths?) so everything in good condition. very clean. I stayed in a premier spa room - which I would recommend esp. if you have to stay for say a week. it is like a mini suite - a separate bedroom with bedside tables, clock, small wardrobe (with towelling robes, slippers, safe, iron etc), separate living area with small table plus 2 chairs, small desk which was mostly taken up by the giant flat screen TV, small (too small really - the only flaw) 2 seater couch. Standard bathroom with standard toiletries, decent towels and a prettty good spa bath - deep, and those overhead rainshower giant showerhead. also had a separate wet bar area with large sink, microwave, kettle bar fridge (fully stocked mini bar) The room was quite large and would work for 2 people easily. no day bed. No view to speak of. the hotel is inamong the alley ways of Malbourne city.
Location is FANTASTIC 1 block from Bourke St Mall - right in the middle of the all the great shops and restaurants/cafes - moments from everything.
Good rates btween $155 - $200 - a room for every budget.
I used the gym which was in very good condition. stairclimber, cross trainer, treadie, pull down machines and a steam room - again with own shower and toilets and extra towels.
Breakfast is continental (incl in rate) - cereal, danish, limited fruit, toast. Cooked is available for ordering and paying extra.
wireless internet $20/24 hours a bit slow but OK
A great hotel - clean new spacious - great prices - FAB location

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DownunderSugarglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    483
    157
    54
    36
See reviews for
116
415
65
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

can fully recommend, we stayed in the king deluxe, which was spacious enough, its location was perfect as most tourist areas are in easy walking distance.
great value ........

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 5Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunchine Coast QLD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I live in QLD and travel interstate on a near weekly basis.
I found the Causeway through an internet search when my previous hotel increased its prices over the Australian Open Tennis Week.
The Causeway rates are very competitive, the rooms are equivalent to Medina Grand and Stamford hotels (where I used to stay).
I am currently staying at Causeway when in melbourne each week and highly recommend you check them out!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisOneIsNotTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Went down to Melbourne for 4 days stayed 3 nights. Was allowed to check-in early, made a big difference as it was quite warm outside. Enjoyed the huge spa and freshened up before hitting the streets. Rooms very clean, stocked with basics, even has free bottle of water every day. Bed was huge, and good amount of pillows available. Depending what u want, i didn't want a view and didn't intend to stay in the room all day and night so views weren't important. It's located in an alley way so don't expect cross-country views. It's not that hard to find as there is huge sign in little collins street where you enter. Plus you have the advantage of being in the middle of Melbourne!
The breakfast was ok, croissants, toast (make it yourself) ham (pre sliced cold)cereal etc, very basic . However there are so many fabulous cafes at your doorstep why bother, just eat out! Service was quick, precise and no fuss which is how i like it. If you want people to kiss your butt you then go elsewhere.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay especially the huge bathroom and spa! and the huge clean bed! definately will be going back to it next time i'm in Melb.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_chan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

A great central location with very modern, new rooms. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious enough, and the hotel is generally quiet. Breakfast is simple, but ample.

Only gripe is parking. It's expensive and if you're getting back to your hotel after midnight, the alternative carpark is 3 blocks away. I parked on the street instead.

I don't see the point in spending $300 plus for a room of similar quality, minus the fine trimmings, in a similar location. You won't beat this hotel for value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milefire666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Like several other reviewers, I too was a bit wary when I realised the entrance was down an alleyway, but looks can be deceiving! The hotel is very modern and the rooms are small but clean and look new. Breakfast was nice, but it can get quite busy down there. The only gripe I had was when the fire alarm went off (yes, at 6.30 like everyone else has said!) which isn't a problem but the lady on reception said she was going to see if it was a real fire then proceeded to head up in the LIFT , open the room door and then come back down in the lift, totally against their own fire advice. Very disorganised evacuation with only the one lady on reception, it would have been a disaster had it been a real fire.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_P_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

When we checked in we got upgraded to a Suite. The reception staff manning the reception counter is very friendly and professional.

The room, bathroom is clean and the location is very good. We could walk everywhere most of the time. The breakfast provided is okay, nothing to shout about.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tat3179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#117 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#100 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,556 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing