We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, new, quiet and comfortable.”
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #88 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 18, 2009

The arrival
We began with a taxi at the airport, late in the evening, and directed the driver to the Causeway Hotel. No problem, the driver knew it. Well, it turns out there are three Causeway Hotels, and we were dropped at the wrong one. After wandering down Little Collins St, we found the second one. Wrong again. Another 10 minutes of dragging cases, we found the right one, "353" down a slightly intimidating laneway with the curious name "Equitable Place". Just as well it wasn't raining.
At least the facade and entrance looked very modern and so was the foyer. Two very pleasant and helpful receptionists had us checked in within a minute. (No queue at this late hour.) Three shiny new elevators were immediately available opposite the desk. Neatly secure from anyone without a door key card.

The room
After a brief struggle with heavy spring on the door, we found a new and clean but rather small room. The decor was entitely black, white and glass with a hint of brown in the carpet. The art work looked like neatly framed wallpaper. Bed had a thick mattress, but still rather firm. All the usual features including A/C, coffee/tea facilities (but only UHT milk), fridge, mini bar, safe, internet socket or WiFi (not free), hairdryer, plus a microwave and iron and board. Nice big LCD TV with FTA and cable channels, but analog not digital. The lighting is quite good, but the bed reading lamps are not adjustable.
Not much view from the windows. Top floor (9) and those on the street may have some city views.

En Suite
Bright new finish, this time in grey, white and glass. Plenty of water pressure (hot and cold), but the shower temp. is tricky to adjust at first because the mixer tap is a long way from the shower head. Would have liked another, wider towel rail.

Noise at night.
Absolutely none. Brilliant for a CBD hotel.

Breakfast (included)
Down in the basement is a large dining area looking a bit like kitchen in a detention centre. But a quite adequate light buffet breakfast is on offer. If you arrive late, you may have to wait while empty serving trays are refilled. Neat auto coffee machine. If you want milk in your coffee, press "Latte" not "Capp". For an extra $6.50 you can have a cooked breakfast. (As this place has 142 rooms, the breakfast area is quite busy.)

Other facilities
Small computer room with a printer, a gymnasium, laundry and room service is available. Free newspaper delivered every morning. No on-site car parking or valet service. A Wilson car park is down the street.

Location
Very central. Close to Elizabeth St. trams. Lots of little restaurants down arcades and laneways. Try Block Place and Royal Arcade. Also check out the Block Arcade during the day.
Equitable Place is more lively during week days as it is lined with small clothing shops and cafes.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

This hotel is a must for those like me and had never been to Melbourne. The location is perfect for all tours and any shopping you wish to do as you are right in the middle of it all.
It was quiet and staff were lovely and helpful.
The breakfasts included were really good, with a wide selection of fruit, cereal, pastries etc. A nice way to start the day.
The gym is good and has modern and working equipment (sometimes rare in hotels).
I found the bed to be a little hard and resumed to sleeping on my pillows, but other than that the room was very comfortable.
The best thing is the location and I would recommend it to anyone (as long as you dont mind a very firm bed)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downundertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Stayed for four nights and found the Causeway suited our needs. The twin room we had was small though. The bathroom had a deep bath which was great after a days walking which you will no doubt do in Melbourne. The location is great and no street noise so a good nights sleep assured and no room noise from other guests. The breakfast room in the basement is very gloomy in someways (not great lighting) and feels like a hospital cafeteria. Continental breakfast included juice, cereal, sliced fruit, pastries, toast (good selection of bread) coffee/tea/hot chocolate , cheese, ham, crackers and fresh apples. If you wanted a cooked breakfast it was $6.50 extra, which I had one morning and thought is was great. Poached eggs, bacon , mushrooms and tomatoes. We enjoyed staying right in the centre of Melbourne. All day tram tickets costs $6.80 & $3.80 for children. Loved the laneways and great cafes /eating places throughout the city. Loved Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canberra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Couldn't ask for a better hotel, right in the heart of everything. HUGE kingsize beds, awesome breakfast, lovely staff. The whole experience was wonderful. We stayed 3 nights and came back after 4 nights of travelling to Bendigo and surrounding areas and spent our last 3 nights back at Causeway before travelling back to NZ. Second time we had a huge deep bath, perfect after shopping all day. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in (including our own). Will most certainly be going back next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby2Taranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We booked this hotel quite late and then the night before had a family drama resulting in our 24 year old daughter needing to come too. The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble for them . The location is so central and the room very comfortable, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swinchml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My teenage daughter and I needed a place to stay before competing in her equestrian event. Causeway 353 stood out a mile due to the positive reviews. What appealed to us was the central location, decor of rooms, and value for money. We booked through Wotif -$130 per night including breakfast. The room we had was quiet and King size bed very comfortable. There were plenty of cafes nearby so we had many choices for meals. The staff we spoke to couldn't be more helpful in giving us information about Melbourne. and always greeted us with a friendly smile. We had such a good experience that we re-booked for another night on our return from the horse event. As we had spent a week in a vintage caravan in Werribee it was a welcome oasis. When signing in we expressed our need for a GOOD nights sleep and were kindly allowed to extend our checkout time to 12 o'clock for a much needed sleepin. We were delighted to find that our room also contained a bath....HEAVEN!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paisley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

stayed 2 nights. which included breakfast in the price of $260 for myself and teenage daughter. its up a foot access causeway. be aware if you arriving by taxi to make sure they know its in equitable place and its called hotel 353 causeway not the hotel causeway inn as we got dropped off at the wrong hotel and had to lug bags down the footpath 2 blocks to the correct hotel..major pain. rooms real clean and nice. hotel reception area not that inviting and the staff could be a bit more friendlier and acknowledge people when they waiting. Indian girl at reception was lovely and helpful. if booking by credit card be aware they take $50 for room bond without telling you. i think that is underhanded and its still not back in my bank acct 5 days later as advised. so i will be chasing that up.
otherwise i would definately stay here again as the location is excellent to everything and right in the heart of the cbd. easy walk to queen vic market and flinders train station just around the corner. highly recommend the golden tower restaurant to eat at its a short walk from hotel and worth it too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buglesChchNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
634 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#140 of 161 in Melbourne
361 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#89 of 161 in Melbourne
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#99 of 161 in Melbourne
886 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing