We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Causeway 353 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$89
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$271
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$177
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$160
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$181
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$255
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveler rating
239
601
195
66
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
601
195
66
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastequitable placecollins streetgreat locationlane waycentral locationspa roomyogurtelizabeth stwould stay here againgood sizefree wifitea coffeefederation squareking roombed was comfortablereception staff
Filter
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed with my Mum on a girls shopping trip to Melbourne for 3 nights. The rooms are clean and tidy with all amenities incljuding microwave which is a nice touch if you are travelling with lchildren who need bottles warmed etc. The bathroom could do with a major clean - grouting very dirty and needs anti-mould treatment. Also the beds had no mattress protector which concerns me for ongoing cleanliness...they were spotlessly clean when we stayed but as its a new hotel this might not be the case in a years time.

We had twin beds and the sheets were too small for the beds and my legs ended up on the mattress most of the night...unhygenic for the next person I think really. Wifi wasn't working in my room for the whole trip and I had to use the business centre - not a biggie but I really would have liked to not leave the room to access internet.

Overall the hotel is value for money and great service by the staff. They are more than helpful and friendly. Just need more attention to detail to improve.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelenaPitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Causeway-Melbourne, General Manager at Causeway 353 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Selena,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I have emphasised to housekeeping the importance of fitting linen correctly. We are also investigating the problems with the wi-fi connections through out the hotel, with the intention of improved connectivity.
Regards
Paul Koenig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

MY wife and I recently enjoyed a three night stay at the Causeway 353 hotel, located in a small side lane just off Little Collins street, just west of its junction with Elizabeth St. We booked the hotel avfter a Tripadviser search and found it to be very good indeed. The hotel has a secure lift access system, and a very good buffet self service continental breakfast. Our room, 8.64 was quite large, very quiet, well equiped, clean and the King size bed was very comfortable. Booking, recepeion, checkin and check out was all very smooth and quick. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The location in the heart of the city is quite central and would be ideal as a base for anyine wanting to explore Melbourne

Room Tip: Dont know about other rooms, I understand some rooms would accomodate more than two people
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 65Graham65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed there from 28/2 to 6/3, very good location in the middle of the CBD.
Hardy to both Train stations {Flinders and Southen Coss}. Very tidy but the house keeping need a little work especially on the weekend, came back on Sunday from a fun day at the Vic Markets, room wasn't vaccumed, milk wasn't replaced but the beer was.
Staff very friendly.always had a smile, well must did.
As for the view, well we were on the 9th floor in the Deluxe Room {up graded, don't know why but we were, which was very nice of them} { also the Spa in these rooms is to die for,especially if you have a bad back,heaven}we had a view of the office buildings of the CBD and on the Sunday morning saw Balloons passing by, very nice.
But it is in the middle of town so must of the rooms will have a view of a wall, if you want a view of the Yarra river then this is not the place for you.
Breakfast is continental,no cooked food but there's a nice little cafe on the corner on little Collins Street that has a all day Breakfast for under $15.00 for the days you want a cooked Breky.

All in all not a bad place to stay, when I go back for the GP next year this place will be at the top of the list to stay

Also one last thing windows could do with a clean

Room Tip: The 9th floor, bit more of a view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a great location. Easy walk to Flinders St Station, Federation Square, shopping in Bourke Street and very well located for trams. The rooms were extremely quiet given the location and the size of the room was fine.
I found the housekeeping could have used some improvement (rubbish bins not emptied daily, coffee cups not replaced, sugar not replaced). However the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was better than I expected after reading other reviews. We certainly found enough options to keep us all happy.
All in all a good experience and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Another couple we travelled with had a corner room which had a lot more light and seemed slightly larger than our room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EggGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was with great trepidation that we approached our hotel after being dropped off at the entrance of a laneway by our taxi at midnight. But the reception staff were great and very helpful. They quickly sorted out a minor mistake we made with our booking. In fact all of the reception staff we came in contact with were very helpful. The next day that forboding laneway became a hive of activity with alfresco dining from the many cafe's that inhabbited the lane. At the other end of the lane is Collins Street and a tram stop. This enabled us to go where we wanted with a minimum of walking. Room was great, not overly big but not too small either. The bed was comfortable and we couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room or ensuite. The continental breakfast was adequate but it would have been nice to have the option of a cooked breakfast. With the large choice of cafe's in the laneway we were able to have a cooked breakfast on the days we wanted a bit more than the continental. The hotel is in a great location with a short stroll to Bourke Street Mall in one direction and Flinders Street Station and Federation Square in the other.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandgroper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews