We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!!”
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #89 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Great value for money:

Don't let first impressions put you off; entrance is via a slightly dingy side alley (arrived on a Sunday & all the shops & cafés in the alley were closed so it was a bit too dark & quiet but the following day when they were open it was much friendlier!) & the reception area is a bit cramped & tired so I was a bit worried... But the reception staff were lovely & as we were early for check in & the room wasn't ready, they happily stored out bags for us while we went to explore the city.

Location is great, 2min (not even!) to main shops & transport. Huge variety of dining options as well! So
Mostly walked around except when we caught the tram to St.Kilda.

Back at the hotel- rooms were very clean & comfortable- bathrooms spacious & spotless (I'm usually a big bathroom critic!!) didn't have a view (just looked into an office building) so kept the blinds drawn but honestly was not expecting to have a view so didn't phase me.

Continental buffet included was best continental breakfast I've had! I'm usually a cooked breakfast person. Had range of cereals, breads, fruit and pastries as well as a coffee/ tea/ hot chocolate machine.

This place is great value for a short stay in Melbourne as it's clean, comfortable and in a really good location to get a taste of the city.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Only_fair_and_honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and it didn't disappoint! Check-in was quick and easy, the receptionists were very helpful and friendly. We requested a late check out and they allowed us to stay until 12! We stayed in a premier king room which was very spacious, clean and tidy. Bathroom was great, the shower was amazing! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: request a quiet room! and ask for a late check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friend and I have just returned from this hotel we stayed 2 nights in a deluxe king room which I had booked through entertainment book. We paid $300 for 2 nights one of those being a Saturday.

Location was very convenient only 5-10 mins walk to the mall, flinders st train station and 1 minute walk to catch the 112 tram to the casino. The room was modern and nicely decorated, bed was comfortable, the room had a safe, microwave, ironing board, tea and coffee, fridge with minibar (prices were reasonable $3 can of coke $3 chocolates) and a complimentary bottle of water. We did have issues with the bathroom, the water pressure was very high and ended up flooding out onto the bathroom floor, if you lowered the pressure it was ok but not ideal. There was also a lot of mould in the shower which a bit of bleach could have fixed.

Free Breakfast and a free paper was very nice addition to this hotel. Breakfast was great, it consisted of a selection of cereal, Toast/Raisin toast, croissants, ham and cheese, fruit, danishes, yoghurt, juices, tea and coffee.

Staff were friendly and helpful with directions to eating spots and holding our bags for us as our flight didn’t leave till 8pm at night.

Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 875 no noise from the lift but did have issues with the mould and high water press...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clt1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I chose this hotel on the position and value for money. Its walking distance to the best shops and eateries. The hotel is clean and has friendly staff. The room was average but had a large bed, a bath and was quiet. The room I had was quite dark but wasn't there through the day so was not an issue. They have a gym but unnecessary if you're there to shop! The worst thing about the hotel is the breakfast. I stayed for 5 nights. It is the same everyday, so I really wouldn't bother taking the option and instead go to one of the many cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDebW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First time at the Causeway 353 but definitely wont be the last. Booked a larger room (370) and the place was ideal for my needs over three days in Melbourne. This really is a value hotel given the location and comfort.

Room Tip: I only check our own room but #307 is spacious and comfortable - has a king bed and great shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watermannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have just spent two nights at this hotel and loved its location. You can walk to most of the main shopping areas and Flinders station is just 5mins walk away.
We had a twin room and it only had two single beds and the room itself for quite small for two people. The bathroom looked like it had been refurbished recently. However there was a shower bath which could be quite difficult if you were not physically able.
The breakfast was adequate.
The only downside to this hotel was the incredibly poor quality of the pillows. They were incredibly soft and had no form whatsoever. I would definitely stay at this hotel again had it not been for the pillows.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyTravelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just an overnight stop seeking closeness to Airport Transfer Buses. Courteous and efficient front desk- able to leave bags early morning and book in later. Spacious room, well stocked mini bar, clean and comfortable. Bed and bedding was good quality. Great location to explore the city's laneways and arcades. Easy transfer to the airport in the morning. Good budget hotel for short stay.

Room Tip: We had a complimentary upgrade so lots of space and room for extra person on sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
644 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#140 of 161 in Melbourne
362 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,848 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#99 of 161 in Melbourne
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $97 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing