We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the Heart of the City”
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #85 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Berry, NSW
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Right in the Heart of the City”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Excellent location down a lane way off Lttle Collins Street. We had a king size bedroom - everything was clean and tidy and it was very quiet. The staff were very helpful, especially with the computer. The continental breakfast had a good range of food, but if you fancied something different there were a lot of cafes in the lane way outside the hotel. The shuttle bus could be caught by prior arrangement from Little Collins Street to the airport. All round it was very good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joram48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    550
    175
    60
    40
See reviews for
136
471
73
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at the Causeway 353 for a night in September 2013. The price was awesome so I thought why not. After finding the hotel tucked away in a Melbourne lane way - I was greeted by welcoming staff, efficiently checked in and up to my room.
The room i stayed in was small - but I knew that. It was nicely decorated and more than adequate for a stay - a stay in which I wanted a clean, simple, quiet room right in the heart of Melbourne CBD. Being in a lane way most of the rooms dont get sun - but then if you are in Melbourne why stay in the room?? Everything was clean and more than I expected. I also had the breakfast the following morning - a modest continental service - which I also enjoyed.
If you are single, young couple or older, and are not after an enormous room, with sun and views - but are after a great, quiet, central clean and relaxing hotel to rest after a day of sightseeing, work or other - I would recommend the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is very well located although it is handy to know that it is located up a laneway, not directly on Little Collins Street. The room was functional although the furnishings were looking a little worn. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was definitely only average as it was fast and ordinary, particularly in regard to the the coffee and toast options (only very thin bread was available) with the whole breakfast experience being akin to a school camp - I would highly recommend that travellers do not pay extra for an "included breakfast" but rather go to a nearby cafe as I think they would have a more enjoyable breakfast experience. As noted by other reviewers, the sheets did not seem to fit the bed. I found the reception staff to be very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Friday to Monday. Found the room clean and tidy. (We had a deluxe king room). Our room had all we needed, bath with shower over. Good shower pressure. The continental breakfast provided had a nice selection of pastries, cereals, fruit and toast along with some cold meats. We enjoyed it. Location is good, a short walk to everything, trams nearby anyway. Our room was clean, exceptionally quiet and comfortable. We'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank junismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Causeway 353 hotel is in a great location, very clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent way to start our day. Staff were all helpful in giving us directions and assistant us with all our needs. The only thing I hated about our stay was that the bedding was to small for the bed, which would'nt bother me but reading other reviews they complained about the same thing and still the hotel hasn't corrected the problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here because of its proximity to our Melbourne office, booked by work. It is hidden in an alley way off Collins St opposite the Elizabeth St tram stop so is very central. The room was clean and had room to move. It seemed to provide the bare minimum to qualify for the star rating, there are no frills. Buffet only breakfast was adequate at best. There are better options across the alley. The reviewers without a view did not miss much. On the plus side the room was perfectly quiet. Wifi was not offered though I didn't ask. My advice to the company is ok for employees flying in, not suitable for clients. Taxi drivers may have trouble finding it and would need to reverse out. There is an arrangement for parking nearby for $20 per exit. I would use it again if work was paying, I wouldn't choose it as a base.

Room Tip: Corner room may have been a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase_Mollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I recently spent five nights at Causeway 353. Upon arrival, staff were courteous, helpful and knowledgable.

The first thing I loved about this hotel was its location. It's in the centre of Melbourne city but tucked away from night time street noise. Although there were others staying on our floor, the only noise I heard was the occasional door closing.

The (twin) beds were comforatable but the pillows too flat, even when using two. The shower and bath were great. The continental breakfast was standard and did the job. The woman at the breakfast check-in was friendly. Staff confirmed our bus transfer to the airport for us and stored our bags while we spent our last day wandering the city until bus transfer time. We were able to use the business centre (three computers and a printer in a room on Level 2) to print our boarding passes - internet was $2 for 15 minutes and printing was free. There is no free wi-fi in this hotel but you can find it in places like Hudson's (just around the corner on Elizabeth Street).

I only have two (small) issues with this hotel:
1. As no windows could be opened, we had no way of getting fresh air in the room. At one stage someone in another room was smoking weed and the smell wafted in through the vents to our room.
2. The (Hisense) television provided a really poor picture. We didn't go to Melbourne to watch TV, so this wasn't a major issue for us. Had it been, we simply would have asked for another room.

Causeway 353 is a great place to base yourself when travelling around Melbourne's CBD. It is only a block or two away from a Coles supermarket, a Hudson's coffee shop, numerous eateries, the free city tram, Flinders Street station, Burke Street Mall, Federation Square, and the Yarra River. Our five days of sight-seeing were all done by either walking or hopping on the free tram.

I would stay at Causeway 353 again.

Room Tip: The Crown Casino has excellent meal deals in six of its restaurants - definitely worth the walk acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#127 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing